all about boost cut

normality78

All rite. lets share all the info regarding about boost cut here.

Other thn getting boost cut controller, what are others methods can be use? any tips / tricks? how to solve the boost cut?

i heard be4 plp saying install some kind of valve. im sure its not the fish tank valve they r reffering to. but im not sure what it is coz he said just 1 valve will do the job.

anymore sharing?

what do u mean by the valve anyway ? boost cut from FCID ? AVCR ? wastegate ? ? how u mean by cut ? from 0.7 bar to 1 bar ? how to make it to 1 bar as a cut or what ? base on engine lo..eheh

im not sure also wat does he mean by the valve. i'll try to obtain more info frm him.

AVCR is not boost cut device rite? its more to boost controller. I think you get misunderstood for boost cut with boost managment. hehehe

well standard boost cut is initiated by the ECU when it reads an insufficient fuel feed... to avoid engine damage...that's when we get standard boost like 0.7 bar for most standard turbo-charged makes....if your boost reading reads higher than wat's claimed as stock without any works done on it b4, then your turbo could be suffering a faulty actuator....but ur ECU will eventually cut the boost when a certain reading is achieved....

to remove...well....common technique will be getting an oversized fuel pump, a boost controller, a FCD, an AFC/piggyback if possible....should work....

just my 2 cents

hm... bro, very tks for the input. this is something wat im looking forwards to.

Do i need all 4 items mentioned aboved to get the boost cut problem solve? If not, how does an oversized fuel pump will help here? Same apply to boost controller. FCD needless to say, surely will solve it i think.

the oversized fuel pump to ensure fuel feed, the boost controller is to keep the boost stable, the FCD is to curb the ECU initiation to fuel cut....

ohh yeah, a fuel regulator might also help.....

for more details ask other gurus...:)

Uncle Frankie,

If my memory serves me well, I remember last time someone once said he's given up on car mod and such? *hint-hint* :shades_smile:

wahahaha. basket. dun mock at me like this la, sir. whenever i thought of your car, i cant help wanna mod. kekekekek

tuned said:
the oversized fuel pump to ensure fuel feed, the boost controller is to keep the boost stable, the FCD is to curb the ECU initiation to fuel cut....

ohh yeah, a fuel regulator might also help.....

for more details ask other gurus...:)

yeah...get bigger fuel pump and set with fuel regulator...boost up to 1-1.2 bar safely...then go for safc if need some performance..

correct me if wrong...tq bro/sifus/gurus

Please elobrate more what did you mean by "Boost Cut"

In Mitsu world, normally its known by boost control, coz MAF car do not required MAP voltage for compensate fuel. Its using Air Flow.

But, in Honda world, its different. Since honda using MAP sensor voltage to compensate fuel, the factory ECU come with specific voltage offset. When ecu detect more than this specific value, the check light turn on and car turn to limb mode aka safe mode.

As long in NA, this boost cut is not an issue, bcoz IM will always in -ve pressure aka vacuum. This boost cut appear when people boosting NA engine with MAP sensor.

If you wana run +ve pressure aka boost in your IM, you need to trick your ECU. This process known popularly as "Voltage Clamp". A few way you can do it.

ok.

whn boost cut. it happen whn i floor the throttle. once i floor and 50% from full boost, the ecu check light on. thn the engine will bogging abit. shld i ease off abit, thn the car will resume power.

i tired to lowered the boost (by using fishtank valve), thn it only happen on fullboost. i've not tried to lowered the boost somemore.

normality78.....we r facing the same prob.....my peak boost is only 0.9...
when cut....the engine like jammed for a while...when ease the pedal n step ok again....
im using tulang ikan too with wastegate.....
my boost dun maintain at certain level no matter how i set the tulang ikan.....
it juz boost all the way till cut...
even when i set the boost the lowest i can....also wont stop boosting....wastegate got open....
wat's the prob.....????????

Normality dude,

if your boost cut happens at that specific boost level...no matter how u lower ur boost (anything above the cut point)...is still gonna cut....

9188 dude,

ur problem sounds like a faulty actuator....that's y..not matter how u control ur boost..it still varies.....

normality78 said:
ok.

whn boost cut. it happen whn i floor the throttle. once i floor and 50% from full boost, the ecu check light on. thn the engine will bogging abit. shld i ease off abit, thn the car will resume power.

i tired to lowered the boost (by using fishtank valve), thn it only happen on fullboost. i've not tried to lowered the boost somemore.

Ofcoz it bogging but not abit i can say... Erm... smell like your ECU didnt like more boost.

Check with your tuner how to clamp the extra voltage that your ECU get from your MAP sensor.

"Check with your tuner how to clamp the extra voltage that your ECU get from your MAP sensor"

i dun really get what u mean.

as for bogging, well not really until the car is being hold. its more like sudden lembik abit. just whn u drive with / without aircon kind of power lose. hehehehe

Just a question here -

On stock MAP sensors, when there is positive pressure above its measuring limit, what happens? Will the MAP sensor return a full 5 volts, or will it cut off and return 0 volts? Because I don't think MAP sensors can return a signal higher than the 5 volt reference input, right?

lilvee,

i already clamp the extra voltage frm my MAP sensor 2 almost 4 volts using the emanage boost cut but still the check lite comes on... n wen i check y it came on, its da MAP sensor... n now wat shud i do besides changin my MAP sensor 2 a 3bar map sensor??? shud i use a by-pass valve, but i dun knw exactly how it works... jus knw dat wen u use da valve, da map sensor will not sense the boost...

jep3003 said:
lilvee,

i already clamp the extra voltage frm my MAP sensor 2 almost 4 volts using the emanage boost cut but still the check lite comes on... n wen i check y it came on, its da MAP sensor... n now wat shud i do besides changin my MAP sensor 2 a 3bar map sensor??? shud i use a by-pass valve, but i dun knw exactly how it works... jus knw dat wen u use da valve, da map sensor will not sense the boost...

Whats your clamping value in your boost cut function?

No need to change 3bar, coz e-manage not compensate fuel by reading map sensor voltage, it still using TPS input.

The clamp only to trick your ECU to not sense the xtra boost.