4AGE 16V Performance comparison...

if u r confirm that ur LSD is racing type then it's normal lah to have such noise. Mine is street use 1 using so-called clutch type 1 so no noise loh.... correct me if i m wrong ya.... :) :)

How your ae86 suspension.. mine a bit bumpy.... so very unstable at high speed above 100kph...

sometime normal mech also donno,1st they said wheel bearing,2nd they said gearbox bearing,3rd they said lsd.actually wat coz the sound till now donno,so need to ask sifu2 from their experience whether they got these prob or not..

if it sounds 'eeee' continously,most probabbly its the bearing,if its sounds 'click click' periodically,it comes from something rotating,if the sound comes only during acceleration,most probably it comes from the gear noise (ring gear and pinion meshing together).. ;)

Originally posted by e39a@Feb 23 2005, 23:02
what shocks n springs r u using?
Front.. ae86 abs & spring.. rear.. ae86 spring & my old abs gas type (my mech said it is from bmw abs)...

Originally posted by cuscostrutbrace@Feb 24 2005, 07:56
if it sounds 'eeee' continously,most probabbly its the bearing,if its sounds 'click click' periodically,it comes from something rotating,if the sound comes only during acceleration,most probably it comes from the gear noise (ring gear and pinion meshing together).. ;)
mine.."eeeeee" sound comes everutime I accelerate...and "klick click" sound everytime I turn hard at corner + accelerate... so both sound appear everytime i accelerate only.... also dunno why.. but the sound confirm came from behind .. lsd for sure...

Hhmmmm i think Ken's questions needs to be answered by our beloved Sifusssss lah.... mana all the sifussss lah......

As far as i know,even race LSD for ae86 are all from clutch type,and normally clutch does not make clicking sounds,furthermore its immersed in axle oil and by right,the sound should'nt be really loud.my LSd also have that 'eeee' sound when accelerate,but its too little,u have to sit at the back and put your ear at the back seat to really hear it...when turning a tight corner+accelerating,i can hear the tyre claws for grip only,no clicking sound..its rather a mystery,why dont u pull out your LSD and check it out,if u have money and time laa..

hhmmmm..... if it's using clucth type 1 then Ken u have to check check liao lah ur LSD... Might be something wrong there man....

tq guys for the kind info.. actually I'm still waiting for the chop shop taukey coming back from japan. and will have a few words with him about it... i will ask for a replacement... my mech said .. the lsd is behave abnormal..due tu full load and use for track racing... so for now need to turn on my stereo loud a bit....

Today.. fix rear suspension problem... add thick rubber at the top of coil spring... now the tyre did not scratch fender anymore and the riding comfort improve.. temporary relief only... :lol: ...

Chin.. your site is very informative laaa... read few times on suspension.. so found the cheapest solution... :D

Originally posted by kenlevin86@Feb 28 2005, 19:18
Today.. fix rear suspension problem... add thick rubber at the top of coil spring... now the tyre did not scratch fender anymore and the riding comfort improve.. temporary relief only... :lol: ...
yeah temporary relief... mine also hit the wheel arc and i raise it by an inch so it won't hit.. and have one hell of a drifting experience when it start to rain :ph34r:

from my experience its easier to oversteer. my friend warn me that my car might not balance that well, i dun listen, until i get it :lol: just normal breaking into a corner and the tail slides

Rollakid.. waht can I say. that is the cheapest way.. but I'm using rubber from GSR.. so today I found out that the rear coil spring was cut 1 or 2 round.. so for now can feel the gas abs work okey when the riding is higer 1bout 1.5" .....

I also have 1 drifting experience during rainingyesterday.. my rpm hit 6K at 1st gear.. so for now will avoid 1st gear at high rpm.. wqll only use it when needed only...

So after this need to slowly upgrade my ca suspension...

Originally posted by rollakid@Feb 28 2005, 19:30
from my experience its easier to oversteer. my friend warn me that my car might not balance that well, i dun listen, until i get it :lol: just normal breaking into a corner and the tail slides
Hahhah I also learn the hard way, finally http://www.titansuspension.com :) muah hahah aha ha

At the moment I'm using

360 psi / 3 inches front

300 psi / 3 inches front

My own calculation is

4 kg/mm front with 3.3 kg/mm rear

This setup induce some oversteer - not good for high speed driving :(

One day I will go back to reduce the rear to 3 kg/mm

But before that ...... assuming I upgrade ultra racing bars all over the car ..... and get ultra racing company to custom make thicker front and rear ARB, then the suspension spring rate might need to change ???

may be lucky might not need to change ???

also if strengthen body, may be better, no need to change suspension.

I know my chassis very weak already, this year must do up, no choice .....

Latest update...

Test on fuel consumption.. now getting better and better... I got 11.4km/L (means 1 litre of petrol can go up to 11.4km)....

Change rear spring with another ae86 rear spring.. dunno which brand but blue in color and I think it sport spring... no cut out.. about 1" longer than previous one.. add ke70 rear spring rubber 1" thick to both side... test drive... really good than previous.. my rear gas abs work ok with new spring... less body roll....

Went to Nilai for search of top speed... but only manage to go to 150kph with fifth gear at around 4K ++ rpm.. the car look stable but a bit diificult to control....noisy as wind came in from front... turn off aircond and open both front windows.. more stable and controlable.. now can feel different between the fron and rear suspension.. rear one are okey .. front one a bit soft and rebound... make me very careful when taking corner.... very scare one laa....

I asked one of sparepart shop about the new absorber for ae86.. he said got one at RM140 perpcs but normal abs only.. no soft hard adjustable... dunno what brand... is the price reasonable??