6A12 speed signal trigger pattern?

Can anybody tell me where the speed signal to the ECU comes from on a Mitsubishi FTO 6A12 (MIVEC and non-MIVEC) - is it off the crank, or off the distributor?

Bro, normally, the speed sensor is from the gear box. This sensor come with three wires.One power ( + 12 ), one ground and one for signal output.
For old system, the sensor or switch is build on speedo meter.
Check it out men....

Boss, those speedo meter using mechanical cable from gear box, the "switch" sensor is on speedo meter, 4G61T,VR4.
Those speedo meter without using mechanical cable from gear box, normally, the electroinc sensor is on the gear box, and then, the output signal will connect to the seppdo meter and the stock ecu wire, like Toyota SEG, Honda VTEC.

Thanks for the replies, but sorry! ... I wasn't writing correctly...
I mean the speed of the engine - the rev sensor.

Cheers!

Bro, what a joke!. We call it rpm lah.
Any way, the whole process is like that.
There is a crank sensor on the engine. Once trigger ( the rotor on the crank ), it will send the signal to stock ecu, then euc will send a signal to the ignitor ( 3 input, 3 output ). Once fire, the ignitor ( tacho output ), will send the signal to rpm meter.

Thanks, that makes sense!

Do you know how many teeth are on the crank wheel and how many are missing?

There is no missing tooth on the crank rotor.
If not mistaken, there are three plate on the crank rotor, so for three coils.
The other sensor, home detect or one cyclinder is on the distrubtor.

The sensor is from the crank sensor on the flywheel. It sends 6 pulse per cycle. That is 3 pulses per revolution. Only mitsubishi engines that allow you to manually adjust the static ignition timing reads the signal from the so called 'distributor' looking cam/crank sensor.