2.0 Engine recommendation for lx80 mark ii

hi guys, my current car is 1991 toyota mark ii lx80 2LT 2.5cc diesel...

its underpowered and I want to swap to a 2.0cc engine...dont want 1jz cuz road tax mahal and drink fuel

I am looking for a 2.0c.c FR lay out engine thats suit my mark ii

- provide decent performance
- low to normal fuel consumption
- cheap and widely available

I live in Sabah so any member from Sabah can intro :)

currently thinking of 1G-GE or 1G-GTE, hows the fuel consumption? any other recommendation?

• images.jpg
    images.jpg
    9 KB · Views: 414
Mostly will go for 1J ...
Or for more crazy for power...go for 1UZ...ngehhh...
3S a bit difficult ...cuz LZ80 is a RWD car...

best bet would be sr20det or ca18det if on budget but JPJ will be harder to do..

from a current 1GT user in a lx body, let me tell u, I regret not putting in the 1J / 2J instead. sure the roadtax is cheaper by half but the pick up, power and gear ratio is much better on the 1J. with the 1G its always underpowered as the lx body is heavy. The FC is about rm 75 (Ron 95) to 350km +- city and hw driving. Mind you im driving a Manual trans. With auto expect ard 300 odd km. I know the 1J will give u better mileage. cheers

agreed with SideWaysGrey ...

if you put smaller engine into a heavy chassis...fuel consumption will increase...

it's about power to weight ratio...

3SGE Altezza...RWD..6MT

- provide decent performance --> not bad..210hp...heavy body, but can compensate with the power
- low to normal fuel consumption --> normal fuel consumption...60litre tank lightly modded 3SGE can go 400km+-.....normal can go 450-480km+-
- cheap and widely available --> affordable, easy to source for parts (can order if no stocks)

1jz-GTE parts not too rare... 1g initial start up cost is cheaper, but not sure on parts availability after that. Because most people go for 1j. Lots of parts.

if i'm not mistaken sabah & sarawak roadtax is much cheaper than semenanjung....over here we r paying RM891 roadtax for 1JZ.....over there should be around RM500 only right....cheaper than here.....i know supra 2JZ in kch only paying RM1,1XX n we here pay RM2,1XX for roadtax a year.....

Yes fc is a bit high for 1JZ but when u feel the power, u dun mind paying for it......other option is 1GGTE or 1GGZE or 1GFE but not easy to source for parts & it's too old

Plus...1JZ sound much more "sexy" then 1G or even Nissan's RB engine...

auto is fine. jst install a SAFC2 and tune it well. You will get good mileage on it. When the chance appears, get a manual gbox and make way for some serious fun !