4G91 Gang..

ayell,
haha.... very brave of u... will be looking forward to see ur 1.6l 4G91 then! =)

vernoz,
4G91 has its rev cut at 6800rpm... meaning if u floor the pedal, it can never go past 6800rpm... the engine will sort of like get cut off after that. Mivec's rev cut is much much higher... if i remember correctly its 9500rpm... Mivec's extractor is designed to match their high end torque... so low end probably won't be as good.

thanks alvin

tomorrow i'm going to return back and put back my cap ayam extractor...easy maaa....

ayell said:
alvin/tajulsan..
I know it is "gila" job.. hehhehe.. but I still "gila-gila" wanna try..
I'll post the result after mod complete..
You so much money dont know what to do meh.. hahha.. go a head la and update us of ur crazy idea later.. I heard from somewhere that if u want it to be more reliable.. cabut ur current sleeve and then put in 1.6 sleeve if wanna overbore.. i'm not quite sure though..

anyway, its good to have u here trying crazy things.. ull be like our lab mice laa.. haha.. jk oni..

hahaha lab mice aarrr... no problem at all.. for the benefit of all mankind.. hahaha patriotic..

p/s: I don have much money la.. ngam2 oni..

my tappet sucks

hi gang... any of u facing dis prob... cos mine is really goin to my nerves n is damn embarassing starting the engine in the morning n after work...
mind sharing yr solution n remedy... like what engine oil/additive u using, etc etc regading dis... izit ok to use engine flushengines b4 changing engine oil... b'cos i read sumwhere it say it cleans the oil cloged in the tappet...

i know dis topic has been widely discussed many times... but sharing it here wud be alil better as we r using the same engine n the solution/remedy wud work better...
thx (",)

solving tappet problems IMPORTANT notice:
1. DON'T use additive... trust me, it'll make things WORSE!
2. DON'T use Shell engine oil... of all my years experience, Shell oil makes tappet noises louder
3. ALWAYS service on time!
4. ALWAYS check to see if got enuff black oil... top up if necessary

Solutions that nobody listens to:
1.DON'T alwiz high rev engine... obviously nobody listens to this

Recommended oils known to help reduce tappet sounds:
1. Magnatec semi synthetic
2. Penzoil normal oil (the yellow bottle wan)

I'm using Endless engine oil... doesn't reduce tappet noises as much as Magnatec does for my 4G91... but heck la... i find Endless oil to be smoother.

Other alternatives:
1. Service tappets... i know somewhere that does it for 100+ (forgot exact price)
2. Change all 16 tappets (or those loose ones only... depending on condition)
3. U can always 'try' to flush your engine before ur next oil change... it didn't work for me though... but it did work for some of my friends with minor tappet sounds (mine was pretty major back then... but i did a full tappet service and replaced the loose ones).
**Brand new tappets costs around 90 per piece

Advice for tappet noise prevention:
1. ALWAYS CHECK ENGINE OIL!! (very important... once the noise starts, it won't stop)
2. Don't always rev here rev there lar... or stay at high revs long long

**Reason why checking engine oil is very important is because if there isn't enuff engine oil, the tappet sounds will arrise... and by then, if u fast fast tambah oil also already too late, coz' once the sound starts, it won't stop.

Hope this info helps everyone with tappet problems. =)

check this link... http://www.lancerregister.com/faq_f01.php
found it while searching in google...

alvin... thx 4 d gr8 info... where the workshop...

anyone else tried other solution... pls give yr opinion...
thx

SkyZone... its Taman Sunway Mas industrial park... somewhere inside BU... not many people know of that area... its 4GTuners' sponsor workshop... u can try to 4GTuners' website and look for the map.

I have already acustomed my self to the ticking sound.. its turning from loud wanna blow engine to music now.. hahaha.. Morning starting up is really malu..

Alvin,

I heard people said that ur 4G91 is running with 93 cam right ?? the cam shaft u r taken from is it come from manual engine or auto ?? iif want to plug in, just take out and replace right ?? any part want to modify ?? pls advice ... brother. Thanks :D

Wah... where u hear from la brother?!? Hehehez... I choose to neither confirm nor deny these claims !!

Anywayz... take the ones from manual... they should have higher lift... Auto cars not really meant for high revs mar... so its tuned for mid range mostly. Nothing to modify... its a direct fit. Works better if u get adjustable campulleys... however, they need to be dyno tuned to perfection.

hello ...... where are all the 91's kaki go ????? mayday...mayday.. :D

no...laa, just keep this topic active ...maa :D

yes, for the tappet sound ; this what I saw some people do on this way:
1. before change engine oil, put in stp engine flush .
2. change the new engine oil + filter with 15/40 + 10/30 (60%+40%)
mix the engine oil.
3. change the engine oil before 3000km reach then change the engine oil as normal .(3000 km for mineral base.)
4. I was saw that for minor tappet sound , it can totally solved; but the heavy sound one , some of them can reduce sound and some of them still remain due to wear and tear.

hope can help.

as the Alvin mention ; my poman also advice me like that, keep close to change engine oil, dun over due ;this will be the most important to prevent tappet sound.

hmmm... just a question, assuming someone offered to rework your engine internals for RM7000, high cams + valve springs, rebuild + full engine balancing, pnp, oversized pistons+rebore block, rechipping... how many of u thinks its worth it??
Say, maybe after all that u managed to reach 150hp on wheel.

what is the engine base ???

ok, for my opinion : I will not go to make it, because after re-build it, we really dun know this engine still left how long life spend. can it stand for another 5 yrs ?? 150 on wheel atleast ur engine need to pump out 180ps on flywheel... for 4G91 as example, it was the highest limited modification for this engine. just shorten engine life....
better take this money go to 4G93T, we already have atleast 150 on wheel also without any of modification. Right ??

furthermore need to think about daily driving condition and of coz fuel consumption.

boyzone..i kinda get ur picture but some ppl r like tat..i mean...y r there ppl wit bolt on turbo o supercharge 4g13 o 4g15 when its not a performance engine??wat i think its tat 4 xample if i spend 7k on my 4g91 then i can take on 4g93 mivec n keeping upclose wit 4g93t...i'll b damn proud of it...

alvin24...i know a guy did his 4g91 the NA style...he told me spend 5k liaw...can keep up close wit 4g93t...internal using 4g93 piston n king's bearing then he tel me go chan shau lin there duno do wat 2 the internal...tat time we(woc) convoy 2 sri hatamas my car full throttle each 160 edi then the 4g93t zoom pass me followed by this monster 4g91 bhind him...drool...