Alternator

skyline7

How to check whether an alternator is working properly or not?Any easy method that we can used to check?

1 more thing...why is it hard for me to start my car although my car is already warm(usually we do that in the morning when engine is cold) .I have to start by turning the key 2,3 times n press oil. TQ.

Also 1 more.....when starting the car got screeching sound coming from the engine...something like dry belt spinning.Anybody knows why?TQ

Originally posted by skyline7@Oct 14 2004, 09:33
How to check whether an alternator is working properly or not?Any easy method that we can used to check?

1 more thing...why is it hard for me to start my car although my car is already warm(usually we do that in the morning when engine is cold) .I have to start by turning the key 2,3 times n press oil. TQ.

Also 1 more.....when starting the car got screeching sound coming from the engine...something like dry belt spinning.Anybody knows why?TQ
The right way to check whether your alternator is working properly .. must do it at night. start your car engine and switch on headlight project into wall. notice the headlight brightness, switch off your engine. pay attention on the headlight when the time you turn off the engine. does the light goes dim? if yes .. then your alternator did run and charge your battery properly. If no dim, your alternator didn't run and only rely on your battery power ... but if you goto those foreman usually they will ask you on engine and plug out your battery cable check your alternator work or not ..

you meant engine warm hard to start engine or the time engine cold ??

Third should be your belt issues .. how long you didn't change your belt already? Try to change new belt .. it won't cost you much ... I every 2 year will replace my car's belts ...

It could be either your battery or alternator. Go to a trusted workshop and ask them to measure the voltage produced by your battery & alternator. The voltage should not be lower than 12v.

The screeching sound is produced by a worn belt. Could be your fan or aircond belt. Check which one and change it.

When i start my car, i need to turn the key 2 3 times n press oil at the same time,then only car start.Last time just turn key 1 time enough to start engine. Doesn't matter when engine cold or warm.
What if the aircon or fan belt snapped during driving?Will it give more problems to my car like how the timing belt will?

dude, as for the screeching sound, it culd be ur aircon,fan,or timing belt..
timing belt snap den big prob le, but if aircon belt snapped,its ok one..no aricon oni and one more thing dat ur car will have lots of performance..trust me becus my fren tried b4..aircon belt snapped den car more powerful and u can feel the difference..as for fan belt im not veri sure..try to check all ur belts stuff..screeching sound oni come from the belt i guess..
u said u need to start ur car by turning the key 2-3 times , another possibilities mebi ur starter oso kong oredi..jus my 2 cents..good luck

what is your car model? my 1.6 auto starter last time has this problem, regardless anytime anywhere, sometimes when I turn the key to start it, it just sound 'Thekk theekkk theekk....', and you turn again, it sound the same, until few tries then the engine only start. Later while my mech fixed certain relay to it then everything solve.
for the belt screeching, check whether it is lossen. If the belt sound all the time then it is weared and out.
If your timing belt snapped, that's really bad to hear it. but if your aircond belt snapped, it depends whether the belt is used to power the power steering, if it snapped, you lose the power steering and the aircond temporarily.
Best of all, if you can make your aircond belt snapped at the correct time and correct way during driving, all the smoke will start coming out from the front of the car and everyone will be amazed looking at it.

How about If your alternator belt snapped?

Happened to my ex car Kenari, was only 6 months old and while cruising at Bangsar suddenly i heard something snapped. At first just jalan but later discovered that my power steering aint got power anymore, some sorts like driving a car without power steering. 2 hours later all the power from battery drained out and stranded at federal highway. it cost me rm150 for tow truck service plus rm30 for the alternator belt. this incident happened 3 years ago.

Automatic tranmission car will have problem if the alternator belt snapped. The gear box need electricity to run and if the battery and alternator both out, you are out of luck.

And it depends on car model also, my car power steeriing is powered by aircond belt.

Went to check.It seemed that my aircond belt had worn out.Had it changed.Then tighten them up.Now the noise gone.Tq all for helping.

while the engine is running take out the negative terminal of the battery see if the engine die or not ...

if die then alternator died ...

try to start ur engine and disconnect the negative terminal for 2 second and put it back to the battery, if ur car dies ur alternator needs to be changed

maybe one of ur belting is not tight, try to check all of ur belts by simply pressing it by ur finger, if it too un tight, tighten it..... put some grease under the belts...and im experiencing hard to start when the engine is hot and i think that maybe ur car is not in the right tuning....

Bro,
Your car is an old KE or Toyota? Now a days where got car run on fan belt. Fan all drives off the battery. The best way to test your alternator is to use a multimeter. Red on poitive and black on negative. You should get a 13++ to 14.0v with the engine on the start mode. Less than that then its high time to change the alternator.

hard to start engine?? my wira last time same probs.. after change spark plug no probs one turn can start straight away. But might as well go check with the mechanice see whats the probs.

one of the wired to the alternator melted away
should I connect it back or change the alternator ?