0w-50 on K20A

Vagabond

Guys,

anybody tried using 0w-50 on their K20A (type-r)?

what does it feel like? i've heard some people say that they can really feel a difference, better response, smoother operation, etc.

any side-effects? heard some people say that due to the thinness of the oil, it dissipates much faster when the engine heats up, therefore requiring top-ups every 1000km or so, is it true?

other than Eneos , which other engine oil has 0w-50 grade?

feedback appreciated guys :)

Wah.. thick, and still got improvement? This one, I really don't know.

Hi ya,

Just sharing my experience.

Track car DC2 B18C-R engine
-------------------------------------
I used to use Castrol RS 10w60 in both my track dc2 and Gti, as it was the lube my mech have been using without problems on race as they give plenty of protection when hot and reduction of blow-by coz it is thick.

Last year when i was more active in short races i noted engine response not as good as other competitor :), hence tried to go for other options and honda japan recommends 0w30, 0w40, 5w30 and 5w40.

Last year we saw many affordable oil at 5w40 and my instinct was to give a different grade oil a try. Then BP 5w40 was the most affordable. The lighter oil really increase my engine respond significantly and now i'm stuck on 5w40 grade oil for short races and qualifying but still 10w60 for long practice and long races.

Since track car, i change oil so often i just went for something easily available at good prices. Oil that i had used in 5w40 are BP, BHP and Castrol Edge.

Oil that i want to test and used next would be the Torco Sr-1 and Sr-5 5w40.

Road Car K20A-R
----------------------
The lube that came with the car from Japan for breaking-in engine was very light. Don't know what grade but it should be mineral oil either 0w30 or 5w30. Used the oil for almost 1050km.

On the 1st service, i requested oil change which was not in the service schedule. Drain that japan oil out and it was cooked probably due to my hard driving after the 1000km. :) It was black like kopi O.

Since under warranty, i just told them to put in OEM full-syn 5w40. When they pour them into my engine, i could see that the oil is pretty thick for a 5w40 unlike other brands that i had used. It look more like a 10w40 or 5w50.

The moment i drove out of the center, i regretted it already. At lower revs, the engine is not as responsive as before and when ivtec engage it smooth but it does not have that hard push to the backseat. A little disappointed if you ask me.

When for HPC event and after 20 mins non-stop hard driving and back to pit, i could here my engine tappets considerably louder. hai.... Blow-by was minimal if you ask me. But have to used it to 5000km for my 2nd service.

I had a chat with some K20A friends (not malaysian) and they told me to try 0w40 Mobil 1 from USA and Torco Sr-1 5w40.

Since i'm getting the USA Mobil 1 at good prices, i gave it a try last week.

My engine respond at low revs is all back like how it should have been from Japan. The transition from low revs to ivtec is very smooth and ivtec surge is strong again and car pulls really smooth now to redline.

I have just used the oil for 200+km now so i can't really comment the lifespan, blow-by or how it is when it is hot. But at this point of time, i just like it considering the price i pay for.

On of my other friend with a K24/K20 EP3 is using the Torco SR-5 5w40 and he swears by it as he said his engine is revving much easier with lower oil temps.

If you need to get the Torco oils to try or the Mobil 0w40 i testing now just PM me.

Hope my long-winded story helped. haha...

chris, after u race with 0w30 or 5w30 will the oil level decrease due to blow by?

yeah, any oil reduction level while using a thinner oil ?

for the dc2, i used it only for short race. And everytime fresh oil before race.

If there is it is not significant on my dc2. Practice, qualifying, then heat one 15 lap race and heat two 15 lap race. Half track though.

for my road K20A, the OEM honda 5w40 blowby was minimal after 3 session of 20mins in HPC. Then i went for another sunday track day about 30mins. Then daily driven for 4000km. Only drop minimal and need top up very very little like just 150ml.

Now on 0w40, very much thinner, but only travelled less than 300km on it so can't really comment on it.

But i think if the engine is healthy and not smoking, the blow by should be minimal unless you whack it to rev cut all the time. :)

K20A-R's were BORNE to be whacked :)

Haha :banghead:

I asked my friend that were using 0w40. Hard driving everyday. vtec everyday. pass 7k rpm everyday.

he said need to top up about half small mineral bottle (about 250ml) at 3000+km.

So will keep you updated when i reach 2000-3000km. :driver:

definitely need to top up after 3000kms.

i am doing the same thing...

tomorrow, i'll post review of Eneos 0W-50 :)

hope to fukk it doesn't blow the K20 into half!

Guys:

My review: Eneos 0w-50

went for a full engine flush (Shell flushing oil), prior to the oil change, also changed the oil filter, and topped up with Lubeguard engine protectant.

and the results?

Ummmm....... slightly more responsiveness from the engine, it feels as if it wants to go forward (but with fresh engine oil change, most engines feel that way)

Not much difference in fuel consumption (previously using 10w-50)

...... other than that , not much difference. except for the price, of course :) bloody expensive.

however, one thing i noticed, in low rpm range of gear 1 (even with my clutch control), the revs do tend to dip below 1,000, therefore increasing the risk of mati engine. happened once already in the past 3 days.

anything else i should look out for? cause with this kind of price difference, i am kinda expecting better.

i've never tried the eneos 10w-50,

but the Eneos 0W-50 cost me RM 220 per 4 liter,
My car's engine capacity requires about 5.5 liters, so i bought 2 tubs at Rm440.

Know anywhere I can get better pricing at?

by the way mate, I'm the DC5-R driver which enquired regarding the super-pro and j's racing pipes, i'm still waiting your quote on the rear arm bushes :)

taiko,... white, three digit number plate, circling the penang town izzit? if yes, seen u a few times

nope, you've got the wrong guy.

the white DC5-R with black spoiler, INGS bumper, and toda sticker belongs to Faizal.

I'm the black one...... with the stock rims ..... stock bumper ..... stock spoiler .... stock skirting .....

not to be confused with the other black integra in Batu Maung.

nope, you've got the wrong guy.

the white DC5-R with black spoiler, INGS bumper, and toda sticker belongs to Faizal.

I'm the black one...... with the stock rims ..... stock bumper ..... stock spoiler .... stock skirting .....

not to be confused with the other black integra in Batu Maung.

:banghead: hehe!
not much opportunity to meet the dc fives here,... u guyz tekan minyak, i cant catch up,...

saw one parked at raja uda food court bworth side, quite some very long time ago,...

bt maung near my work area bro,... didnt see any black dc5r,...

ok broz,... sorry for hijacking,...
back to oil review topic,...