4G91 Gang..

alvin24 said:
V6 mivec suck lah... not powerful at all wan... my friend's B16A oso tapau-ed at least 2 of them... 1 of them which used to be quite famous wan... the fella straight exhaust piping only... friggin noisy... maybe that's the one u saw??

v6 mivec the sound quite nice. i heard before. not the straight piping wan, i think follow back original rountine kua... but power vice, heard that it is really not so powerful as people expect it to be... but i never try before...

that day in kepong, i saw a wira, with v6 inside. i think it is the 1.6 v6... freaking tight inside the engine bay, i think want to change timing belt also have to take out the whole engine.... don know la. i simply guess only.:shades_smile:

haha...now i'm confius what to do....change to 4g92 or 4g93 cams....some said 92 is better?aiyoo...alvin taikor and others sifu's...which is better? if used metal gasket..can use double aah?means 0.4mm+0.4mm...should it be a problems?
the situation is like this
4g91 head(not skimms since it's still okay) fitted with 4G92 @ 4G93 cams+ 0.8mm metal gasket...would be a problems?leaking?

again...issit the 4G93T cams can fit in our 91' head?or izzit the lifting to high so doesn't suitable our head since it will be hitting on piston..?hehe just some crazy thought :Þ

bro ijoe..give us the updated mod of ur car...how's ur MIVEC91'...i'm very axious to know..hehe :Þ

hehe today got interesting news...where our petronas got new formula where is they called it primax 3...hope the addictive formula sinar-05 can give advantages on our engines...and hope2fully the price not going up...better keeps their promise as they said lah.. :Þ

drag_on,
can see u confusing yourself with a lotta things. =Þ
Actually in my honest opinion, i somehow don't think any of the internals would come into contact with each other. Then again i never tried... but it just seems meaningless for the engineers to give so small tolerance. There should be more space than that.

Stock paper gaskets are 0.8mm... and once u screw them on, they get compressed to 0.5-0.6mm like that... if u put 0.8mm metal gasket... u're pretty much lowering your compression... and why in the world would anyone wanna do that on an n/a engine ?!?!

milo,
actually, in my opinion... 6A10 is the stupidest engine ever to have in a wira/satria chassis.

thanks alvin with ur great opinion..anyway...difference tolerance also effect the performance rite...okay then...when using metal gasket 0.4mm..sure be difference the torque used rite?normally paper gasket for 4g91 is 75Nm on torque ranch..so any ideas for metal gasket?
some times feel kinda stupid askin unreasonable question...but still its annoying in my mind...sorry to make this happen...hehe i'm also newbies what...

drag on...dun confused with urself to much...as like last time i also get confused by the opinion given by all the bro n sifu here...so...wat i did is some i follow their advice...some i try it out n judge myself..some pple say 93 cam better some say 92 better...so i decided to go for 92cam...power wise i dont know cuz i nv test on 93 cam b4...

u can always try something out n let us know...ahha or in other word...be the white mouse..

alvin24 said:
drag_on,
can see u confusing yourself with a lotta things. =Þ
Actually in my honest opinion, i somehow don't think any of the internals would come into contact with each other. Then again i never tried... but it just seems meaningless for the engineers to give so small tolerance. There should be more space than that.

Stock paper gaskets are 0.8mm... and once u screw them on, they get compressed to 0.5-0.6mm like that... if u put 0.8mm metal gasket... u're pretty much lowering your compression... and why in the world would anyone wanna do that on an n/a engine ?!?!

milo,
actually, in my opinion... 6A10 is the stupidest engine ever to have in a wira/satria chassis.

drag_on, my suggestion is that, as long as u don skim ur head, then anything u will be fine, won kena so easily wan la. don worry. just don skim the head then it should be good.

about the metal gasket, what alvin taiko say is true. putting two metal gasket together is meaningless because the normal gasket also give u a higher compression already if u do that. about cams, it is really hard to make commet u know. it is all up to ur driving style and how u wanna fee the power. like lampakia taiko say, be a white mouse and try it out ur self so that u won be so confused. like me, i used to use 4g93 cams, but eventually i changed back to stock 4g91 because i want more low end power.

about 6a10, yeah, in my opinion, i think it is really like what alvin taiko say... simply can not find a point to put it in wira/satria chasis. quietness maybe? not my cup of tea though.

lampakia said:
drag on...dun confused with urself to much...as like last time i also get confused by the opinion given by all the bro n sifu here...so...wat i did is some i follow their advice...some i try it out n judge myself..some pple say 93 cam better some say 92 better...so i decided to go for 92cam...power wise i dont know cuz i nv test on 93 cam b4...

u can always try something out n let us know...ahha or in other word...be the white mouse..

lampakia taiko, again u are here at such a early time... nite ghost indeed

actually all the 92,93 and 93T cam can be install on 91 engine...but the 93 cam lift is higher then 93T and the 92 lift is lower then 91 but the duration is longer then the rest. best choise i think is still 93 cam...

bro milo...dun u not using ur cam anymore ah/ sell to me la...i wan to try..ehhee

Actually if u ask me... i choose the believe the 92 and 93 cams should have very slight difference if any at all... reason being they both have the same rev limiter... so their powerband should be set to be around the same lah. =Þ

Plus i don't think so it gives negative effects to the high end or low end that much... the cams lifts are higher, duration i don't think so changes much... so by right they should give an overall better performance for both low and high ends (and mid oso la of course)... its the duration that changes the low, mid or high end characteristics... not the lifts by itself (though higher lifts usually come accompanied with longer duration as well).

milo said:
v6 mivec the sound quite nice. i heard before. not the straight piping wan, i think follow back original rountine kua... but power vice, heard that it is really not so powerful as people expect it to be... but i never try before...

that day in kepong, i saw a wira, with v6 inside. i think it is the 1.6 v6... freaking tight inside the engine bay, i think want to change timing belt also have to take out the whole engine.... don know la. i simply guess only.:shades_smile:

my mech's bro's car is v6 1.6 on wira... then during engine convertion got 1 2.0 v6 engine.. so he swap the 2 litre block n head into his... now his car is 2 v6 2.0 on wira... the sound is like a fierce dog.... damn nice... the thg abt v6 is pickup damn teruk lar... but the top really cun... 180 also still steady... shud ride to feel the xperience... hiway cuising damn shock lar...

i'v also seen a satria wit v6TT in it... its a show car.. damn compact.. saw it at my frens shop ST fibre.. doing sum extreme bodykit for autoshow... really crazy....

bro alvin can u explain more on the cam duration thing that change the cam's characteristics?

guys, actually 4G93T cam height is as same as with 4G91 cam, the only different is at cam duration setting.

pls refer to 4G9x series engine manual.

V6 mivec will not give u a loud sound when hi cam kick in due to engine configaration.
Furthermore, V6engine is heavy, so interm of power to weight, it will loose to 92 mivec,of coz vtec also.

lampakia said:
bro alvin can u explain more on the cam duration thing that change the cam's characteristics?
cam characteristics as i know,

higher lift will open the valves higher thus enabling more air into the chamber during intake and easier expel of exhaust gas during exhaust.

longer duration will let the valves open longer thus enabling more gas into the chamber and also easier expel of exhaust gas.

There is another thing, the cam overlap which is opening of intake valve before closing of exhaust valves, overlap will also assist gas movement into combustion chamber through effect of lower pressure from exhaust gas moving out to suck in the intake gas into the chamber. having higher duration will result to also increased in overlap..

However having more overlap is not necessarily better as at low rpm, the intake gases tend to escape through the exhaust opening thus reducing combustible gas in the chamber which also result to rough idling and sucks low end power.

this is my understanding anyway, maybe u can check howstuffworks to understand better.

boyzone,
4G93 cams have higher lift compared to 4g91... by at least 0.5-0.9mm. Confirm. Coz' i measured them with my own bare hands.
V6 mivec won't lose to a 4g92 mivec... V6 mivecs are damn fast, i'm just giving comparison with vtecs... that no matter how fast mitsu mivecs are, still lose to a vtec.

lampakia,
tajulsans explained quite briefly whut higher cam lift does, and what longer duration does. =Þ The main thing that shifts your powerband up and down your RPM is the amount of overlapping thats being set. Longer duration cams have longer overlapping period. The effect of overlapping has also been briefly explained my tajul. =Þ Try search the net for more reading.

bro...can u guys tell me how much ur mech charge to install ur metal gasket n cam pully? i juz wanna know roughly how much it cost...cuz some charge me 500 some 250..

thanks to all's sifu here...yet understand the concept...now i'll go for 93' cams...with this understanding...then it is quite useless for us to add adjustable campulleys since the cam already pre-setting to manufactured?so there is no win-win situation...am i rite?or the adjustable campulley use for ppl who have itchy hands to modd the power bands or other words(racing purpose)?