Auto or manual??

kk13

Hrey guys,

I'm new here. Don't know much about modifying cars but am getting interested. I got a question for you. I plan to buy the new honda civic, the 1.8 one (not tat rich). I wanted to modify it. Should I get auto or manual??, don't know if got manual but i'll ask. If its auto you can't modify it too much right?? Please help!

Auto tranny have a limit , if engine torque too high it will slip or life span reduce,
manual tranny is more durable , easily can stand 300hp above without problem.
If you plan to seriously mod your car , get a manual , if you only plan for light mod ,
eg change exhaust,air filter spark plug etc , which has minimum increase in hp,
and you want the convenience of auto also, get the auto version.

modding doesnt really concern the transmission.coz the purpose of the tranny is to transfer the engine output to ur wheels.so..u still can mod a auto or a manual without any limitations.

well...jz go for the manual tranny.

wait......don flame me if i am wrong

i tot New Civic 1.8 only with 5 speed automatic
and New Civic 2.0 with the peddlar shif with LSD?

mana mari manual?

yea i know i just called the dealer. Only got auto. If manual it has to be the 2.0. But more expensive la! not enough money. Have to go for auto. But can you really modify auto>? How much bhp can you modify to??

Anyone heard of a fully modified auto??

Both also auto. Only the 2.0 has manual mode but it is still an auto box.

These days, all new cars come with auto... hardly can find manual unless u opt for local cars. Besides, auto has gone through many evolution... it is stronger and shifts faster than manual. Plus, it is fun to drive.

As for modified auto... plenty actually.

US drag muscle cars run off 3-speed auto box with strengthen gears and longer ratios.

My gearbox is W4A33 which has many performance parts in the US but sadly, it will cost RM 15k to bring over to MY.

Well, manual over auto, the best advantage is manual you can free gear when going down hill(rpm :800-1000) at any speed and auto rpm varies on speed. Another thing is using manual you can run the car at 80km/h with 5th gear(rpm :2000-2500) where auto rpm will be around 3000 at 3rd or 4th gear. Like Honda City(I-Dsi) claims that 1 liter of petrol can do 15km, but all my friends that have City the most can do 12-13km even driving slow. My 1.5 Wira also doing around 12.5-13km per liter somemore with average speed of 120km/h. If Honda new models can have real manual I think it can go up to 20km per liter.

Another thing i would remind u first.. if u plan 2 mod a honda car.. new one.. its not worthy.. cause their are quite strict with their warranty.. as my friend driving a jazz.. switch his rims 2 the newer version as his was the 1.4 jazz.. they void his warranty.. so just think wisely before exploring the world of modification

haha ya lo.....u buy Honda Civic ......then u want mod.....
somemore brandnew wo.......sampai hati?

like this better u to buy Celica 02 about 115 to 120k got 6 speed manual or tiptronic.

honestly people look Civic as common car liao.......but when they see a Celica ...WOOOOOHHHH........ different look 1......hahaha get hell alot attention than Civic

no need mod alot already so attracting people to see your car hahahaha.

sharp color of Celica Yellow or Red or if u rich enuf apply to repaint the color u desired

celica tat cheap ah? I tot it would be more. Where can I go check one out? Anyone know any good dealers? I gave them the cheque for the civic, but they still not yet deliver the car. They said this week or next la. Anyways thanks for the advice guys.

kk13
u can go market place CAR FOR SALE section....there is some1 named Andy selling his 01 Celica for 120k(NEGO) also.

u go c The Star newspaper and c

2002 Celica price range in between 115k to 120k.

condition and such have to go touch, see and feel only can know.