20V plug cable comparison

then we should make a test similiar to this...

ts1.jpg

found it months ago...

if i'm not mistaken the person, testing a spark plug wire with different setting of plug gap, RPM range and brightness of the spark...with a few different spark plug manufacture Nology, original Toyota and others...

will put the source if i manage to find back the link...

I have no info abt NOLOGY...
NGK is good. I just bought one for my wife's Kancil and the resistance is only half of stock's. NGK Power that recently intro in the mkt is even better, claim to meet less than 1k ohm per meter at stock standard diameter! Any one has it please share share the info.
There are fews ULTRA in the mkt. The one i am posted here is from ULTRA Japan. Local made ULTRA has different name behind, and ofcourse diff resistance.
The lower the resistance, the lesse the energy dissipated on the wires, thus the more power delivered to the s.plug. But when lower down the resistance, the EMI will tends to increase and will cause inteference to your Radio or even ECU. Thus, high quality of wire's insulator is necessary when lower down the cable's resistance. This explain why those after mkt cable has thicker body.
Bigger spark will burnt out the A/F mixture in a shorter time thus create higher energy. It will not lead to lean combustion. ECU may do some fine adjustment on the A/F or IG timing after reading the result from the O2 sensor (optimisation).
You can find ULTRA (Japan) and NGK Power Plug Cable from N1 Racing at Sunway. Last visit (1 month ago) they are running out of stock for ULTRA for 20V.

Happy Piggy Year !!

Newly added:

< HOTSOT Double Extruded Silicon Cable (8mm) Made in Australia - RM?? >
Coil to Dist - 4.55k

Cable (1) n/a
Cable (2) n/a
Cable (3) n/a
Cable (4) n/a

didn't know ultra japan good.....i thought it was cheap cable....
got it with my svt half cut....

The lower the resistance, the lesse the energy dissipated on the wires, thus the more power delivered to the s.plug. But when lower down the resistance, the EMI will tends to increase and will cause inteference to your Radio or even ECU. Thus, high quality of wire's insulator is necessary when lower down the cable's resistance. This explain why those after mkt cable has thicker body.

I'm Using NGK for my 20v svt, no wonder sometime high rev while let go the pedal can heard the electronic sound come out from my power window switch. got sound like " weirrr....eerryyiii " ......

So better keep my NGK plug cable, don't waste $$ change ultra liao..ahah..:regular_smile: :regular_smile:

The cable should have "ULTRA Silicon Power Plug Wire 7mm Made in Japan" lettering. Anything diff is not genuine ULTRA from Japan.

ur info very accurate lor sifu levin818....very much appreciated..

yaya.. useful info la.. levin818

thanks for sharing..

any1 know NGk cable for 20 V running at wat price at the market...

yaya.. useful info la.. levin818

thanks for sharing..

any1 know NGk cable for 20 V running at wat price at the market...

If new set about RM350 kuar.... recond set about RM200-250. Just est price only.:regular_smile: :regular_smile:

The cable should have "ULTRA Silicon Power Plug Wire 7mm Made in Japan" lettering. Anything diff is not genuine ULTRA from Japan.

mine one get from chop shop condition but w/o the letter "made in japan" means it is fake one??? shit lar....being cheated liao....:angry_smile:

but i hv measured the resistance of the ULTRA...the readings r very low resistant as compared to my previous Splifire...so...

NGK Power Plug Cable (that better than NGK Plug Cable) is price at RM370/set at N1. It claims to achieved resistance below 1k ohm per meter.
If it is true, then coil-distributer cable's (~45cm) resistance should be around 1k x 45/100 = 0.45k ohm ler.

Sifoo wong, i check the ultra plug cable printed " Ultra Power Silicone Ignition Wire 7mm made in japan " is this from Japan. Find it at half cut shop. But didn't take it.

About the NGK Power Cable, did u have any info for 20v for Plug cable 1, 2, 3, 4??.......let's say the shorter one length is less than 15cm mean only got 1k x 15/100 = 0.15k ohm??? calculate like that can arr???.....

Ngk Power Cable Ohms Result

Some of you might want to find out which plug cable deliver best performance for 20V. Following table shows the resistance value of few after market cables that i had measured by using DMM. Perhaps it can give you some idea on how it's performance looks like.

< STOCK (5mm) - RM300 >
Coil to Dist - n/a
Cable (1) 5.16k
Cable (2) 5.90k
Cable (3) 7.50k
Cable (4) 8.12k

< TRD (5mm) - RM450 >
Coil to Dist - 7.75k
Cable (1) 4.20k
Cable (2) n/a
Cable (3) n/a
Cable (4) 8.40k

< ULTRA Silicon Power Plug Wire (7mm) Made in Japan - RM450 >
Coil to Dist - 0.99k
Cable (1) 1.98k
Cable (2) 1.98k
Cable (3) 1.98k
Cable (4) 1.98k

< SPLITFIRE TWINCORE (10mm??) - RM?? >
Coil to Dist - 0.35k
Cable (1) 0.35k
Cable (2) 0.45k
Cable (3) 0.28k
Cable (4) 0.39k

< HOTSOT Double Extruded Silicon Cable (8mm) Made in Australia - RM?? >
Coil to Dist - 4.55k
Cable (1) n/a
Cable (2) n/a
Cable (3) n/a
Cable (4) n/a

Suprisingly, TRD cable has very close resistance value to stock cables, which mean its performance also very close to stock's, theoritically. ULTRA has very consistance resistance value from Cable (1) ~ (4), that allow it to delivery similar ignotion power to 4 piston. And, Splitfire Twincore has an unbeatable low resistance value - par in performance.

I come back and test the ohms with digital multi meter DMM. Find that the NGK POWER CABLE result make me shock. Also i test my friend's ULTRA POWER SILICONE the result same as Levin818 result.

It was right that the NGK POWER CABLE resistance below 1k ohm per meter, about 270 ohms per foot.

< NGK POWER CABLE (5mm) RM370>

Coil to Dist - 0.37k Ohm
Cable (1) 0.40k Ohm
Cable (2) 0.34k Ohm
Cable (3) 0.30k Ohm
Cable (4) 0.21k Ohm

So instead of finding the Splitfire plug cable or ULTRA POWER SILICONE, just go for NGK POWER CABLE

PULL OFF~~~~~:Not_Impressed:

Alamak... it mean my ULTRA will not have third hand value anymore!!!
NGK POWER CABLE added into the list.

Alamak... it mean my ULTRA will not have third hand value anymore!!!
NGK POWER CABLE added into the list.

Aiyrr...still got value bro wong sifoo..... at least their resistance for each plug is same mar....good also too. Just don't have the nology resistance don't know how much it is...ai......