See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Main Forums
Car Talk
Forced Induction & Engine Management
Are Malaysian Ready ?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="Kopi" data-source="post: 1009737" data-attributes="member: 2958"><p>my 2 cents :</p><p></p><p>the crowd in the malaysian motorsports scene is as what you can see and know around you. We have the minor hardcores who are all the way in making monsters and we have the major "I want my car to look fast and sound fast" without even knowing the mechanics of their ride. The comes in the middle between those two, the mid-core enthusiasts who mod their cars 50%-70% of what the hardcores did, because moneywise factor.</p><p></p><p>I'd say the benchmark for Malaysians to be actually ready for forced induction and real performance tuning is when they are properly equipped with automotive mechanical knowledge and least did lotsa hours of DIY fixing and tooling around with their ride. It's really a waste for people to convert their rides to have more powerful motor but not knowing nuts and bolts about it. At least self-able to do problem diagnosis when something on the car is not working right and not just walk up into a workshop saying "My car stalled when I stop at the traffic light. Please check on it." </p><p></p><p>How well would they know what is the correct optimum diameter for port-polish cylinder head? What's the proper weight to achieve for crankshaft/conrods/piston in engine balancing process and which cylinder to start balancing first? What's the optimum air fuel ratio the engine needs after replacing the air filter and extractor? How much boost can my cylinder at piston take at this certain compression rate with this turbine? Does this piggyback unit function well with my engine? (talking about seeing a stock carburetor, single cam car using VAFC?) All these kind of question needs to be properly worked at.</p><p></p><p>Knowledge has always been the key. We all know performance parts in Malaysia (new) costs a bomb and so does other stock parts. But with knowledge, we can make every worth of our spending live up to its value for dollar. Ask any real tuner, how they go on getting the most whp from an engine. As far as I know in Malaysia, only a few spend time calculating figures while others still uses the paleolithic try-and-error method, or simply copying others. Mentally-wise : not really ready for most, especially for end-user.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Kopi, post: 1009737, member: 2958"] my 2 cents : the crowd in the malaysian motorsports scene is as what you can see and know around you. We have the minor hardcores who are all the way in making monsters and we have the major "I want my car to look fast and sound fast" without even knowing the mechanics of their ride. The comes in the middle between those two, the mid-core enthusiasts who mod their cars 50%-70% of what the hardcores did, because moneywise factor. I'd say the benchmark for Malaysians to be actually ready for forced induction and real performance tuning is when they are properly equipped with automotive mechanical knowledge and least did lotsa hours of DIY fixing and tooling around with their ride. It's really a waste for people to convert their rides to have more powerful motor but not knowing nuts and bolts about it. At least self-able to do problem diagnosis when something on the car is not working right and not just walk up into a workshop saying "My car stalled when I stop at the traffic light. Please check on it." How well would they know what is the correct optimum diameter for port-polish cylinder head? What's the proper weight to achieve for crankshaft/conrods/piston in engine balancing process and which cylinder to start balancing first? What's the optimum air fuel ratio the engine needs after replacing the air filter and extractor? How much boost can my cylinder at piston take at this certain compression rate with this turbine? Does this piggyback unit function well with my engine? (talking about seeing a stock carburetor, single cam car using VAFC?) All these kind of question needs to be properly worked at. Knowledge has always been the key. We all know performance parts in Malaysia (new) costs a bomb and so does other stock parts. But with knowledge, we can make every worth of our spending live up to its value for dollar. Ask any real tuner, how they go on getting the most whp from an engine. As far as I know in Malaysia, only a few spend time calculating figures while others still uses the paleolithic try-and-error method, or simply copying others. Mentally-wise : not really ready for most, especially for end-user. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
original rare Rays Volk Racing CE28 16x7jj offset...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Honda Jazz/Fit JSracing GTwing Spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Toyota Vios NCP93 front bonnet hood
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Honda civic fc varis spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F10 Msport front bumper set
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F30 M3/GTS front bonnet hood
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F10 vorsteiner rear bumper diffuser
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Mitsubishi Lancer Evo bodykit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F30 M3 front skirt lip
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Honda Civic FC fk7si front bumper set
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Turbo Flutter..any cure? ..Need Advice.
Dear sifus and turbo kakis,
my car is on stock turbo and diverter valve, recently after slowing down or backing-off the throttle at the back of slow cars, the...
Autosalon Cyberjaya
Nothing to do for Merdeka??
Celebrate it at Cyberjaya.
AUTOSALON CYBERJAYA : 25 & 26 Ogos 2007
AUTOSALON CYBERJAYA
Tarikh :
25 & 26 Ogos 2007 (Sabtu &...
Re-Wrapping dashboard
dear all, recently i re-wrapped my dashboard
=P
forget re-spraying, wrapping is the better thought less color choices
what i did was i bought a grey colored gsr dashboard
then re-wrapped it to black pvc on the top...
Recent Posts
Darker Design : Mercedes-Benz Launches GLA Nightfall Edition in Malaysia
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Honda Malaysia Doubles Down on Hybrids: New CR-V Launches with Dual e:HEV...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
BateriHub Reaches 200-Store Milestone, Becomes Malaysia’s Largest...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Been stalking for 3 years edy
Started by
dheepadarshan95
Introduction and Newbies
Recommendation: Turbocharger for 4B11 N.A engine
Started by
Mitevo7
Car Modification