unker, last time ur diy water injection works on da same basis as this one??...
Hi guys I have a old carb car and wish to pump up its muscles with weber. Have been asking around and everybody laughed including my mechanic and said where got ppl use weber nowadays? help anyone?yes same thing, but i dunno why he use batt water :hmmmm:
single carb or twin carb?? side draft or down draft??
Hey guys wanna ask somethin..wad's the difference between solex and weber carbs??i hav a fren who wanted 2 sell me a solex double barrel,4 valve carb for RM500...i'm not gonna install it right away but i'm wondering if its a gud buy o not...any opinions??
Hi guys I have a old carb car and wish to pump up its muscles with weber. Have been asking around and everybody laughed including my mechanic and said where got ppl use weber nowadays? help anyone?
Sifu Fred, my car is wira 1.5 oem asian carb engine. I got an problem which need ur advice.
My car is install with new Aisen carburator, however after the usage of 1 year i detact some problem for the idling.
The engine starts fine during the morning with the rpm around 1500. however after i left the engine which aldy reach operating temperature for around 3-4hours, i restart the engine again but the idling is around 600 and the idling is not smooth...i can hear the lean poping at the exhause...
The hot starting of this engine is fine although it takes around 3 second to start, my forman said it is normal for proton carb to behave like this. Cool start is good only takes 1 second to start. The ony problem is the idling for a partially warm engine with tempereture pointed athalf of the normal tempereture..
Is it the problem with auto choke? really don understand why a new original caburator which cost me 1k will hav this problem in 1 year...
sifu pls help, i need ur advice. thanks
Sifu Fred, my car is wira 1.5 oem asian carb engine. I got an problem which need ur advice.
My car is install with new Aisen carburator, however after the usage of 1 year i detact some problem for the idling.
The engine starts fine during the morning with the rpm around 1500. however after i left the engine which aldy reach operating temperature for around 3-4hours, i restart the engine again but the idling is around 600 and the idling is not smooth...i can hear the lean poping at the exhause...
The hot starting of this engine is fine although it takes around 3 second to start, my forman said it is normal for proton carb to behave like this. Cool start is good only takes 1 second to start. The ony problem is the idling for a partially warm engine with tempereture pointed athalf of the normal tempereture..
Is it the problem with auto choke? really don understand why a new original caburator which cost me 1k will hav this problem in 1 year...
sifu pls help, i need ur advice. thanks
Ops..forgot to mention that the engine idling will increse from 600 to 1300 rpm after letting it ran for 1 minute...
Sifu pls help me..thanks!!
skywalker....sume oem carb from japan wan were equipped with computer box...but the correct term is CPU-carburetor Program Unit.....i've seen it....the purpose of it is can alter AFR byit self using the input from EGT...
...thats why if,using the carb without the electronic thingy...your afr willrich and suffer on hi petrol lor....i've been on that situation(been there,done that..hehehe)...lastly fedup...using carb that no need electric thingy...let say like weber.....hehehehe....
Sifus, the carburator is original unit which cost me Rm1200....The weird thing is this carburator will just run fine after reach operating temperature the lean poping just occur while starting a partially warm engine..neither hot or cold engine will have this problem...

My 4G13P is currently hooked with the Japanese ECU-ed Carb, it's so called feedback carb with have the electronic controlled unit and O2 sensor which use duty cycle to control the mixture.
In my settings, I no adapted the O2 sensor and the ECU since it's not available here. The only thing attached is a electronic component similar to adjustable voltage regulator to trigger the mixture solenoid at certain rpm from distributor. As proper tuned the FC and power is better with ori proton carb.
Skywalker, since its quite difficult to get weber carb nowadays , will proton 12v carby do the same job? (in terms of power). I've heard its using same principal as SU carbs. They r selling at rm1100-00 for OE units and RM600-00 for china ones. Chop shop selling rm450-00 .actually most carbs works almost the same... solex, weber, mikuni, aisan, etc... it is based on bernoulli's theorem... the faster the air moves, the lower its static compression, the higher its dynamic pressure.... to function properly, carburetos have multiple set of mechanism called circuits... this is to cater for heavy loads (acceleration), idle, light load (cruising), cold start, hot start, and so on...
more info on carburetors can refer to this link: Carburetor - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
nowadays there are still many enthusiast who uses carburetors... weber carburetors are pretty rare nowadays, but they do deliver good performance when it is properly tuned... many mechanic i've come across condemns weber carburetors mainly because they dont know how to tune them and the main factor many people mistaken it as a fuel guzzler....
weber carb fuel consumption with light throttle and proper tuning, it wont be as bad as standard carburetors... in some cases i heard fuel consumption improves...
ur choke seems to work well during cold start... try service ur carb by using carb cleaner first... flush out all dirty build-ups inside.... after that reset ur idle rpm and AFR mixture thru a reputated mechanic... it doesnt necessary to have CO sensor to do so... many experienced mechanic can tune carburetors as well as sensors do...