4G91 Gang..

antonio,
Define 'empty'?
Don't expect much from it, as I mentioned before, it is, after all, a 1.5 only. =p

When you press the pedal even at 100%, its like the engine has just a little bit of power, from 1k to 3k feels sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo heavy.......when use aircond even worse....

Like usually the scenario is associated with 'angin lebih' or 'minyak lebih' tuned engine....

Last edited by a moderator:
skylee,
Again, u still haven't mentioned your budget. There are a 100+1 things you can do, but it all depends on your budget and what u expect out of each mods. =p

antonio,
Okay, i think i know what you mean. But again, as I said, 4G91 u can't expect much. It is after all a small cc car. My 4G91 last time I dyno came out a healthy reading... but go up Genting that time, there are still quite a number of corners I had to go down to 1st gear to climb. =p

In case u curious, my 4G91 last time dyno 98.8hp on wheels, on engine hp reading should be plus 20% more. Since Mitsubishi rated this engine to be 115hp on engine, means my engine should be quite healthy.

What I could suggest is that we have a TT session, and then u try driving another member's stock/close to stock 4G91, and see if it feels the same. That's the only way u'll know if your 'feeling sluggish' is because something is not right, or memang its supposed to feel that way. =)
Of coz' if u got friends driving 4G91 also can test drive and see lar. =p

Bump: skylee,
Again, u still haven't mentioned your budget. There are a 100+1 things you can do, but it all depends on your budget and what u expect out of each mods. =p

antonio,
Okay, i think i know what you mean. But again, as I said, 4G91 u can't expect much. It is after all a small cc car. My 4G91 last time I dyno came out a healthy reading... but go up Genting that time, there are still quite a number of corners I had to go down to 1st gear to climb. =p

In case u curious, my 4G91 last time dyno 98.8hp on wheels, on engine hp reading should be plus 20% more. Since Mitsubishi rated this engine to be 115hp on engine, means my engine should be quite healthy.

What I could suggest is that we have a TT session, and then u try driving another member's stock/close to stock 4G91, and see if it feels the same. That's the only way u'll know if your 'feeling sluggish' is because something is not right, or memang its supposed to feel that way. =)
Of coz' if u got friends driving 4G91 also can test drive and see lar. =p

hmmmm good to know that there are still a lot of 4G91 kakis opting to BOT or block modding...despite of the current economy situation...

just a word of advice, plan properly before u take up BOT as a mod option. u need to explore on the fueling and the compression rates, also on the mapping of ur ECU in order to get the optimum set up....nevertheless, as what explained by the rest, BOT will definately give u more return in terms of HP gain....for N/A mods, what u are looking for is the torque rather than the HP gain....having a piggyback will not add HP, its only to fine tune ur ECU mapping based on ur mods....normally this is the last thing that ppl will add....else it defeats the purpose if ur car is stock or with minimal mods....just my 2 cents...

lol for BOT, shall let the BOT otais to explain further, alvin and tajul....do ur thing...hehehe *cabutz*

unker fred....whats TCU ar...lol....must be one of ur secret mods la.....faster teach me how to check TCU....

antonio, there could be lots of factor why ur engine feels "empty"....try checking ur T/B...could be dirty....

alvin....thailand getting havoc lately wor....especially pataya...better cabut back here and organise a TT la....lol...=P

Hah!!

now i remember....

The feel is like;

1. If you had driven a turbo car, the feeling is like when the I/C piping cabut!!!

2. It feels like petrol going to finish already??

Fuel regulator perhaps? Or fuel pump??

eh? wth?
I thought I replied adi? Why my post like missing wan?

Bump: eh? wth?
I thought I replied adi? Why my post like missing wan?

Bump: Anywayz, since really hilangz adi my posting... i try to think again whut i typed and retype lor... =(

antonio,
Mitsu cars i/c pipings cabuts cannot drive wan leh... coz' we running on airflow mar... if i/c piping come out, the ECU thinks got no air going in the engine then won't inject any petrol lo... haha. IF nissan cars that run on MAP sensors can la... =) kekeke...

And i never jalan my car until little/no petrol before. NO idea whut that's supposed to feel like...

I think we should organize TT, then we test drive ur car and comment lor. As you probably would already know... its hard to describe a 'feeling' in words. =) haha...

skyline_maniac,
I think u got the wrong perception of hp and torque. Any car regardless of n/a or turbo also will be looking for torque. HP (despite what is commonly believed) is not as important as torque. You want to see who's car is faster, get the torque reading, and not the HP.

A good example would be comparing evo4 all the way to evo9. All evo4 through to evo9 have 280hp... but the newer evo is faster on the straights. Why? Higher torque.

eh? wth?
antonio,
Mitsu cars i/c pipings cabuts cannot drive wan leh... coz' we running on airflow mar... if i/c piping come out, the ECU thinks got no air going in the engine then won't inject any petrol lo... haha. IF nissan cars that run on MAP sensors can la... =) kekeke...

And i never jalan my car until little/no petrol before. NO idea whut that's supposed to feel like...

I think we should organize TT, then we test drive ur car and comment lor. As you probably would already know... its hard to describe a 'feeling' in words. =) haha...

Aiyak...

I know..:hmmmm:.that why i said the feeling is like that..:confused:.can drive but very slowly....

antonio running on 18in?? hehehe...
duno bout u but when i was still on an auto box,acceptable power frm a 1.5.. might not be performing to its optimum?? auto box giving any probs?

skyline_maniac,
I think u got the wrong perception of hp and torque. Any car regardless of n/a or turbo also will be looking for torque. HP (despite what is commonly believed) is not as important as torque. You want to see who's car is faster, get the torque reading, and not the HP.

A good example would be comparing evo4 all the way to evo9. All evo4 through to evo9 have 280hp... but the newer evo is faster on the straights. Why? Higher torque.

hmmmm otai sudah sound :rolleyes:.....maybe i should rephrase my sentence....yes agreed....irregardless whether n/a or turbo...of course torque is the main aim....its not how high ur hp is...is how fast u can get to it....having high hp but low torque is useless...thus ur example is correct...

what i am trying to say is for n/a mods....dont expect for high hp gain..they should be looking more on ways to improve their torque instead..as its known that u will have to burn a huge hole in ur wallet before u can start seeing some gain in the HP for n/a...

hunting for higher torque of course still applies to turbo....all turbo modders will aim ways for torque improvement as well....but for turbo, in terms of modding, they are able to gain hp easier....

like what Enzo Ferrari was once quoted as saying "Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races". :biggrin:

hai to all gangs..long time not post here.hehe..regarding i want to service my car soon,so i wanna ask some question :

1. what is the best engine oil for 4g91?is that normal,semi or fully?what brand is the best?b4 this i used shell helix semi synthetic

2. what is the best spark plug for stndrd 4g91?i used stndrd NGK b4 this

Bump: hai to all gangs..long time not post here.hehe..regarding i want to service my car soon,so i wanna ask some question :

1. what is the best engine oil for 4g91?is that normal,semi or fully?what brand is the best?b4 this i used shell helix semi synthetic

2. what is the best spark plug for stndrd 4g91?i used stndrd NGK b4 this

skyline_maniac,
Wah... where got sound. LoLz... just a discussion nia. =)
*thumbs up*

N.A,
There is no 'best'. Use what you're comfortable with... but don't use full synthetic lar. I think its too thin for our engines. Semi synthetic is okay. =)

N.A,
There is no 'best'. Use what you're comfortable with... but don't use full synthetic lar. I think its too thin for our engines. Semi synthetic is okay. =)

oic..so what are the brand of engine oil n spark plug did u usually used alvin?can i "pinjam resepi"..hehe

Let's see... I started out using Castrol Magnatec (semi synthetic).

Later changed to Endless semi synthetic... find it smoother.

Then later changed to use HKS semi synthetic... smoother, and engine revs feel lighter. Been using HKS semi synthetic ever since until today! (i think about 5 years or more now)

However, N1 no longer brings in HKS semi synthetic (that, or HKS stopped producing it). So can't get that anymore =(

My next service I should be trying Blitz semi synthetic thats brought in by N1 also. =p

skyline_maniac,
Wah... where got sound. LoLz... just a discussion nia. =)
*thumbs up*

N.A,

chill...hahah bro was just pulling ur leg also la....good to have back discussion like this....been a while since i've discussed on moddings....semi-retired now...
hmmmm tajul seems quiet these days....dunno whether he is still around or back offshore again...

btw....just wondering....are we able to rojak our current 4G91 wiring to fit GSR ecu? i understand that gsr and evo shares the same type of wiring....some ppl gave me the feedback that the only difference with 4G91 and gsr is that gsr has 2 extra sensor wiring....knock sensor or something....anyone hybrid the wiring before?

N.A....yeah....what alvin said is true....better opt for semi-syn or something thicker...full syn is too thin and u will suffer from hearing tappet noises....ur car will end up like some old taxi sound...lol....

i used to use Q8 and eneos 10W40 semi syn....no complains so far....

wah.....alvin.....so lucky can afford all hi-end engine oils....a long time strong supporter of N1...hehehe...

been using castrol edge 5-40 for quite some time....
engine feels much lighter compared to magnetec (that was used last time before i switch to edge)....
oni thing hav to bear wif the bloody tappet sound on cold start.....
n it kindda get worst day by day.....
perhaps its time to switch back to magnetec???
heehee....

as for sprak plug.....
been using those normal NGK....
damn long lasting....
i remembered i changed it even before the old ones kaput....
coz i feels dat i've been using the old ones for kindda too long....
heehee.....

anyway...
i remembered someone here suggested using super-4.....
i dunno the diff la....
coz never tried b4....
wanted to change super-4...
but my mech ask me no need waste time & $$$....
so listen to him lo...heehee

Let's see... I started out using Castrol Magnatec (semi synthetic).

Later changed to Endless semi synthetic... find it smoother.

Then later changed to use HKS semi synthetic... smoother, and engine revs feel lighter. Been using HKS semi synthetic ever since until today! (i think about 5 years or more now)

However, N1 no longer brings in HKS semi synthetic (that, or HKS stopped producing it). So can't get that anymore =(

My next service I should be trying Blitz semi synthetic thats brought in by N1 also. =p

oic..so where is N1?what spark plug did u used alvin?

OH YES... forgot to mention, i've been using Denso Iridium spark plugs from day 1 till now. =)
I don't think spark plug will make that much of a difference in performance lar... what you'd want to look for is a set that will last u a long time.
Denso Iridiums can probably outlast your timing belts! But that also depends on how healthy your engine is... if its running too lean or too rich, it will affect the lifespan of your plugs.

skyline_maniac,
No idea about the wiring rojak.
I'm quite an anti-rojak modder lar. Not that I don't do it at all lar, but got limits lor. Some things can be rojaked, but MOST things shouldn't.

And yea... it HAS been quite a while since i've had mod talks also. haha... slowly getting the hang of it back. LoLz...

Eh... what high end engine oils? Nama oni sound nice lar... price wise not very much different mar. HKS semi synthetic was selling at 99 bux only mar. =) I think Castrol Magnatec also bout 70-80 bux rite?

LoLz... quite the long time supporter also lar... haha... N1 until today I still find has the lowest selling prices around... plus I usually get treated quite well lar. =)
Anyone wanna get anything from N1 lemme knoe lar... i should be able to get you guys a nice discount.

i use castrol magnatec .. btw alvin howmuch for blitz semi synthetic?

Bump: i use castrol magnatec .. btw alvin howmuch for blitz semi synthetic?

joe,
I not sure, haven't tried it yet. I think about RM120 if not mistaken.

Bump: joe,
I not sure, haven't tried it yet. I think about RM120 if not mistaken.

LoLz... quite the long time supporter also lar... haha... N1 until today I still find has the lowest selling prices around... plus I usually get treated quite well lar. =)
Anyone wanna get anything from N1 lemme knoe lar... i should be able to get you guys a nice discount.

1. i want to know la alvin..where is it?are N1 at kl?hehe..

2. i want to put a halfcut lancer digital air cond panel controller set in my wira..i'm currently used OEM analog a/c controller..is it suitable?are u guys have done it before?how much the wiring?are there any problem after install it?