National Automotive Policy 2009 Review Results

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
I'm in total agreement with FVel, but then again Malaysians are always in some sort of quagmire/catch22. If we use our votes to battle the current powers that be, and should another party have the opportunity to take over, would we be privy to more lenient laws, or will a nicer form of the same result occur - more cronyism.

sbirdz

Mar 27, 2005
S.Kembangan
sbirdz_jackals.blogs.friendster.com
Fvel, I agree with you. And i believes a lot of our malaysia brother... also agree with this. In the past, we love this little proton baby. We helped it to grew. Having issues on earlier stage, we forgive this little child. Because it is still new in this line.

And today? This little child has gone into nightmares... it is trying to execute and erase it's past and take over control of the entire markets. If today, a proton car can last like imported car model. We would have been like KOREAN countries. Who loved all of their own country products and boikot against other countries product.

But what does a proton gives you? CHEAP? issit really cheap? realiability? It nevers gets better than before... Events! HALL OF FAME?!?! Even they dare to sell a FULL SPECS with betters ingredients of proton model to overseas... and leaving SHITTY models for us!! FOR US!!! ANAK MALAYSIAN!!! MALAYSIAN citizen to own it.

What sort of bullshit is this... Japanese leave their best manufacturer model, their secrets and most valuable assest inside their countries... With highest grades... And they never let those special parts leaked out.

And has it been THIS YEAR ONLY! we heard our government wanted to copy something from a country?? Why is this Govern can be turned into a so MONEY Hungry monster today. Aren't they are humans too.. Arent they were SAME LIKE US before?!!!

BAGAIKAN KACANG MELUPAKAN KULIT!!!

ALL BECAUSE OF US!! US!!! ANAK MALAYSIA!!! WARGANEGARA MALAYSIA!! RAKYAT MALAYSIA!!! BARU ADA MEREKA YANG BERADA DI ATAS SANA... JIKALAU KITA YANG MEMBINA KERAJAAN INI!! BAH KATA!! KITA JUGA YANG BOLEH MENBINASAKAN KERAJAAN INI!!!

jombiee

Feb 7, 2005
Ghombau
Fvel, I agree with you. And i believes a lot of our malaysia brother... also agree with this. In the past, we love this little proton baby. We helped it to grew. Having issues on earlier stage, we forgive this little child. Because it is still new in this line.

And today? This little child has gone into nightmares... it is trying to execute and erase it's past and take over control of the entire markets. If today, a proton car can last like imported car model. We would have been like KOREAN countries. Who loved all of their own country products and boikot against other countries product.

But what does a proton gives you? CHEAP? issit really cheap? realiability? It nevers gets better than before... Events! HALL OF FAME?!?! Even they dare to sell a FULL SPECS with betters ingredients of proton model to overseas... and leaving SHITTY models for us!! FOR US!!! ANAK MALAYSIAN!!! MALAYSIAN citizen to own it.

What sort of bullshit is this... Japanese leave their best manufacturer model, their secrets and most valuable assest inside their countries... With highest grades... And they never let those special parts leaked out.

And has it been THIS YEAR ONLY! we heard our government wanted to copy something from a country?? Why is this Govern can be turned into a so MONEY Hungry monster today. Aren't they are humans too.. Arent they were SAME LIKE US before?!!!

ALL BECAUSE OF US!! US!!! ANAK MALAYSIA!!! WARGANEGARA MALAYSIA!! RAKYAT MALAYSIA!!! BARU ADA MEREKA YANG BERADA DI ATAS SANA... JIKALAU KITA YANG MEMBINA KERAJAAN INI!! BAH KATA!! KITA JUGA YANG BOLEH MENBINASAKAN KERAJAAN INI!!!
THIS :top:

arturo

nooB
SateCelupLand

BRAVO!!!!!!:top::top:

exactly what i think. when proton first came out we all supported it without question cos we malaysians love malaysia...now teruk. gomen oso same case. no other gomen has it so ez as ours do...they raise petrol price we complain but still buy...and still vote for them. they forgetting power is with us. any of you watched V for Vendetta? its not the people who should fear the governments but the government who should fear the people...heheh but i think our gomen no such fear...have ISA. anything considered sedition or defamation or inciting riots will immediately masuk unknown location lokap n MIA for the next 20 years.

Mugenz

Dec 19, 2003
just read the news.. the govt has scraps the plan for 15yrs vehicles inspection after getting too many people 'feedback'..haha.. what a good news!! it's even more happy if they scraps the plan for stopping us to import of used spare part.. come come come make more pressure to the govt.. :D

---------------------------------------------------
Govt scraps plan for mandatory vehicle checks

KUALA LUMPUR: The Government has agreed to pull back the introduction of an “end of life” policy for vehicles after taking into account views and feedback from the people.

Since the announcement of the plan, the Government has been receiving many complaints from the people who were generally not agreeable to the mandatory annual comprehensive inspection as a requirement for road tax renewal for vehicles aged 15 years or older, a statement from the International Trade and Industry Ministry said Friday.

On Oct 28, the ministry had announced the new National Automotive Policy (NAP) which included the “Vehicle End Of Life Policy” which would have seen the introduction of a mandatory annual check-up of cars 15-years and above as a requirement for road tax renewal. -- Bernama

---------------------------------------------------

csl

Aug 22, 2005
Malysia
You guys syiok syiok complaint and think the gov owe you for everything for the rest of your life. Why not take it the other way round, you become the gov. Now no money to execute future plan. Put more tax to company, most company will move over to other countries like vietnam, china, india or etc. Company gone, people don't have job to do (if you are employee, you have the risk). Other income sources, cover the salary of gov servants, subsidies, gov loan and thousands of other things, how much left? Oil is gonna deplete in near future. Tell me if you can do better than the gov that has all the info/knowledge/advice from all sectors' specialists and analysts, including bank negara. If they have a better choice, they will keep on giving away sweets but not like now, put more pressure on everyone. Headache check head, leg pain check leg will not work. Ok, let you all win today. Gov lose. So what? But please, don't forget what you had done today. Later on don't say you forgot what you had posted, said, and supported. Politicians lose, no problem. Rakyat ask ma, no choice. End of the day, who is the biggest loser? Water level already reach eyebrow also don't know the meaning of die. When the gov beh tahan to support the KLSE anymore, economy crash and you are jobless, then only you will learn a lesson. Please don't forget what you said today. N1H1 also got encore for 2nd round. Think yourselves la.

---------- Post added at 11:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:40 PM ----------

Not to forget, if the gov lay off some people to cut down overhead, don't say much, 1% also enough already. Those people will float into market and make the employment demand even lower. Fresh people difficult to get a job. Senior employee may lost their job or got pay cut. Various sectors will be effected. Proton close shop also good. ten of thousands of people, direct or indirectly employed, will float into the market too. Let's close all GLC too. The more, the merrier :thefinger:

jombiee

Feb 7, 2005
Ghombau
Dude, if you dont like this thread & do not want to support, just dont join in & bla bla bla in here.
Make your own thread & join the group that has the same thinking as you. Some are rich & some a poor people etc etc.Maybe you have good life, some has miserable fucking life, some live in the city, some live in Kampong etc etc.
If you like what Gov has plan for you, pls be happy & its your choice but maybe not to MOST of us. When its to much, we shout rather than jadi 'yes man'. its democrasy lorr.
Put it this way, you are BN & I'm opposition party, & this is oppsition party thread
so GTFO :thefinger:

camshaft

Nov 3, 2006
CSL....the gov can find other ways to make profit..not only by making puspakom checking every year and scrap cars that are more than 15 years...i'm not wif the opposition or gov...but if the gov keep this up and put the people 1st...mybe a lot of vote will go to them in the up coming 'pilihan raya'

FVel

Feb 5, 2007
I'm in total agreement with FVel, but then again Malaysians are always in some sort of quagmire/catch22. If we use our votes to battle the current powers that be, and should another party have the opportunity to take over, would we be privy to more lenient laws, or will a nicer form of the same result occur - more cronyism.
Deacon,

The undeniable fact is Malaysia is still very raw and immature in terms of political development. What we have now and have had to various degrees over the 50+years of independence is still an uncomfortable alliance of sorts amongst parties that are still primarily race based within their respective components. It's also distressing to note that after 50 years, we still have not moved in any appreciable degree away from the issues of race and glaring dileneation of interest groups. In this country, when people vote, when parties campaign, there is invariably the question of race and entrenched rights & privileges being used as selling points.

Invariably, this reinforces a culture of taking care of one's own .....the sort of "I look out for our kind", whether of race, class, political affiliations, etc. When you cannot be objectively free of discrimination, you lessen your chances of effectively curbing things such as cronyism, favouritism and corruption. It becomes part of the cultural landscape.

There is no guarantee an alternate alliance/administration is better or worse than the one before it but, you know, if the fallout from the last election was a benchmark,then it is clear that a disturbingly large portion of the public can leverage their voting rights in the face what they see as outright abuse by the BN under the shameful stewardship of Badawi. And this kind of anger transcends race or interest groups because it is the collective disgust from people of all races and all walks of life that gave a big boot up BN's arse in the last election.

It's a very rude wakeup call which ultimately parties can no longer ignore. They can certainly ignore but at their own peril. Witness the complete demise of MIC, Gerakan, the loss of Penang, Perak and Selangor.....unprecedented in the history of elections.

So although one might think that the next ruling party may be getting back to shady dealings and business as usual, the political landscape has changed. You cannot simply play the race, privileges and handouts card anymore and pull wool over people's eyes. Because people are not stupid. You gotta show results and you got to have a spotless administration that is above board.

So I think although we are still politically unsophisticated, it is undeniable the political awareness of the Malaysian public has moved in a positive and influential direction,and this will be a strong incentive for future administrations to show accountability and results.

The irony of all this is that the Opposition never even dreamed that such a political tsunami was possible. I'm sure they were resigned to the anticipation that they will only capture maybe a couple of seats or maybe one or two states. That is why they were caught completely surprised and ill-prepared (in terms of quality of candidates) when they were suddenly handed Selangor, Penang, Perak etc. Suddenly they had to form State goverments and a lot of their candidates had simply been fill-in's and in a few cases, characters of dubious history. But you know, you get rotten apples in whatever party and they know they had been handed this great prize,this great opportunity and they will do their best to justify the sudden public support. To be honest about it, it's not so much a case that the Opposition did so much to gain public support, rather it was more of a case of BN doing so much shit that they lost all the support and people voting Opposition because of it.

For sure they will stumble in their debut at running an adminsitration, ....and they certainly have on this account.....but as it is, a large part of the public would rather stake this chances on the rookies rather than staying with the garbage at BN. Hell, I voted BN for years way back when Old Man was in charge. Mahatir may not have been perfect (had a boat load of flaws) but Old Man ran a tight ship and got the country moving in his often controversial ways but ultimately he had results and people had confidence in his stewardship. But that all changed when Badawi took over. And sohere we are...at new political frontiers. You can always hope for the best because there is not much else otherwise

FVel

Feb 5, 2007
You guys syiok syiok complaint and think the gov owe you for everything for the rest of your life. Why not take it the other way round, you become the gov. Now no money to execute future plan. Put more tax to company, most company will move over to other countries like vietnam, china, india or etc. Company gone, people don't have job to do (if you are employee, you have the risk). Other income sources, cover the salary of gov servants, subsidies, gov loan and thousands of other things, how much left? Oil is gonna deplete in near future. Tell me if you can do better than the gov that has all the info/knowledge/advice from all sectors' specialists and analysts, including bank negara. If they have a better choice, they will keep on giving away sweets but not like now, put more pressure on everyone. Headache check head, leg pain check leg will not work. Ok, let you all win today. Gov lose. So what? But please, don't forget what you had done today. Later on don't say you forgot what you had posted, said, and supported. Politicians lose, no problem. Rakyat ask ma, no choice. End of the day, who is the biggest loser? Water level already reach eyebrow also don't know the meaning of die. When the gov beh tahan to support the KLSE anymore, economy crash and you are jobless, then only you will learn a lesson. Please don't forget what you said today. N1H1 also got encore for 2nd round. Think yourselves la.

---------- Post added at 11:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:40 PM ----------

Not to forget, if the gov lay off some people to cut down overhead, don't say much, 1% also enough already. Those people will float into market and make the employment demand even lower. Fresh people difficult to get a job. Senior employee may lost their job or got pay cut. Various sectors will be effected. Proton close shop also good. ten of thousands of people, direct or indirectly employed, will float into the market too. Let's close all GLC too. The more, the merrier :thefinger:
Nice speech, but what a load crap.

Let's put things in their proper perspective, but just to be clear about somethings beforehand, I voted BN in all my adult life when Mahatir was in charge, .....I even voted Badawi when he first cameto power,but all that changed in the last election. After just 4 years of BN under Badawi, I'm more than glad to go for Opposition.

In answer to your statement about the G owing us, yes they do owe us.

They owe it to us to have good and effective governance built on a solid platform of accountability and transparency. I pay all my taxes. I pay all my dues to this country but what I find distressing is that all my hardword and contributions and that of all my fellow Malaysians have gone to a Government that prides itself for giving us the following chart-topping blockbusters (in no particular order of importance) :-

Khairy and his money grubbing, rascist friends in Tingkat Empat;
Hishammuddin waving his damn keris amidst calls to spill some non-Bumi blood at the UMNO General Assembly;
Port Kelang Free Trade Zone Scandal;
Azalina Othman and the countless millions of ringgit missing in financing the sport complex in England that did not exist;
Auditor General's Report on irregularities of spending at G department and purchases (eg. hundreds of ringgit spent to buy a screwdriver and staplers, etc etc);
Toyo and his palace,and his spending spree at Dubai with his family ostensibly on a G-related trip;
That BN Selangor Council Man (who died of heartattack soon after BN lost Selangor) and his 'palace';
Teoh Beng Hock Case;
Altanluya Case;
Destruction of Hindu Temples;
Bung Mokhtar referring to female Opposition Parliament Mmebers as "bocor tiap-tiap bulan";
Rising Crime and lack of effective policing;

There are plenty of other examples in the Government Entertainment Channel.

On top of all this extravagance the very same BN Govt is trying to curb the ability of Malaysians to keep their 15 year old cars. Notice for one moment I said "15 YEAR OLD CARS". That's right. Our OLD cars which we have worked for and financed for all these years on top of paying our taxes tothe G so that they have the money to make all those chart-topping blockbusters above. How come it is the poor bastards like us trying to save every penny to pay off our old cars and then some a$$hole at Putrajaya thinks it's OK to force us to buy new cars to fund their expenses.

So fuck you very much for having the stupidity to come in here to lecture me on economics and morals. I don't think you are qualified.

mizunori77

Dec 13, 2006
Hi CSL,

A govt that has insufficient funds to sustain or develop a country is NOT the fault of the people. It is just like a company with bad management will make the company sink. I believe that you are employed as well? Have you come across situations where you, as an employee DO NOT agree to the direction or the strategies that are being implemented? True, it is ridiculous for the management to keep 'withdrawing' or 'stopping' their plans because employees disagree BUT, if the management fails to 'listen' in the first place, that company is doomed from the start. feedback exists for a reason. whether the management acts accordingly is another issue altogether. everyone will agree that a company is out to make money BUT will everyone agree that a company should make money at the 'cost' of others, which, includes their own employees?

the same applies to running a country. no one said that running a country is easy but that doesn't mean that the govt can have a free hand to do whatever they want just to rectify a bad situation that they themselves created. why should the majority (rakyat) be punished for the bad decisions and actions of a minority (govt)? if what you said that the govt doesn't owe us anything, then what do they owe and who do they owe to? if they don't owe anything to anyone, isn't this an imbalance in the system itself? everyone is ALWAYS answerable to someone.

the present govt has been 'in charge' for more than 50 years. please don't tell me that until now, they can't effectively make use of all our country's natural resources to bring us to developed status? in contrast, does it even make any sense that singapore, which is slightly bigger than penang and with much less natural resources could be so much more developed than our country? the argument that Singapore is a smaller place and therefore easier to control also doesn't make sense. if i'm not mistaken, we have at least 1 million people in govt service. don't tell me that in those 1 million individuals, there are none who has a great mind to be able to plan and execute them? the depletion of resources cannot be avoided but the govt, who has information to all these, ALREADY know and it is their responsibility to act on it. what's with this fire fighting strategy?

you are right that if the govt doesn't have sufficient funds to support KLSE, it may collapse. why does it have to be this way? WHY is the govt involved in the first place? WHY does the govt HAVE TO support the stock market? are our companies that bad? there are a lot of things that are not transparent to many of us and it will take a very long time time to explain. in short, if the govt has to 'support' the stock market, doesn't it mean that our stock market isn't healthy for many many MANY years already? what makes you think our economy REALLY recovered from 1997-1998 when our govt HAVE TO support KLSE like you mentioned?

no one likes the idea of making someone else jobless but the reality is, if they are NOT performing and don't care if they are dragging everyone else down with them, why should we still protect them? it is only fair that a person is rewarded by merit when they perform and NOT because they know someone or they have status. everyone practically 'knows' everyone as people can claim anything BUT can they get the job done? if they can't, then they should move aside. if the current people in proton and the whole supply chain sucks, then they must be removed. why protect the rice bowl of people who can't be independent and contribute after more than 20 years? do you think if you join a company and you cant perform at the end of your probation, your boss will do charity and hire you instead of asking you to leave?

the present govt has been doing it their way for 50 years. we are behind singapore, thailand and even now, indonesia (if you do a quick research online, indonesia has the healthiest growth in this region now, and this study is conducted by independent parties). our system is definitely broken, continuing to fix it is a waste of precious resources and time. changing to a new system is LONG overdue.

there are a lot of information about the REAL state of our country and also the world. if you like reading and gaining more knowledge, you can start by clicking HERE. lastly, ALL of us are supposed to be LOYAL TO OUR COUNTRY and NOT the govt. why? because if the govt doesn't serve the people, it means that the govt is not fit to run the country. Malaysia belongs to all of us, they don't belong to politicians. don't fall into the trap of 'supporting' the ruling party or the opposition party. politicians don't own us. they OWE us, just like they OWE the country so they have to have the best interests of the people in mind. if they only think of themselves or their party, then they can go shiok sendiri with themselves. we will elect a new govt.

[H] [K] [S]

Dec 22, 2006
hahaha well said brah! screw tha G's..... 1malaysia my arse..... wat they meant is, 1malaysia money in their pocket..... geez! can someone pull tha trigger on em! heck, feel like wanna hijack em su-30 & bomb all em proton/perodua factory all around msia.... LMAO

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
I have never been more proud to be part of this thread than ever before. FVel & Mizu, you have won yourselves a true fan in me.

CSL, in a plain example let me illustrate for you the idiocy of how this country is ran. Team Lotus 1Malaysia F1. I'm sorry but i've never seen a more disgusting gross misuse of federal monies in my entire life! It is borderline ridiculous, not only are we funding our own F1 team with tax payer money, BUT we will still have to pay the exorbitant ticket prices just to see our team.

Yes the argument i've brought up may seem a little off topic it clearly depicts what i mean.

On the side note of monies that you believe that gov't will lose as a result of mandatory inspections, pale in comparison to the garantuan amount the Gov't gains from all their excise duty charged on all other cars that are not made by Proton or Perodua.

Malaysians are akin to the Romans of eons ago. Using the gladiators and the games to distract our populace from the real problem - the Cesars that run our nation.

I am so glad i get to keep my 16 year old car a little longer. I've worked very hard to get it, though it may not be much i would have depressed to see it go.

Political discourse - 1
Greedy gov't fat cats - 0

Go rakyat, go!

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
how come out of sudden become like parliment meeting r? zth parliment here??
if the G r doing well then there will be no complaint at all thats what i can say..
testing people (boleh land are not all boleh ok...) patient are not a good pratice...

:burnout: cabut.. later kena shot...

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com
They trying to clean-up their own mess...!

one good example that we tend to ferget...
Who's destroyed BTSC ?
after that what happened ? Mat Rempit appeared out of no where...for sure man...there's no place for them to rempit...SIC to far and expensive...(Sorry SIC...just pointing out the points only)

We are fighting for something...not fighting for nothing...
it's our passion...our enthusiasm...

mizunori77

Dec 13, 2006
deacon raised a very good point that many often overlook. our govt has been relying on taxes of all kinds as an alternative source of income. this doesn't really make sense. if i remember correctly, we have had many years of trade surplus before our economy 'crashed' last year. this means that we export more than we import. this means that we would have accumulated a LOT of monies. you can refer to HERE for the archived statistics.

looking at our country's current infrastructure, do you think that our general hospitals, education system (including higher education), highways and roadways, housing development, rural development, senior citizen and disabled people facilities, industrial development is 'reflective' of what we have earned AND can achieve? where did all the monies go that they have to tax us in so many ways?

a toll concessionaire bids for a highway project and wins it (let's not talk about how they win it). they then get allocated land by the govt to build the road/highway (free land). they get loan/grant from govt to build it (paid by our taxes). they manage the company and collect tolls. they make pure profits with minimal capital expenditure. every few years, they demand high toll rates because the govt promised them 'guaranteed' profits. are you happy that you are forced to pay higher toll charges EVERY few years because the govt 'promised' those toll companies profits? where is the logic in 'guaranteed profits'?

this has been happening in every sector. companies headed by a certain group of people who has the connections keeps getting huge projects with minimal capex but reap maximum profits. the management of those companies get big salaries, fat bonuses and superb benefits. the govt's funds keeps reducing because they practically sponsor everything. then they have to think of creative ways to tax more money from the people so that they can continue 'funding' their 'version' of development.

in case you misunderstand, i'm NOT saying that mega projects are not good. every project (big or small) has a multiplier effect on the economy. the important thing is that the multiplier effect DIRECTLY AFFECTS the majority or else, its just a waste of time and money. for example, what's the use of our Multimedia Super Corridor project? our broadband connectivity is still stunted. my friend in singapore is paying SGD 20 for his 4MB line as compared to streamyx's 4MB line that costs RM 200++. do you know that for RM 200++ (SGD 80), people in Singapore are enjoying 21MB lines?

if a country such as singapore who has a smaller population can support multiple telcos giving out 21MB mobile broadband lines to their small market, WHY are we, a population of 22 million (if we don't count the 4 million foreigners) cannot support the demands of REAL high speed broadband? where is the logic? why are our telcos screwed and why are we, the consumers screwed? once again, protection of TM. just like the protection of Proton.

so we:
1. pay income tax
2. either pay import tax for our car (Nissan, Honda, Toyota, etc) or pay premium price for a 20 year old technology (Proton)
3. pay sales tax for our car
4. pay road tax for our car
5. pay premium price for our Euro 2 petrol (other countries are mostly on Euro 4 and the price difference is not much)
6. pay toll to get stuck in jams
7. pay additional for inflation directly caused by govt's decisions (4 hours to increase petrol price to RM 2.70 last year WITHOUT calling for a parliamentary sitting but take 4 weeks to review the petrol price again)
8. now have to pay tax for credit card usage
9. pay more to maintain our car because no more imported used spare parts
10. pay premium price for shitty broadband connection
11. pay more to buy products from other countries because our exchange rate is so weak.

i don't know about you guys but WHY the hell should i pay for all those things THAT DON'T BENEFIT ME?

---------- Post added at 01:03 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:59 AM ----------

how come out of sudden become like parliment meeting r? zth parliment here??
if the G r doing well then there will be no complaint at all thats what i can say..
testing people (boleh land are not all boleh ok...) patient are not a good pratice...

:burnout: cabut.. later kena shot...
why not? if we are a real democracy, this is freedom of speech. btw, parliament sittings are supposed to be aired of national tv. our country don't do it doesn't mean other democratic countries don't do it. the thing is, we elect those people to represent us. when they sit in parliament, they are supposed to talk about the people's needs and NOT lobby projects for their own interest. :wavey:

netmatrix

P Jaya:Malaysia
kh_tan.tripod.com
Guys seems like the gov backed down for the moment. Now do we fight for the halfcut shops or not? We fought for our old cars and seems like a temporary victory. As i saw and heard in TV the gov is merely stopping it so they can "review" the system again. So 1 year is won. What about the next year and thereafter? I'm fighting for this years. And saving the halfcut shops is a 50/50 for me. How about you guys?

Each time a kid puts a Hot Wheels car blasting down a twisty track, what's in the back of their head? Imagining what it would be like to be at the driver’s seat of that tiny car perhaps? Back when I was a kid, the closest view I could get is by playing the Hot Wheels games game in PlayStation 2; racing wheel-to-wheel with other racers through banked curves and 360-degree loop.

With GoPro Hero4...