4G67 block and evo stuff....

Trinityblood

Dear all the turbo sifus...need u`ll advise to make this become reality to my car...currently running with the gti stock engine and i`ve been thingking bout this since the 4G63 strictly prohibited to the other proton xcept perdana nowdays...my plan is to buy evo half cut and put it into 4G67 block...i need to know the prod and cons....?and is it going to cause me trouble in the future since its `barang rojak`....help me...

1st thing important... u cannot boost high using 4g67 block... 4g67 is jz a 1.8L NA engine... not meant for forced induction geh.... unless u change internal parts to forged items lor...

as for others... i guess its ok... since 4g67 and 4g63 comes from similar family.... make sure u tune ur fuel mapping and ignition well...

1st thing important... u cannot boost high using 4g67 block... 4g67 is jz a 1.8L NA engine... not meant for forced induction geh.... unless u change internal parts to forged items lor...

as for others... i guess its ok... since 4g67 and 4g63 comes from similar family.... make sure u tune ur fuel mapping and ignition well...

hmm , u dont need to change anything to forge, just take ur vr4 piston and shove it into the block thats all , vr4 and 4g67 conrod and crank is the same , wht did u mean by tht n/a block wouldnt take the beating :D hehe

trinity u r too lazy to use the search button , this topic has been discussed too many times that everyone is even lazy to reply you

ops....may bad2....thanks for the simple reply by both of you bro...will consider that,btw my foreman say juz like jinkl state above...will rebore my 4g67 n put the evo piston....hopefully will works...

will work lah... tarak problem... i've been running that setup for ages, not a single problem till today... if got problem also everything else but the engine itself lar... like lately my thermostat just died. HAHAHA... =p

Just remember to drop in the right choice of pistons, and you're good to go. The 4G67 is just as good as the VR4 block to torture... design is almost exactly the same, even water jacket placements are the same, which is why the rebore isn't gonna hurt the reliability.
Popular piston choices are evo, VR4, SR20 and fairlady pistons. Wouldn't really commend evo pistons lar, coz' they're high compression, unless u're not planning to build a monster, just wanna drop in a stock evo and drive it (yeah rite, like thats gonna happen).
But if u ask me... since aledi gonna rebore, bagi only bigger pistons, not like u're gonna pay more for a bigger hole also... so might as well lah. =p I'm running on SR20 ones... not a single problem.

Ask jinkl lar... he memang knows me from even before I did my transplant. =p

i have evo 3 blok wif 4G67 custom form (already punch)..
intrested? pm me...

fstrader , i know u , but i dunno alvin laa, bt i saw a silver car pass by me, then i saw the sticker, woah alvin24 :D

wahlau... which silver car go paste my nick as sticker ah?!?!?

thanks for the all usefull idea budy...so far im working for the mechine that i can drove every day..means i put the e3 piston...soon will rebuild it to be more fast...as u`ll said put sr20 black top piston,fairlady and so on..
alvin24...yup i definitely agree wif u..coz by the time i saw the 67 silinder wall, there is more space to bore,86mm,87mm also can..as u said this block strong as the vr4.. lucky,and also the conneting rod as big as the vr4 rod (bonus)...sume more the allen key head skru also a bit bigger...(correct me if im wrong) can lock it wif more torque..(torque range) like 80,90,100kg...hehe.
soon my silver drive will on the road legally...

WAHLAU... E3 pistons... u know there's a reason after evo3 that mitsu lower back down the compression man.... E3 pistons too high compression... you better be extra careful weih. Jinkl will tell u story of engine blowings... LoL... blowings, as in more than once! =p hahaha

Would still suggest you use other pistons. That way your evo block u dun need to open up remove anything at all... some halfcut shops accept back trade in punya, like for me I managed to trade in back to the place i buy my halfcut for 1k. =p (wanna get good deals like this shuold've negotiated before buying the halfcut! If u pay money adi, they won't accept that high trade in wan)

You might wanna start sourcing for VR4 oil cooler adapter too, that way you can use back the eVO oil cooler (evo bracket diff). Then I assume u already know the flywheel hav to use VR4 punya as well. VR4 6-hole, evo 7-hole (or terbalik leh?). Clutch same same.... unless u buy like twin plate clutch that come with flywheel together, then gotta be VR4 specific.

My drive i've been driving it like forever like I said... and I use it as my everyday car... and I drive around A LOT. Imagine my petrol bill monthly is 800-1000 bucks. =p But these dayz I'm overseas alot... so my car seldom drive adi. =p

huhu...said to hear that la bro...the E3 piston already nesting nicely inside my 4g67.anyway i gust you comment is correct no wonder by the time i bought the e3 halfcut my foreman disagree...he said e3(manja)anywhere,my silver bullet already on the road..so if anything happen in the future thats my luck la...will change to the strong one...dude...i wonder is it the Vr4 oil pump we can put into the 67 block?becoz me foreman use oil adapter to make the oil cooler working...and using mazda oil filter(shorter)..if can thats mean i have to find the vr4 oil pump and put it in...is it PNP?or need some adjustment?
anyway the vr4 flywheel already in...oil sump also need to change to vr4...last but not least...got people come to me and say...my project didnt go anyway..he said better punch the block...coz if we using the 67...it is already down gred...means tak power la....tension la bro...huhu...

The person who tell u E3 use 67 block is a downgrade obviously doesn't drive an evo. =p

VR4 block is much stronger than the evo block... I'd consider it an upgrade. =p A lot of E1-3 owners wanna go for max power already changed to VR4 block. Jinkl will tell u how many evo engine blows it takes for u to learn that VR4 block is considered an upgrade. LoL. =p

4G67 same as VR4... =p

As for the oil cooler... wat your mech did is enuff... as i mentioned above, use the VR4 oil adaptor kautim. =p Just the adaptor different only. As for oil sump, shouldn't it come with the block? lol

alvin u keep mentioning bout me blowing engine , dnt laaa , my heart feel very bad for breaking them lolx

Trinityblood , this the thing
e3 pistons are good , high compression , but bare in mind , do not boost high , high boost + high compression needs something very important together with that , yes u can , if u can spend 3-4k per month for petrol :D , and not normal petrol , high compression + turbo high boost requires high octane fuel , RON100 and above i guess , even vpower is nothing , u will blow the engine due to Knocking and predetonation.

most to most boost 1.2bar to be in the safe side and make sure u have a metal gasket to lower the compression a little bit.

evo 1,2,4,5,6,7,8 piston compression is the best of both world , not too low like vr4 and not too high like evo3

if u put a 67 errr only reason to change to vr4 oil sump would be the turbo oil return hole, other than that errr wht for bro ?

alvin24,
im very happy for that reply...as u mention im already upgrading my block le is it?..(hehehe juz nice).oh ok...i`ll stay wif my oil adapter then as for now.vr4 oil sump got hole to the oil return juz like jinkl mention above...ori 67 doesnt hav it...if we stay wif the stock have to modify lor....
Jinkl...i wonder last time u upgrade u turbo at tong turbo rite? 18g or 20g?...will consider that in te future....ops...wonder 1.2 bar using standard fuel reg and fuel pump can ar?...or need to change to the after market one?
btw guz thank for the all infomation..

alvin24,
im very happy for that reply...as u mention im already upgrading my block le is it?..(hehehe juz nice).oh ok...i`ll stay wif my oil adapter then as for now.vr4 oil sump got hole to the oil return juz like jinkl mention above...ori 67 doesnt hav it...if we stay wif the stock have to modify lor....
Jinkl...i wonder last time u upgrade u turbo at tong turbo rite? 18g or 20g?...will consider that in te future....ops...wonder 1.2 bar using standard fuel reg and fuel pump can ar?...or need to change to the after market one?
btw guz thank for the all infomation..
i guess with garrett 46trim fin or 50trim fin , the standard fuel regulator , fuel pump has to be upgraded for ur safety

yaya...will upgrade soon bro...btw thanks a lot for the advise...hehehe

hi! does any one know what is the weight difference of 4G67 & 4G63 engine block? can the bore 4G67 with E3 head runs on original E3 ECU?

bout the weight im not sure...however bout the bore and head e3 sure no problem...i drove one under my hood...try it bro....wont regret.

at last, all the messed up is over...
but sadly half of the forum pages is gone..