fc increase, this is crazy

hoxy

hello, my car is 4G15 wira se 1.5 manual.. first i change the air filter to drop-in k&N. fc is quite the same unless i rev the engine, i think tht is normal due to more air being sucked in. so no problem. then, change to Denso iridium IW16 bought from tctho. aiyaa... the very first time i try the plug already sucked my petrol like vampire... very scared to push the pedal. my fc usually RM10 for 70km, now drop to about 35-45km for RM10. I drive my car to work, always traffic jam MRR2. even in clear road with no car, i always maitain below 80km/h, 90km/h max. Now, i already change monza muffler, mid box, and de-cat by putting bullet. piping is maintain standard from kweng84. after that, i change already spark plug cable to 10mm quadcore with Stromberg power booster from GTR. My pickup sure power but i can see my oil level drop like water running when i rev up especially in gear three... i just stop rev up when seeing oil level drop like something leaking. From my observation, fc when i installed spark plug and after i installed exhaust modification onwards bla bla bla no different. I think main culprit is spark plug. I think either my spark plug is fake(high probability is not) or either my heat range is not correct(i selected original standard spark plug heat range which is BPR5ES-11 and W16EPR-11... so heat range 5, hence selected IW16). is this due to spark plug too hot... then wht is the effect? is it make the pickup very good like i'm experiencing now(honestly i think it is due to the exhaust, but maybe combination of spark plug and exhaust system) and in the same time increase fc? is my ECU is a relearning type? if relearn type how long until it adjusted itself? if not relearning type... damn it, must spend money to resetting it again. how much and where? i'm hoping to have solution(spark plug) that suit all my modification tht i already put. next week gonna get myself grounding cable. btw, i like my car pickup... so damn powerful... also already got GAB shock absorber and sport spring... ultra racing bars, cornering so damn good, car highly responsive... but damn it... fc like shit, tauke balak pun bankrup. Help me plz, i'm not a tailgater(i just read the tailgater thread), haha(pretending to be happy). Thank you

hi bro,

this is a very normal problem-power=money
very difficult to balance between FC and power...
I am also driving 4G15P Auto
I just change a twin tip muffler(s flow), K & N Drop in, cat con change and DIY heat shield

I am also doing RM10 for 60km

Maybe go get a normal spark plug and give it a try?

u c u got this 10mm quadcore with Stromberg power booster from GTR.

it aredy stated GTR ma.. so the petrol will be like GTR:biggrin:

wow that worst, but last time my 1.5 auto wira 12 yr more worst about rm10 for 40km witout any modification

try n take off the spark plug n use ur previous 1 n c whether there's any
improvement.with the modification that u list out,it's impossible for ur
engine to consume twice the amount compare to standard.

okey... will try to change to standard spark plug back today.

Seriously i know nth abt car mechanical things.. but last time my car 1.3gl ori engine full tank rm75+ only 250++km, its pick up good, no black smoke or blue smoke, water lvl also maintained, just terrible fc... now change to 12yrs old mivec engine, v power rm70 can run 450km++... so i think your current engine got internal injury like my engine last time. : )

let ppl tuning ECU la.....
reset ECU setting....RM100++.....last time did on my 4g63 tuning....

dear hoxy

we both the same engine..here is my so so setup..

-spitfire 4 point (custom gap it)
-lotusking
-custom air filter box (but stock filter)
-CAI
-grounding cable
-pivot raizin
-bullet (remove CAT)
-stock piping
-muffler
-15" rims

i believe none of above give significant changes in term of power or such, but my fc maintain, my latest trial was during this recent raya, ipoh->kangar->padang besar->kangar then only my meter start showing red with only RM60, car full load with 5 adult(including me) during the journey (average speed 80-90kmh)

maybe u should check ur engine or clean ur throttle (dirt build up?) i read this somewhere if u use an oiled air filter, the oil can be sucked in. the best i found is apexi, coz its dry type and the cleanest dirt filter.

by the way..whats ur rim size?

*if u want to reset ur ECU, just plug out ur battery for 10 mins would do..

dear hoxy

we both the same engine..here is my so so setup..

-spitfire 4 point (custom gap it)
-lotusking
-custom air filter box (but stock filter)
-CAI
-grounding cable
-pivot raizin
-bullet (remove CAT)
-stock piping
-muffler
-15" rims

i believe none of above give significant changes in term of power or such, but my fc maintain, my latest trial was during this recent raya, ipoh->kangar->padang besar->kangar then only my meter start showing red with only RM60, car full load with 5 adult(including me) during the journey (average speed 80-90kmh)

maybe u should check ur engine or clean ur throttle (dirt build up?) i read this somewhere if u use an oiled air filter, the oil can be sucked in. the best i found is apexi, coz its dry type and the cleanest dirt filter.

by the way..whats ur rim size?

*if u want to reset ur ECU, just plug out ur battery for 10 mins would do..

i just bought my car like 7 month ago, i dont want to change the stock 16" rim just yet cause it is such a waste of my new tyre. after complete 2 years use car... i will change my rim and tyre altogether. K_takuya-san, RM60 for how many KM? want to compare. By cleaning ur throttle you mean by pressing the gas pedal way way down? maybe i need to go to bukit hulu langat, stop there and then do just that... muffler will make very loud sound, better not make other people angry.

Seriously i know nth abt car mechanical things.. but last time my car 1.3gl ori engine full tank rm75+ only 250++km, its pick up good, no black smoke or blue smoke, water lvl also maintained, just terrible fc... now change to 12yrs old mivec engine, v power rm70 can run 450km++... so i think your current engine got internal injury like my engine last time. : )

if something that is hurting my engine causing internal injury right now... it must be the Denso iridium spark plug. Damn it, hehe.

i just bought my car like 7 month ago, i dont want to change the stock 16" rim just yet cause it is such a waste of my new tyre. after complete 2 years use car... i will change my rim and tyre altogether. K_takuya-san, RM60 for how many KM? want to compare. By cleaning ur throttle you mean by pressing the gas pedal way way down? maybe i need to go to bukit hulu langat, stop there and then do just that... muffler will make very loud sound, better not make other people angry.

well, 16" does effect a bit on fc..cant say any. my r0ugh calculation is about near 400km (smooth , less traffic condition)..clean throttle is by going workshop and have them take it out and clean the thing.. muffler some very sharp and loud type (the fart one) some just bassy type (im using this and jpj+puspakom+pdrm pun lepas :p)

u bought new car rite?? bear in mine the latest proton model got many many sensors, not like the prev one, even one stupid sensor fault, u cant start it, once u change a thing setting may change also, hav u tuning it?? better go to trusted mech n tune it back..

my 97' 1.6m done +/-100km for RM10, minor mod la, hehe..