Auto Gearbox Gasket or Sealant?

ashivadas

Dear sifu's,

A few feeks back, i went to Auto Vision to change my ATF and to do a flush. I also changed the filter and was "supposed" to change the gasket. Instead of the gasket, they used a sealant. They said no need to use the gasket, just use sealant.

When i drove out of the vision, my gearbox was smoooooooth. But after a while, i can constantly feel the gear changing downwards. It never used to happen this frequently. My concern is that the access sealant from the edges has gone into the gearbox and has casued my gearbox to be a little rough.

Has anyone experienced this before?

Hi There

Just want to know a few things

1) Have you seen them take out the gasket?

2) What do you mean gear changing downwards?

I did not see them removing the gasket. So maybe originally, a gasket was not used. I am not sure about this. I did not check. My bad.

Gear changing downwards - when you are slowing down, and you just cruise at a slow speed (like when you are looking for parking or something), then i feel a slight jerk in the gearshift going to a lower gear.

Hi there,

If i m not mistaken , originaly there is no gasket , they use those sealant that equalvalent to the gasket performance, thats what i know lah........:)

about the gear change , i do feel that sometimes but not so frequent .

For your info , our altezza have this feature call hill sensing control , is like when you are driving up hill , the ecu will select the right gear for the car to reach the top as fast as possible without changing to higher gear unless you decress the accellerator pedal .Same goes to when u are driving to down slope, once you step on the brake , the gear will change to low gear

Regarding the gear change , did you when back to vision to check whats wrong?

Guys,

The gasket is between the sump and the transmissin box(bottom part). Some mechanics use sealant to 'seal' the edges after the gasket is changed.

If you didnt see them removing the oil sump, then the gasket wasnt changed.

Just done up the car 2 months back after the oil leakage on and the gearbox at Trial Tuning Spirit. I'm sure they use sealant but then they didn't mention about the gasket. ..not sure about the gasket.
So far the car is running well..nothing goes wrong.