Lennon - how you doing? been a while. my beagle is on a diet now she needs to loose 3 more kg's. we have 3 dogs at home now and 1 being 65kg no jokes
are you planning to put them on diet? excess weight is really bad especially as they age coz it causes earlier onset of athritis. Are all your beagles lemons?
Dave, i am relocating all my gauges. I took out my sound system and everything beneath it. I managed to put 4 gauges there and i need space for 2 more.I thought i can put it at the temp control and the one that we used to adjust the direction that it blows.But what i hear was the temp control cant be taken out or bypass or it might cause the air cond to freeze.
Do u have any idea or place to go about it. I really wish the temp control and the direction control can be removed as gauges there would look nice.I dun wan pillar mount nor dashboard.
heavenz- you can actually relocate the a/c controls to the centre console. This will obviously require cutting and repainting but it would look stock. Yup you cannot remove the a/c controls as it is used to regulate the system unless you do away with a/c, not in malaysia though.
lennon- sorry forgot to address your question. i used dry ice to help remove the original bitumen as i will be repainting the interior with POR15 then reinstalling new sound/heat dampeners.
asnenalboi-thanks. will post more next week when i get down and dirty with the wire wheel
I'm actually thinking of media blasting the car to bare metal and repaiting her so will keep all posted.
CB- our chasis is quite stiff already. Welding is a good idea but i did notice 1 thing though, the enforced body parts have somehow started/already separated from the floor pan etc. i'm guessing the age as well as heat to be the main cause. Welding would be great if you can find someone experienced because it causes warping. Roll cage is your friend but i hate having to do the "limbo rock" when getting in and out of the car
wonder which point to weld... these car needs spot welding...
it's gonna be tedius... stripping all the interiors just like yours... and then do the spot welding.... night mare... for me la...
Relocating the air condswitches seems to be a very good idea but i wonder who can do all the cutting and rewiring. Seems to me its quite complicated as the switches wire all need to be extend.
So much to be done just to add another 2 gauges.Worth it or not?
I have the pillar and its still there now. I will be removing them today.
1st because it blocks the view and 2ndly i have move all the other 4 gauges to somewhere hardly visible and i wanted to remove this two as well to prevent changing my window.Having headache where to locate them. Maybe should have exchange to 52 mm so that can fit in to our original meters.
true.... it's not that worth of time.. but then if u wanna relocate the it.. have to open up the air con console box and take out the variable resistance knob ... and permanently seal the air-con ducting so that you don't need to adjust the ducting to either ur legs or balls to cool them down...
then u have multiple holes to put ur meters...
my car's ductin doesn't work as i already reaplce with a totally different aircon...
i dun cool my balls as i drive or my legs. :P yeah it's hot down there....
yup i find the side pillar holder obstrusive especially with gloves on but i guess you get used to it. Also it is my line of sight so i like it as i dont have to take my eyes off the road to look at readings.
relocating the a/c control is not that hard but the fabrication then fitting will be a ball tearing event. if you're up to it i believe there couple of threads on the rx7forum.
i am in the process of removing the dash to replace the old harness with the new set i have so i can tell you now, any funny modification to the a/c itself is hardwork if you have to remove the dashboard each time.
Okay since its ball tearing and i dun have anyone to mend back my balls i rather stick to it. But I am going to remove the pillar mount as i dun want to have excitement wherever i park my car. Stupid mechanics ask me why i want to relocate them.I say i dun wan ppl to see. He answer me that u guys put these meters to show off also why not leave it there. I dont know how to talk to him anymore.
Just have to sacrifice my ext temp and fuel pressure. Fuel pressure i dont think its quite useful but ext temp really play a role when u thrash it on 5th gear.
heavenz - good luck. another idea is to mount the meters in the passenger side of the dashboard. that'll be easier coz you're not relocating anything. you can even have them angled towards you.
about meters, trust me, when people are intent on stealing, the meters can be installed under the dash also will get stolen.
Dun worry phat, if our meters got stolen i know where to find replacement. Jz bring our helmets and glove. It will be done in no less than2 minutes. I know a car that have all the replacement.