Are your hand rough like sandpaper?

I was at my mechanic and happen to see one of his client's car steering wheel.....
Normal looks like this....okay?

Wah! this part wearing off like someone sandpaper it....

The top part wear off half way already

Have not seen anything like this before. Cracking, dry off then yes but not wear off.....:confused:

oka887

Jan 12, 2007
okayama
i think it will be like this.. my evo also happened to be like this just on the right side.. but on the other side is still okay.. maybe i'm always using and driving the car.. need to buy the okay one before bring it back..

My car is 21 years old and own it for 12, steering is still in good condition.....

oka887

Jan 12, 2007
okayama
maybe because of the material made for the steering.. i park the car under the sun here so when summer in car will be overheat..
and maybe also i'm using a lot of right hands only.. the left hand on the gear lever.. when drive faster need to hold really tight on the steering.. my old car also still in good coditions too..
and yeah.. my hands is really soft.. old time send newspaper only in the morning

peeche

May 16, 2006
Sin City, MY
is it hyudai matrix..? i think it is quite common for korean car. more to unsuitable climate..

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Looks like oxidation...v2r ur car steering sure still new after 21 years lar. I already said u r sifu but u dowana admit.. So now it's time to admit it! Without ur care and protection, how could they last?

is it hyudai matrix..? i think it is quite common for korean car. more to unsuitable climate..
Yup. the Matrix.
Because all of my cars never had problems with steering wearing out like that so I was pretty shock to see this one....

---------- Post added at 08:55 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:51 PM ----------

Looks like oxidation...v2r ur car steering sure still new after 21 years lar. I already said u r sifu but u dowana admit.. So now it's time to admit it! Without ur care and protection, how could they last?
Bro. cvkit, My 21 years steering actually gone more shinny with use. It has actually worn the rough feel to become smooth and shinny.
Actually no care for the steering especially the outer ring, because if apply those protectant will become slippery

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Then it might be ur hand that is protecting them all these while LOL!

I do apply some leather / vinyl protectant once in a blue moon. Other times I just wipe it with a damp cloth. I usually only apply a very small amount, spread them, then let penetrate for 5 minutes, then wipe off with MF cleaning cloth. I can feel the wax but not slippery. Thus I still use this method, feeling that it might provide some protection even if it is minimal haha..just feel comfortable with the intention :rofl:

I've seen my friends' car steering peel off due to scratches from rings.... The steering looks very horrible lol

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
my hand is soft like baby's bottom..

my steering is still in good shape like my bottom.. :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

:biggrin:

peeche

May 16, 2006
Sin City, MY
Yup. the Matrix.
Because all of my cars never had problems with steering wearing out like that so I was pretty shock to see this one....

i think maybe the material problem.. can't withstand our climate and our baby skin.. :rofl:

BuroQ

Sep 13, 2004
Border Town
Wah, all got hands like baby bottom :rofl: Yep my hands are rough like sandpaper. If go check thumbprint using those devices for sure cannot read my thumbprint :banghead:

People even think that I work in the fields or construction site, but in reality most of the time in the office typing documents haha. Seems like my hands are like this because of a certain disease (?). Peeps at KWSP (after trying to apply for online access of checking of your KWSP account) advice me to get somewhat like a pardon letter stating that my hands have this type of condition so I'm exempted from checking my thumbdrive with my MyKad.

Guess gotta make a new IC in due time. The card's film (dunno what its actually called) is starting to peel off.

Anyway back on topic (always diverting when theres vr2turbo and cvkit17 present in forums :rofl:).

I think its the material construction. My previous steering wheel that was used for around more than 15 years didn't had this problem.

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
This steering wheel is made of PU, which the material has a lifespan. It disintegrates over time. Just like tyre and your shoe sole.

Wah, all got hands like baby bottom :rofl: Yep my hands are rough like sandpaper. If go check thumbprint using those devices for sure cannot read my thumbprint :banghead:

People even think that I work in the fields or construction site, but in reality most of the time in the office typing documents haha. Seems like my hands are like this because of a certain disease (?). Peeps at KWSP (after trying to apply for online access of checking of your KWSP account) advice me to get somewhat like a pardon letter stating that my hands have this type of condition so I'm exempted from checking my thumbdrive with my MyKad.

Guess gotta make a new IC in due time. The card's film (dunno what its actually called) is starting to peel off.

Anyway back on topic (always diverting when theres vr2turbo and cvkit17 present in forums :rofl:).

I think its the material construction. My previous steering wheel that was used for around more than 15 years didn't had this problem.
Ah! this one my topic, and I did not divert:hmmmm:.....hahahahaha:rofl:

---------- Post added at 02:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:22 PM ----------

This steering wheel is made of PU, which the material has a lifespan. It disintegrates over time. Just like tyre and your shoe sole.
Even if material problem, it worn off in the places where the hand touches the most....:hmmmm:

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
Ah! this one my topic, and I did not divert:hmmmm:.....hahahahaha:rofl:

---------- Post added at 02:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:22 PM ----------

Even if material problem, it worn off in the places where the hand touches the most....:hmmmm:
Sweat and sunlight will eccelerate where it exposes the most.

arturo

nooB
SateCelupLand
yah..mine is PU and constantly exposed to the sun. no sweat. i always wipe my hands if sweaty before touching anything in the car. its getting worse as it's flaking pieces off...sometimes when i take my hands off the wheel...a small piece will get stucked on my hands n i'll wipe it off. been putting off getting a replacement cos dont wanna waste money on non value added mods hehe

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
yah..mine is PU and constantly exposed to the sun. no sweat. i always wipe my hands if sweaty before touching anything in the car. its getting worse as it's flaking pieces off...sometimes when i take my hands off the wheel...a small piece will get stucked on my hands n i'll wipe it off. been putting off getting a replacement cos dont wanna waste money on non value added mods hehe
Put steering cover haha ! But I noticed that not many like to use steering cover. I am not fancy of it too coz it cause the steering bigger to hold lol

My kelisa steering wheel is something like that...rough to the touch with some skin peeled off...Well, since is a 2nd hand, that
is kinda small issue. As long car is good condition.

Thought of replacing the steering with a new one but cant anyone selling...

Hey there forummers, am looking for 1jz specialist. Anyone knows where to recommend? Currently have a 1JZ fitted to a Mercedes SE280. :) Just wanna smoothen up the engine and restore a few problems. Thx yeah!