4G91 Gang..

haz,
LoLz... i have no idea where to buy the bulbs... i never really bought them before, i took them from a spare set I had. =)

skylee,
You might wanna get your car checked... i think something's not right. Maybe have a look into the a/f ration. As I had mentioned, too rich/too lean can kill the plugs pretty fast. I murdered one set of plugs when I did my turbo kit project, that was before proper tuning and all... haha. =) Ran too rich for a while. =)

ok,i will check it...
thank bro alvin,
but if install SAFC ,and done proper tuning,will it be better?....

Bump: ok,i will check it...
thank bro alvin,
but if install SAFC ,and done proper tuning,will it be better?....

need help here ... my car jerking when i drive and the rpm suddenly climb slower then before .. is there any problem?? pls help.

skylee,
Maybe... depends... =p Whether on the whole rich/lean thing was really the cause of the plug killing.

joe,
errrmmm... spark plug problem? Fuel pump problem? Injector problem? These are the first few things that come to mind. =)

plugs,have not change mine since i got the engine transplanted..back in 2005,milage 7###K. now 74###K. using bosch,not sre what kind. dont seem to have a problem..(touch wood) seems clean evertime i check it.
changing pugs every 6 months,seems like a problem..happen to me when i had a bike last time.evey 3-4 days have to change plugs,found out problem with carb..to much fuel.

Bump: plugs,have not change mine since i got the engine transplanted..back in 2005,milage 7###K. now 74###K. using bosch,not sre what kind. dont seem to have a problem..(touch wood) seems clean evertime i check it.
changing pugs every 6 months,seems like a problem..happen to me when i had a bike last time.evey 3-4 days have to change plugs,found out problem with carb..to much fuel.

hi guys.....
someone askin abt a/c compressor huh???
all 4g9x compressor can be used....
but i found the one i'm using is more long lasting....
its a re-cond set running pistons inside....
but oni 1 downside....ur engine will feel heavier using this type of compressor....

as for spark plug.....
i really feel there's a prob man...
changing a new set every 6mths????
try to get a piggyback n tune la...
ur plugs should b more long lasting.....
if not then plug in a wideband n find out ur a/f reading.....

bro joe....
hope its just a small prob man....
good luck....

ACQ,
Yeah man... people who ride bikes are more aware of this problem. =) Its quite common for bikes the KO their spark plugs easily.
As a matter of fact, it is SO COMMON, that when you buy a bike, your tools set includes tools for changing spark plugs (as appose to cars that come with tools to change tires). I'm sure every biker has a spare plug under his seat... I sure did back in my bike-riding days.

A24,yea...thats very true.. the most important thing beneath the seat. the spark plug tool kit thingy,and a spare plug.

Bump: A24,yea...thats very true.. the most important thing beneath the seat. the spark plug tool kit thingy,and a spare plug.

ACQ,
You forgot one thing... towel. In case it rains and u need to dry your seat... LoLz!

Bump: ACQ,
You forgot one thing... towel. In case it rains and u need to dry your seat... LoLz!

and it helps to hold down the tools and soften the noises it makes when goin thru uneven roads.. dynamat..hehe..
guys,wana ask.. how many of us here sets the adjustable cam pulleys both in the same direction?? as in intake and exhaust both towards advance, or retard?? is there any pros and cons? cause mine is currently set, 3 marks advance(following the mark on the pulleys) on my intake ,and normal on my exhaust.. b4 this it was 1 mark to retard,increase abit in pick up and mid.. dont have a pro here where im from,so im just doin it try and error.. m targeting low and mid range power,slighty compromise on top speed..road not long enuf..hehe

Can't remember my pulley settings... sorry.
Can't help u there.

Bump: Can't remember my pulley settings... sorry.
Can't help u there.

Bump: Oh... but i think i remember one of them not moving also... i think it was exhaust cam still follow same settings, and intake cam were advanced. Again, not too sure, i can't remember exactly whut was the settings. haha...

Anyway, in general, if u advance your intake... you're shifting your power bands to a higher RPM.

Bump: Oh... but i think i remember one of them not moving also... i think it was exhaust cam still follow same settings, and intake cam were advanced. Again, not too sure, i can't remember exactly whut was the settings. haha...

Anyway, in general, if u advance your intake... you're shifting your power bands to a higher RPM.

bro...
dun too gila adjust ur cam timing....
later u gila gila till valve-kiss-piston....
then betul betul pening....

noted,i also dont dare to move it more then 3 marks.... l8r different sound comes from engine,then die lo... thinking of changing cams back using 91 on my intake also... coz b4 this,91 cams seem to be more responsive low - mid rpm..top,not much... 91 intake, 93 exhaust.. anybdy tried this b4??

Bump: noted,i also dont dare to move it more then 3 marks.... l8r different sound comes from engine,then die lo... thinking of changing cams back using 91 on my intake also... coz b4 this,91 cams seem to be more responsive low - mid rpm..top,not much... 91 intake, 93 exhaust.. anybdy tried this b4??

After changing:

-fuel filter
-clean T/B
-resetting the AFM
-change spark plugs

the car now feels a bit better but still low down when trying to move...Idling was also improve after the TB cleaning and plug changing....

But now something weird has happen...

The gearbox seems to hold gear a bit too long and when it engages one shift up, it sometimes jerk back to previous for a sec then climb back up a gear...Any idea?? Clutch slip in the auto gearbox?

Btw, where can i buy the power/economy switch (the original switch at the half cut was lost during transplant) connected to the gearbox? Or you guys just leave it out?

calvin,
You set campulleys on a dyno also they do that. Move 2 degrees, then run on dyno, move another 2 degrees, then run on dyno, move another 2 degress, then run on dyno... so on and so forth. Adjusting campulleys are a trial+error set. =) Keep running diff settings till u get one that gives u the best HP output. =p

ACQ,
I don't think its that advisable to mix+match diff cams man. They both have different lobe heights. 4G93 cams have a higher love and a longer valve opening. This allows more 'overlapping' to be set. The more the overlapping, the higher the power band goes up your RPM range. You just gotta keep playing with the settings till you get it right where you want it. =) Good luck finding it. =)

Antonio,
Sounds like a sensor KO more than clutch slip.

If clutch slip, the RPM will climb but the car still going slow... and the gear might even shift up (rather than shift down) coz' the RPM is climbing. On another note, it wouldn't feel jerky either.

As for the button/switch... i'm not too sure. I didn't own a 4G91 auto. My auto gbox problem experiences came from my Audi. =p Which is why i don't drive it anymore... the price of a recon Audi auto gearbox can buy a 1995 1.3 Satria already. =p

bro alvin....
if they set cams like dat...
keep on +2 degree....
wont the valves hit the piston???
my cams setting was done by a old-skool mech in JB....
seems to me its a very tedious job....
wif all his gadgets n a calculator dat i dunno wat is he calculating...
he can even tell me n my frens....
i teach u oso u wont understand how to set....
muahahahaha

Bump: bro alvin....
if they set cams like dat...
keep on +2 degree....
wont the valves hit the piston???
my cams setting was done by a old-skool mech in JB....
seems to me its a very tedious job....
wif all his gadgets n a calculator dat i dunno wat is he calculating...
he can even tell me n my frens....
i teach u oso u wont understand how to set....
muahahahaha

Well, he'd be bullshitting u if he tells u he can calculate the exact optimum degree. Too many variables. Even if the car was stock standard, a calculation as such cannot be done with a mere calculator... there's a long process to calculate, too long for humans to do. =p Back in uni I had to use a supercomputer to do the calculation... and that also I had to let it calculate overnight, go back to uni the next morning to get my answer. If by any chance he was doing a simplified (And therefore inaccurate) version of it... he should know what 'iteration' or 'successive approximation' is.

My guess is, he was probably looking up something else. I'm not implying however that your mechanic don't know how to set cams lar... but just saying that whutever it is he's doing, is impossible to be more accurate then through trial and error... because it is not easy to get an accurate answer for such a calculation.

Anyway, campulley tuning is all done based on trial and error... its tedious, but definitely faster than calculating (if knew how to).
And then, there is no one setting that fits us all. What it does, as I mentioned, is to shift the powerband up/down your RPM range. So you shift them to your liking. For max HP output, of course the powerband will have to be shifted all the way UP your RPM. The problem is the excessive overlapping will make your low end suck. =p

How to know the valves won't hit the pistons? Turn your crank till your pistons are all the way up, then leave that and adjust your campulleys, and see what is the max degree u can turn to. Then you plus/minus a bit because the valves take time to bounce back up. =p
But anyway, the HP usually starts dropping before that happens... so its unlikely for it to happen. =)

so it is better to just maintain both cams and try and fine the right setting for my liking..mmm.
coz ive seen/read some cars mixing cams, usually higher for exhaust and lower for ntake..but this are all 260++ degree till 280++.... so,was wondering if implies to 91 and 93 cams... but thanks 4 ya explanation A24...

usually for NA car .. some people like ti use higher degree in intake .. but depends on the engine setting. me use same degree , 272/272 =p .. now feel like upgrading to JUN .. hehehe. anybody want my matspeed?? hehehe .. just kidding =)