AE101 Modification advise

glozz

Jan 26, 2003
glozz,

You're an old timer here right? Remember your nick back from the old days. Anyway good fuel consumption don't go hand in hand with high horsepower. So:

Good fuel consumption = remain stock
High horsepower = 7AGTE + Manual g/b (Definitely more than 10K)
Yepp; old timer; so called larr. Not very active 'cause been quite busy. Now more active 'cause hand gatal liao. :biggrin:

Yeah; just trying to think the impossible lorr. Unichip = good?

u go 2 DAWS at cheras or feilo ngah at kajang or Kegani at puchong or ah choy at kepong area
u tell them.. boss ar.. i got 10k.. help me do up my engine.. giv me some option 2 choose -> good response / hi revvin / torque nice / smooth drivin / track based / street setup / touge / wangan

den u no need think too much dy.. just listen 2 wat they tell u n follow oni..

Bump: talkin bout air filter.. hope tis can help

http://www.mkiv.com/techarticles/filters_test/2/
I actually intend to do that later. Tried to contact kegani; but no reply.

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
Yeah; just trying to think the impossible lorr. Unichip = good?
Unichip i do hear many of people said, it is the best in the piggy back series. Master EG9 also said so. But still standalone are the best of the best:biggrin:.

ahle@

Jan 13, 2004
malaysia
bro,i suggest u dun change 4-1,4-2-1 is the best,try find FGK,cause the exhaust already full set FGK legaris R,only 11KG from front to rear include muffler.

air filter dun change to open pod,drop in always better for auto.

1 step- change extractor 4-2-1,drop in high flow filter(if u dun care about petrol)
2 step- ECU-tom's or E-manage(but emanage need to retune cause toyota ECU will reset)
3 step-if u like manual,6 speed will give u the real power of BT 20V

if u start touch engine internal part,prepare 10k-15k:biggrin::biggrin:

donnyboy

Apr 1, 2006
TRD AE92:how abt apexi dual funnel air intake??inside ngam for 20v??inside the link,it is the best 1 bo....

glozz

Jan 26, 2003
bro,i suggest u dun change 4-1,4-2-1 is the best,try find FGK,cause the exhaust already full set FGK legaris R,only 11KG from front to rear include muffler.

air filter dun change to open pod,drop in always better for auto.

1 step- change extractor 4-2-1,drop in high flow filter(if u dun care about petrol)
2 step- ECU-tom's or E-manage(but emanage need to retune cause toyota ECU will reset)
3 step-if u like manual,6 speed will give u the real power of BT 20V

if u start touch engine internal part,prepare 10k-15k:biggrin::biggrin:
Changed to drop-in filter liao. Looking for extractor now.
Found a Unichip A for Toyota; but wondering how often and what's the interval between retune and the ECU reset?

Yepp; budget's around there. Need to think. Got an offer for Bolt-on-Turbo for 9k....

donnyboy

Apr 1, 2006
trdae92:i do saw the link b4 liao..but some pl say not suitable leh..isit got such things???need more info n advice..tq..wat r u using now?

ahle@

Jan 13, 2004
malaysia
Changed to drop-in filter liao. Looking for extractor now.
Found a Unichip A for Toyota; but wondering how often and what's the interval between retune and the ECU reset?

Yepp; budget's around there. Need to think. Got an offer for Bolt-on-Turbo for 9k....
i not so sure,i think unichip also have to tune back every 5000km to 10000km cause 20v bt ecu will reset it to original setting .a lot friend using e-manage on 20v,first install car very powerful,after a while,back to normal...

Blitz got ori bolt on turbo kit for 20v,but for me,bolt on turbo is no good unless u change the piston to turbo version/forged piston,a lot job to be done,ecu setting,and yr auto gearbox will not last if horse power to high during pickup.why don't u change it to 6-speed??a big different btw auto and 6 speed.

drop in filter better dun use k&N cause the oil from the filter will go to 4 throttle when high rev.i think the new version HKS hybrid drop in filter is good.

glozz:u using fgk twin muffler now?
twin muffler is good for svt but not really good for BT.

his car is using FGK Fujitsubo Legaris R muffler fullset special for BT,made by sus 304 material on 11kg front to rear,,,:biggrin::biggrin:

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
trdae92:i do saw the link b4 liao..but some pl say not suitable leh..isit got such things???need more info n advice..tq..wat r u using now?
why not suitable? It is just need to find the universal adapter only. All air filter is about the same only, just the best (i think) is blitz or Apexi Dual Funnel (must is original).

I previously used Blitz on 20V. After i change to ST205, i didn't use air filter at all. Only have a steel net to close the turbo intake only.

donnyboy

Apr 1, 2006
trdae92:ok..tq..whr can get the original apexi dual funnel leh??nowadays got a lot pl seling apexi dual funnel at ard rm200++..is tat ori 1?

Bump: ahle@:y twin muffler not good in bt but svt?cuz as i noe twin muffler is come for svt but y bt not good using it leh?can tell me?tq

glozz

Jan 26, 2003
i not so sure,i think unichip also have to tune back every 5000km to 10000km cause 20v bt ecu will reset it to original setting .a lot friend using e-manage on 20v,first install car very powerful,after a while,back to normal...

Blitz got ori bolt on turbo kit for 20v,but for me,bolt on turbo is no good unless u change the piston to turbo version/forged piston,a lot job to be done,ecu setting,and yr auto gearbox will not last if horse power to high during pickup.why don't u change it to 6-speed??a big different btw auto and 6 speed.

drop in filter better dun use k&N cause the oil from the filter will go to 4 throttle when high rev.i think the new version HKS hybrid drop in filter is good.

twin muffler is good for svt but not really good for BT.

his car is using FGK Fujitsubo Legaris R muffler fullset special for BT,made by sus 304 material on 11kg front to rear,,,:biggrin::biggrin:
That's why I'm now having 2nd thoughts regarding the Unichip. Wahliu; got to retune every service may be a big pain. RM250 or so each time... Have to think. Need to see whether can find a Tom's. Any jalan for ECU or extractor?

I think i got an old model HKS green material drop-in. Switching to Apexi Dry mesh maintenance-free after this. Thanks man.

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
trdae92:ok..tq..whr can get the original apexi dual funnel leh??nowadays got a lot pl seling apexi dual funnel at ard rm200++..is tat ori 1?
i not dare to say lo...

donnyboy

Apr 1, 2006
icic..y not dare to say...u noe i noe 1 isit??hahaha...need some commen ma..if not how pl wil noe ler..u got any fren using tat type 1??

txperimental

Apr 18, 2006
give kegani a visit bro, they are a race wining team in the mme. specialises in toyota esp 4age engine. should check out the their ae101 race car, gives the civics a run for their money.

glozz

Jan 26, 2003
Been about 2 weeks; have added in:

1. ARC 4AGE 20V Super Intake Chamber
2. 4-2-1 Extractor and tabung
3. Unichip Q

With tuning; now running @ 'bout 150 horses, according to RS dyno charts. My next actions will be:

1. Kegani lightened pulley kit
2. Port and polish

I'm also considering whether or not I should add a Tom's Carbon Fiber airbox and should I plan for an engine rebuild? I've also been having poison fed to me to go FI; and am considering supercharging. Any advise/opinions? Can i use an 4AGZE supercharger and modify?

Anyone have any advise for braking improvements also? Considering steel braided hoses; pros and cons?

Also, any other things I may have missed? Thanks for all the advise and opinions so far. Appreciate it.

Last edited by a moderator:

A new era of engine manufacturing in Malaysia was officiated as Perodua and Daihatsu partnered on a RM500 million investment joint-venture. Daihatsu Perodua Engine Manufacturing Sdn Bhd (DPEM) opens their engine manufacturing plant in Sendayan, Negeri Sembilan.

The manufacturing plant is the second manufacturing facility invested by Daihatsu in Sendayan after building a transmission plant, Akashi...