1997 Proton M21

shale

Hi

(bear with me please, im not very engine literate)

I own a 1997 Proton M21 Coupe. :)

I'd like to turbocharge it. It apparently has the same engine as the Satria (4g93P)
I've been told that the GSR Lancer engine is almost the same, which would mean i could buy second hand GSR parts and install them on my M21 without too much difficulty. (second hand parts would be all i could afford :P ) I already have a turbo, i would just need to know what else i would need to buy and install so that my engine doesnt blow up the first time i turn the key :D

I would really appreciate some help, as i said before im not very engine wise so if you could help me that would be awse! cheers :lol:

you have to lower the compression, get a turbo manifold that fits your turbine, maybe some engine management. intercooler. piping. what else?

You can derive the turbo bits from a 4G93T GSR, but you need to run a very low boost application. This preserves the engine. Better bet would be a whole transplant. Saves the hassle.

If you do choose the bolt-on option, strengthen the internals! :)

r u from UK?? wow how come over there our malaysian cars r so 'stylishly' named?? hehe an m21 coupe?? sounds nice when u tell people u drive an m21 coupe!

hahaha,

nah im from Australia.

bit hard to find too much help from the australian market as there isnt too much on offer down here. so thats whyt i came to this forum for help :D

hahaha u know guys in Taiwan Satria is call Proton Agogo :) ahahah

dont beleive go to this website a taiwan ppl put in Evo 7 engine enside Satria (Agogo)

http://www.carnews.com.tw/option/option_detail.asp?Article_No=00000687&UnitId=0101

Originally posted by shale@Feb 11 2005, 15:53
hahaha,

nah im from Australia.

bit hard to find too much help from the australian market as there isnt too much on offer down here. so thats whyt i came to this forum for help :D
actually shale,

you should have a look at http://www.rpw.com.au. They are an experienced and reputable tuner for Mitsu-based engines including Proton, based in Australia.

M21 is the codename for the Putra. M24 for the Satria.

Originally posted by abel@Feb 11 2005, 18:05

dont beleive go to this website a taiwan ppl put in Evo 7 engine enside Satria (Agogo)

http://www.carnews.com.tw/option/option_detail.asp?Article_No=00000687&UnitId=0101
haha..Rainey, the TW mitsu sifu...they clamimed that conversion to be the first to have a engine mounted into opposite direction car (cam pulley n gearbox location), while in malaysia we already have this type of conversion long time ago...somemore Waja VR4 terbalik oso..:P

Originally posted by yiheng85+Feb 11 2005, 22:40 -->
QUOTE (yiheng85 @ Feb 11 2005, 22:40 )
--QuoteBegin-abel
@Feb 11 2005, 18:05

haha..Rainey, the TW mitsu sifu...they clamimed that conversion to be the first to have a engine mounted into opposite direction car (cam pulley n gearbox location), while in malaysia we already have this type of conversion long time ago...somemore Waja VR4 terbalik oso..:P [/b][/quote]
hahaha true even got ppl put Evo 4 engine inside WIRA :)