16inch Rubbing Problem

adrianlek

hi there!!

izit normal for ur rims (inner part) 2 slightly brush against d rear lower arm? i just changed to 16in n i can c its slightly rubbing against my rear lower arm.both sides.my car is not lowered.
new monroe reflex absorbers n stock springs.

any of u had this problem b4?
how u guys settle it?
sakit hati la cause just got new rims, n now sudah rubbing... :frown:

rims installed on a putra.
specs,
16x7jj
PCD100
Offset 45

tq :biggrin:

offset 45 ?
maybe thats the problem. should go for lower offset then.

say 38..

aisaey i already bought d rims ...
no $$$ to change again :frown:

its just rubbing slighty.no rubbing sound when moving.i think it rubs when d roads r uneven because d arm will move a lot then.
can i continue using it?
will it cause any adverse effects?

btw, wht is d offset n width for d wira SE rims?

nevermind just go to the shop and ask if possible to trade in..
not so sure what is the oem spec.
but rightfully 16'x7 shouldnt be a problem for wira/putra/sate..even the wira se also run 205 45 16 and no prob at all. not even touching the mudguard and bodyfender

i strongly feel its the offset, check with your shop lah.
maybe you can opt for 195 tyres.

to solve ur problem.. put spacer on your rear.

or...

sell/trade your rims with me...

hehe

try check isit toe in or toe out... maybe thats the problem

last time i used 17 x 7 offset 45 no problem with the lower arm,

menace said:
try check isit toe in or toe out... maybe thats the problem

last time i used 17 x 7 offset 45 no problem with the lower arm,

what car were u using?
funny lar my car kena n urs ok since we use same offset rims except urs 17 n mine 16.hmmm,what could b d problem....

huakenny said:
juz put two normal spacer to rear side...should be solved

if i put spacers,will my rear juttting out b noticable?
difficult 2 do allignmnet rite?
btw, what sizes does d spacers come in?
measurements in inches/cm/mm?
comes in a pair/1pc?
price?

tq

spacers are not that thick, but varies in sizes. about 3mm to 5mm maybe thicker. can try and change if problem persists. cheapest solution.

and i think what u meant was the trailing arm, not lower arm. lower arm arms (whether I shaped, or A or L shaped normally moves upwards and downwards.

trailing arm trails... he he if u know what i mean. :D

zan said:
and i think what u meant was the trailing arm, not lower arm. lower arm arms (whether I shaped, or A or L shaped normally moves upwards and downwards.

trailing arm trails... he he if u know what i mean. :D

yakar? heheh.i also dunno la.but that piece of thing looks like an arm so i just bantai lower arm :biggrin:
sorry if anybody confused.

dun really know how 2 explain but if u guyz got change rims b4 u'll know which arm i'm talkin about :smile:

bro Adrian,

i've seen a fren putting his 17" x 7jj on his GTi, with offset+45, using 205/40 tyres, & tats jus nice, but as his car has been lowered, he need to cut off the inner part of the arch.

while im using also 17" x 7jj, offset+48 (which is even inner than urs & his)on my Gti, with 205/45tyres (thicker than others, but bit more comfort) & car has not been lowered la. i've never heard any rubbing sound from rear.

If not mistaken, +45 offset is the best to suit into wira, putra, satrias.
is the monroe absorber different size comapre to OEM?

i no tat there're spacer with size 4mm & 8mm, which is around RM15 per pc at sunway. & i think adding up a 4mm spacer wudnt affect much of ur alignment.

cheers...

thanks 4 d info reedoor!
since u say ur GTi n ur frens GTi ok even when put 17s, it makes me wonder what d heck might b wrong with my car...
i'm using 205/45/16 n not lowered.
my absorbers r std i think.how do u determine if its a diff size?

i'll post pics of it later :biggrin:

maybe it's not ur lower arm, but instead ur fender might be the problem

16" x 7jj is kinda wide for a proton car, Wira SE is using 6.5jj if i'm not mistaken

I used a 15" x 7jj rim b4, and the tyres that i'm using is only 195/50/15....and i can see the tyres is around the fender's arch, so i can imagine the tyres scratching my fenders when the road is very uneven

and for yours is consider comfort settings, ur suspension might be soft thus it might hit ur fender, nothing much la bro, just go to the tyre shop and check out whether ur offset is suitable or not, no knowledge about offset though.

but somehow I might be wrong, wat I had suffered might not look for u, happy driving with ur new rims :D

if i use a spacer which is less than 10mm, do i need 2 change d wheel studs?what thickness do u guys recommend? will 4mm b enough?
tq

adrianlek said:
thanks 4 d info reedoor!
since u say ur GTi n ur frens GTi ok even when put 17s, it makes me wonder what d heck might b wrong with my car...
i'm using 205/45/16 n not lowered.
my absorbers r std i think.how do u determine if its a diff size?

i'll post pics of it later :biggrin:
No prob dude. i meant, is the diameter of ur new abs bigger than wat the OEM is?
Hmmm... i think for ur problem, u really need to find someone whose pro in this... :)
cheers...

reedoor said:
No prob dude. i meant, is the diameter of ur new abs bigger than wat the OEM is?
Hmmm... i think for ur problem, u really need to find someone whose pro in this... :)
cheers...

it looks pretty much OEM 2 me.
looks exactly d same size as d 1 i replaced(d 1 tht came with d car)

so, any suspension/rims expert around?
help pls :biggrin:

adrianlek said:
hi there!!

izit normal for ur rims (inner part) 2 slightly brush against d rear lower arm? i just changed to 16in n i can c its slightly rubbing against my rear lower arm.both sides.my car is not lowered.
new monroe reflex absorbers n stock springs.

any of u had this problem b4?
how u guys settle it?
sakit hati la cause just got new rims, n now sudah rubbing... :frown:

rims installed on a putra.
specs,
16x7jj
PCD100
Offset 45

tq
:biggrin:
Could you check your suspension geometry. All four camber and toe.
Possible you rear wheels has excessive toe-in that is why they are close to the trailing arm.

Most people would go for offset 38-40mm when changing to 7" width wheels.

GTI OE wheels are 6.5" with offset 46.

So adding another half inch but maintaining nearly the same offset will leave less clearence on the inside of the wheel.

faisal said:
Could you check your suspension geometry. All four camber and toe.
Possible you rear wheels has excessive toe-in that is why they are close to the trailing arm.

Most people would go for offset 38-40mm when changing to 7" width wheels.

GTI OE wheels are 6.5" with offset 46.

So adding another half inch but maintaining nearly the same offset will leave less clearence on the inside of the wheel.

thank u sifu faisal :biggrin:
d R3 expert has spoken!

so u mean 2 say i should set my wheels 2 toe-out more n negative camber?
how badly will this effect my threadwear?
izit advisable 2 use a spacer?say about 4mm?

tq :smile:

I'm saying you may wanna check your rear toe and camber. It could be off by a few mm, hence the rubbing. Honestly, I don't think people go for Toe OUT for the rear. Unless you want to spin every time you corner or lift off throttle mid-corner. haha

For the rear on a Satria, Wira, Putra, most people I know would have 0 toe or slight toe-in.

Generally the more toe you run (either in or out) the more excessive the tyre wear will be, Unless you rotate the tyres often.

Spacers are OK provided they aren't too thick. Remember when you put a 4mm spacer , that's 4mm less of stud thread for the wheelnuts to go on.

Ideally you could get those proper spacers that have built in studs. But they ain't cheap.

Write your reply...