• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

• Wanted to buy one

• Total voters

Bravo

according to the lastest law in europe, whoever download, ripped, transfer or send songs or mp3 are consider as illegal. Even though u bought a original cd... u still not allow to ripped into your pc. It consider as illegal too. Unless u download these mp3 from those website that need to paid. But it still illegal if u transfer to ur mp3 player like iPOD.
I would like to ask since all the mp3 in our computer or mp3 player is illegal. will i being arrest when i go through the kastam? as i know, those european country especially UK and US, they are quite strict to this. i'm just worrying and no idea about it. if i'm not mistaken, there are few people been arrested due to this illegal mp3.
need so advise or opinion...

gee,i never thought of it b4..
but usually mp3 players, onc u transfer in it, it wont be able to transfer back to pC.. unless u'r player is usb-handydrive..
coZ i got 2 types of player..
1st is the real mp3 player[jazpiper] with lcd screens n all..mp3 inside it i cant put back in pC.. where 2nd player is mp3-pendrive type, juz like normal pendrive..
so i think if u got those mp3 player such as nomad,jazpiper,rio n all, i might be a problem...
well, i actually dont know :P

it consider illegal no matter where u transfer the mp3's... from pc to handy drive or handy drive to pc....

Originally posted by Bravo@Jun 13 2004, 06:18 PM
it consider illegal no matter where u transfer the mp3's... from pc to handy drive or handy drive to pc....
No laa..mp3's that are converted from original CDs owned by you and used only for personal listening purposes are not illegal. It's only when you start distributing or selling them, then that's illegal. Keeping them on a server or location that prohibits mp3s is illegal too (especially if they are governed by local copyright laws, like office computers).

Originally posted by Izso+Jun 13 2004, 08:56 PM-->
QUOTE (Izso @ Jun 13 2004, 08:56 PM)
--QuoteBegin-Bravo
@Jun 13 2004, 06:18 PM

No laa..mp3's that are converted from original CDs owned by you and used only for personal listening purposes are not illegal. It's only when you start distributing or selling them, then that's illegal. Keeping them on a server or location that prohibits mp3s is illegal too (especially if they are governed by local copyright laws, like office computers). [/b][/quote]
not really la... u read this month STUFF magazine? it stated that it already consider illegal once u ripped it to your pc or transfer to your mp3 player or palm top although u have the original cd. And yes...... only allow for private use only.
that the problem make me worry

Originally posted by Dremel@Jun 14 2004, 01:06 AM
never heard people got arrested for having mp3s in their pc here in malaysia..

why are you so worry?
haha .. before u start worrying bout ur mp3s, think bout the pirated software(s) on ur pc 1st.. :lol:

i dun have own any mp3 player or mp3 handydrive...but i ripped about 30+gb of mp3 songs inside my cd liao... :lol:

malaysia everything also boleh, don't worry about small problems like mp3.

ermm have u guys read about it? we will still be listed as a third world country as long as piracy still exist here. don't worry getting caught red handed downloading copyrighted material in malaysia. we still don't have law impose to punish or fine song swapper.

Hey, Malaysian cops got lots more other problem then going cheaking one by one people's MP3 player lar... wahhahah...
Even illegal software also they cant go knock people's house to cheak cos they dont have the men power... they can only crack down firms or offices that uses them.... so no worries in malaysia... chill out dude. ;)