Altezza FAQ

Hey Ahyap...what happen to you bro..MIA for so long!!:confused:

How come did not come on Fri to yam cha with us ..:bawling:

Hey Ahyap...what happen to you bro..MIA for so long!!:confused:

How come did not come on Fri to yam cha with us ..:bawling:

Had to stay away from bushido and urself man....car not POWDERFUL as yours... plus dun want to kena psycho by bushido to follow ur footsteps...(adding stuffs to the engine bay)...:proud:

Kakaka.. juz joking....actually had a hectic 2 weeks schedule man.... hardly took my ride out for a spin......plus... didn't understand the "secret" codes u and Vijay was talking about..... REGULAR PLACE & REGULAR TIME??:confused:

hahaha... would catch up this friday.... or at michael's BBQ...

haha ahyap. you can resist it you know. wait, we were not poisoning, like i said.:biggrin: cmon man, altezza is an altezza. :itsme:

hahahaha. regular place regular time means, the mamak at USJ10, at 10PM

Anyway here some tip and link on checking the year of manufacture

Check Manufacture Year - Japan Partner

Vijay, or any other altezza owner..
hv u guys try out that link ?? and is it accurate ??
cos i try to put in the code for an altezza that i've viewed recently..
and it tell me a different year make !!!! (diff than on the jpj papers and what seller's claimed)

Hi Mike,
This is the general problem........ In Japan normally they dont care about Year of Make.
Normally they are foucs on Year of Registration. So when the car get exported to Malaysia
the JPJ will take the year of Registration as the Year of Make.
The website is accurate but you also can check :

1) Front seat belt tag. check Near the pillar
2) Rear seat belt buckle. see behind.

I also have Altezza parts software which give Year of Manufacture by Year and mth.
Pls PM me the chassis code and I can check for you if you want.

SXE10-00XXXXX

I hope this helps.

Hello Tezza members. Just a quick question to u guys. I've never driven any Tezza before. But I'm surely will soon, and hopefully to have one by end of the year. Still wondering whether to choose a 6MT or 5AT. I've been driving MT the whole life, even here in NZ. But I am not a racer, though. Kinda mild sport hearted driver :itsme: . I heard 6MT is quite rare in Malaysia, thus probably will have higher price (i'm not sure) and higher demand compare to 5AT. On the other hand, I'd love to try 5AT (with the tiptronic switch on the wheel, looks cool :biggrin:). I'm not sure how fun using this switch compared to using conventional MT. And 5AT apparently looks flexible especially in busy city like KL (kaki takde sakit loo tekan clutch).. So, hope u guys can share your experience so that I'd choose the best suits me. I've made up my mind to grab one here, bring back and join u guys later. :adore: :wavey:

leman,

My opinion, get the 6MT if u can !.
not to say which one is better than the other one, it's just down to
the owner/driver preferences. and i guess some of the question u asked,
u've already got the answer, and just need someone to 'endorse' it only..:)

as far as my survey goes, i've only seen 3 unit of 6MT on sale since
early 2007!... and 2 of it are 1998/1999 model.

yes. and if you're going to mod the altezza, get the 6MT. even more options, as i've said before. the 5AT tiptronic is actually quite 'normal', just let's you hold revs on gears and also downshift/upshifts. but you're nt in total control like in MT, as it will still automatically shift it down for you when you step on the gas, even if u didnt downshift it yourself.

Too me either are ok. Depending what u fancy. Personally I like 6MT but 5AT also not bad especially if you work in Traffic Jammed areas.

I would say it depends on factors like yr age, the place u normal drive yr car etc..
If you are young, preference choice will be a 6MT ( I know I would) but if you normally drive in the city or a jammed pack loaction, then u might consider the 5A/T. As far as performance wise, if both in stock condition, there is not much significant difference. But the performance part options for the 6M/T is much more than the 5A/T.
The tiptronic on the 5A/T is nice to use on occassion when u need more torque by delaying the shifting and holding on to lower gears.
I dont think there is much difference in market value of a used altezza (6M/T or 5A/T) coz it really depends on the overall condition of the car.

Hopes this helps....

anyone sure they're having a 5A/T.Thought it was only 4A/T and 5A/t for IS300/Aristo only

thanks bro! what is the gearbox code(is it the A650E) for the altezza?
If so isn't it the same for Aristo?

thanks bro! what is the gearbox code(is it the A650E) for the altezza?
If so isn't it the same for Aristo?

A650E
5 Speed Automatic Transmission

Applications:

1998-2005 Lexus GS300 (2nd Generation)
1998-2000 Lexus GS400
1998-2000 Lexus LS400
2001-2005 Lexus GS430
2001-2005 Lexus IS300 (1st Generation)
2001-2003 Lexus LS430
2001-2005 Lexus SC430
Gear Ratios: 1st 3.357 2nd 2.180 3rd 1.424 4th 1.000 5th 0.753 Rev