Adjustable Absorber

johnnygsr said:
All sifu.. Any suggestion on a good and stable adjustable absorber for Wira --> GSR Turbo car(for low profile wheel)? Currently using cheap adjustable absorber. Really bad, unstable during cornering now a days after using it for 2 years. Please advise. Thank u so much.

i punye used less than 2 years dah kena services..leaking...
juz done it last week..
1 batang=rm160-rm200 (depends on ur absorber..must check 1st)

fyi :im using wira gsr also

oiyo... the c spannar is hard enough to get or.... i almost cried that day i left my ajusting spannar in my workshop, luckily that fellow never throw away.

Anyway I'm using a RG, although it is not a expensive one but it works really well at cornering and off course must sacrifice a bit of comfort. It eats up my tires equally and balance the force. Good for performance car between 100bhp to 200 bhp, any beast above that is beyound my comprehension

But, off course must depent on strut bar and tyre profile as well.

For you info, RG, HWL and APM are sharing the technology amount.

You still have the option to change to a hard spring to upgrade.

Let's talk about varieties of car manufacturer with different types of suspension and technoologies. I've driven Ford Laser, Alfa 156 TI, FTO Version R, Satrai GTI Ori, Proton Wira, Putra Ori Volvo T40, Perodua Kancil, Fiat Punto GT now back to Putra with RG...

I was surprise that kancil 850 is not too bad!!

Glad to know that every adjustable susp is able to re-service,

Fully - adjustable suspension, i.e hard - soft dampers / high - low suspension height : seems like the best option if you got the moolah. After I'm done with upgrading my brakes ( EBC Greenstuff pads + Goodridge hoses ), I'm thinking of saving up for some 2nd hand adjustable suspension stuffs. Thinking of Tein's at the moment. Scenario : went over at SS Racing, viewed a set of Tein adjustables. If I try to change the dampening adjusters to the softest setting, place the bottom of the absorbers on the floor and push the top of the absorbers with both of my hands, and after that, change the settings to the hardest, can I feel the difference? How can one know that the hard - soft settings can be fully utilised ( which is a normal horror story when buying 2nd hand fully - adjustable absorbers, only later to find out that the set that you've bought have faulty soft - hard adjusters )? Anyone got a rough idea how to check the spring's weight ( i think ) for the springs that came with the absorbers? is it printed on the spring? would love to buy brand new, but certainly not enuff cash lerr. Any reputable shops who have the tools, parts and ability to service adjustable suspensions? There's one Tein - certified shop at Singapore, but that's too far away just for one to send his absorbers to be serviced.

I think for certain brand of adj susp, you can find out the spring weight by refering back to the supplier, not really a wide range of production weight- in - different sets of coil unless custom made. But talking in engineering field, if you can manage to hand anyone working in engineering firm, they might have the pressure gauge to check the weight of each coil.... cheers

i think it can be feel when u press the abs....adjus tto soft and puch it..then adjust to hard and push it...is chould be feel.....

kuyeen said:
i punye used less than 2 years dah kena services..leaking...
juz done it last week..
1 batang=rm160-rm200 (depends on ur absorber..must check 1st)

fyi :im using wira gsr also

Sorry for the late reply to all the sifus.. Wah.. Service so expensive? Which brand u refering to? Gap or HWL?