LOWERING WAJA (kawkaw)

DIYdummy

Hi to all the sifus n VIP'ers which racun my mind (hehehe),

I'm in the quest of lowering my car's stance. What I have done so far is to change the suspension to GAB HILO and the wheels are 18" (8jj front 9jj back ) using 235/40/18 tyres.

the stance looks fine but ONE problem arose.

the front is around 1 1/2 fingers (not really sure cuz my fingers kinda FAT!) and back is the same as frnt.

How in gods name you lower the ride without hitting the rear fender la? front has no rubbing but the back is rubbing like hell. Anyone out there have information on what to grind/tuck under the rear fender?

Here's some pics of my ride BEFORE lowering
[img=http://imageshack.us/thumbnmail.png]

http://img530.imageshack.us/my.php?image=vipwajarearup4.jpg
http://img75.imageshack.us/my.php?image=vipwajafrntzp2.jpg

Appreciate the advise

May the VIP legion grow in numbers!!!

Hi there,

You need to knock your rear fender or to roll it...btw u need to lower the car more..till at least 0 finger or negative finger for more bippu looking ride..

like Cknacci said, u nit to knock/roll ur fender (bend the metal) in order to fit it in, if still brush, u can knock ur fender out abit...

some advance tire shop got this tool
fenderlip.jpg
can roll the fender for u.... im not sure ur place, but there's 1 shop in KL have this.

so basically it will roll like this
http://www.wam.umd.edu/~greghess/forum/fenderroll/step9.jpg

get the idea? bend the metal... using knock or roll way...

most of the vipstyle car will do this, as flushing rim is 1 of the important thing characteristic for vipstyle. so no problem 1 :D

like Cknacci said, u nit to knock/roll ur fender (bend the metal) in order to fit it in, if still brush, u can knock ur fender out abit...

some advance tire shop got this tool
fenderlip.jpg
can roll the fender for u.... im not sure ur place, but there's 1 shop in KL have this.

so basically it will roll like this
http://www.wam.umd.edu/~greghess/forum/fenderroll/step9.jpg

get the idea? bend the metal... using knock or roll way...

most of the vipstyle car will do this, as flushing rim is 1 of the important thing characteristic for vipstyle. so no problem 1 :D

:adore: muahahaha! thats a great idea. sonictheory + cknacci. now looking for shop that have them. ZERO / NEGATIVE finger here i come!

hey guys, there's one more small problem. the bolt thts holding the bumper is obsturcting the roller. if i roll/fold the inner fender can only fold to small sector. any suggestion? cable tie thm up. upload the pics of the innner fender with the bolt.

ANYONE IN KK KNOWS WHICH SHOP HAVE THIS INNER FENDER ROLLER?

thanks again guys!

btw can tell me where is the kl show that have this features? want to vip my waja oso

bro...another prob is ur rims r too wide for Waja...with 9JJ @ the rear, u will need smaller tires. like 215 or 225 series max!!!

muahhaa.sonictheory ur right.can DIY at home. but need to do properly if not paint will crack. done it before on my corolla. paint crack cuz too fast knock. buying heat gun this weekend.

thnks

bro...another prob is ur rims r too wide for Waja...with 9JJ @ the rear, u will need smaller tires. like 215 or 225 series max!!!

bro, hehe. The tires can still 'fit' (w/o rubbing) if the inner guards are rolled properly. Doing it on this saturday. keep u updated. thanks though for the opinion. muahaha.

Better check which part is hitting at the rear before 1st.

It might be tedious work, but in order to get the best solution/fitment, do uninstall your spring from your absorber and mount back your wheels. Then check your clearance on your desired ride height (plus minus 2" wheel travel).

9JJ is kinda wide for medium sized saloon, but it's not impossible. Do know wheather you have insufficient inner or outer clearance beforehand.

Check if the inner wheel is rubbing against the absorber (insufficient inner clearance). If this is the case, simple. Just add spacers.

If the outside is rubbing the fender, there are two options.

1. Get a smaller sized tires (from the pix, u oledi running stretched)
2. Roll fender, if still rubs, pull fender (requires respray).
3. Run more negative camber at the rear (for better clearance and more wild style look)

If you're experiencing "the bolt thts holding the bumper is obsturcting the roller" like I do, here's a remedy for you... But it requires somewhat more extreme kinda mods.

Cut off the entire part where it rubs, then have a plate inbetween your car's body and bumper, then stick both parts together (like those wiras with broken bumpers). Then ofcourse, u have to beautify it again with putty, cement and paint lah.. :D:D:D

I haven't done that yet, but plan to do so when it's time for a respray.

Otherwise, just get a harder linear spring instead of those progressive ones that comes together with the hilo.

Also, pretend ur driving a two seater instead of a 4 door saloon... It works for me! :lol:

bro, hehe. The tires can still 'fit' (w/o rubbing) if the inner guards are rolled properly. Doing it on this saturday. keep u updated. thanks though for the opinion. muahaha.

IMHO running a 215 on a 9JJ is crazy stretch jor. You can do it still, but will be very dangerous on a daily driver.

If u see CK's ride running a 8JJ with a 215, it's already quite stretched.

Just my two cents...:listen:

Better check which part is hitting at the rear before 1st.

It might be tedious work, but in order to get the best solution/fitment, do uninstall your spring from your absorber and mount back your wheels. Then check your clearance on your desired ride height (plus minus 2" wheel travel).

9JJ is kinda wide for medium sized saloon, but it's not impossible. Do know wheather you have insufficient inner or outer clearance beforehand.

Check if the inner wheel is rubbing against the absorber (insufficient inner clearance). If this is the case, simple. Just add spacers.

If the outside is rubbing the fender, there are two options.

1. Get a smaller sized tires (from the pix, u oledi running stretched)
2. Roll fender, if still rubs, pull fender (requires respray).
3. Run more negative camber at the rear (for better clearance and more wild style look)

If you're experiencing "the bolt thts holding the bumper is obsturcting the roller" like I do, here's a remedy for you... But it requires somewhat more extreme kinda mods.

Cut off the entire part where it rubs, then have a plate inbetween your car's body and bumper, then stick both parts together (like those wiras with broken bumpers). Then ofcourse, u have to beautify it again with putty, cement and paint lah.. :D:D:D

I haven't done that yet, but plan to do so when it's time for a respray.

Otherwise, just get a harder linear spring instead of those progressive ones that comes together with the hilo.

Also, pretend ur driving a two seater instead of a 4 door saloon... It works for me! :lol:

Well said SentraVIP! . BTW, I've installed my HILO kit and tyres fit well. no rubbing whatsoever. Muahaha. Tryin to upload the pics these few days but ran into couple of problems.

Ur idea is exactly like mine on the "the bolt thts holding the bumper is obsturcting the roller" . thinking of making a bracket and holding one end to the inner side of the bumper and another one on the rear frame.

Waja has good clearance at the back with proper offset wheels.

Now the issue is the front tires are rubbing with the inner guards (plastic stuff) when u turn the wheel. I really wonder how the waja in INDON fit it so low. An option is to custom make another plastic wheel wells.

Ride is acceptable using the GAB hilo kit. At least my laupoh not complaining. she just notice the wheels big (duh.but thy so keng in looking at imitation bags n stuff - for car stuff? sigh)

Thanks again for the advise dude.

Lets make the bippu culture hotter!

p/s: ur Sentra looks wicked dude! (droolll...)

oh ya, like cknacci said, lowered until zero finger, or more for more vipstyle stance.. 1 finger still very EXE styling... :D

Just curious, if u said that 1 finger is EXE styling, that means 95% of the VIP styled cars in Malaysia would be under EXE styling instead?? Cuz from what i seen so far, only few have zero finger, let alone negative. Again, just curious. And am a big fan of VIP styled rides, saw 1 black cefiro that looked just awesome.

Well said SentraVIP! . BTW, I've installed my HILO kit and tyres fit well. no rubbing whatsoever. Muahaha. Tryin to upload the pics these few days but ran into couple of problems.

Ur idea is exactly like mine on the "the bolt thts holding the bumper is obsturcting the roller" . thinking of making a bracket and holding one end to the inner side of the bumper and another one on the rear frame.

Waja has good clearance at the back with proper offset wheels.

Now the issue is the front tires are rubbing with the inner guards (plastic stuff) when u turn the wheel. I really wonder how the waja in INDON fit it so low. An option is to custom make another plastic wheel wells.

Ride is acceptable using the GAB hilo kit. At least my laupoh not complaining. she just notice the wheels big (duh.but thy so keng in looking at imitation bags n stuff - for car stuff? sigh)

Thanks again for the advise dude.

Lets make the bippu culture hotter!

p/s: ur Sentra looks wicked dude! (droolll...)

Glad u solved ur problem for the rear. Regarding the front, it's rubbing inner fender means you need to flush out ur wheels more. Maybe some spacer will do.

Infact I'm having the same problem. But I just leave it alone and remind myself constantly not to do full lock on the steering lor...:driver:

:hmmmm: Seriously, my ride is very stock looking. Nothing much to shout about as it's running on tiny 17s.

You have a terrific start there, looking forward for your future progress!:adore:

Just curious, if u said that 1 finger is EXE styling, that means 95% of the VIP styled cars in Malaysia would be under EXE styling instead?? Cuz from what i seen so far, only few have zero finger, let alone negative. Again, just curious. And am a big fan of VIP styled rides, saw 1 black cefiro that looked just awesome.

Depending on the over view of the car. If you're refering to the ride stance alone, yeah... in general traditional VIP stance is always zero or negative finger.

EXE is a very mild version of VIP, therefore on the stance segment, the ride height is weaker in that aspect too. Hence the higher ride height.

But to judge a car solely on the stance alone isn't fair, IMHO. On the wheel subject alone there's many criteria to chat about.

1. Stance
2. Fitment
3. Wheel Design
4. Tire size

Besides from that, there are other things that makes a car true VIP. Just like u put alot of crystals in the interior and call it VIP bling. If the over feel doesn't gives the VIP zen, IMHO it's just bling. Not VIP Styling.

Just my two cents... Cheers!

ev3rgr4ce, hi there... like kaizer explained it all

But to judge a car solely on the stance alone isn't fair, IMHO. On the wheel subject alone there's many criteria to chat about.

1. Stance
2. Fitment
3. Wheel Design
4. tire size
this is just for wheel subject requirement as kaizer said (i bolded part), in or der to define a vipstyle, there're still nit others things like skirting, exhaust, interior to back up, but still wheel subject is the most important factor among of all... get that all done first before run through other mod... thats why vipstyle tends to have more detail compare to other style (this is wut claimed by a japanese guy in some forum who own himself a vip chasis car with vipstyled mod). as everything counts.

and i had to agree with SentraVIP about the crystal thingy and all other things that blings, it doesnt NECCESSARY to put crystal or swaroski, or chrome or TV or table or Mascot to define its vipstyle.. basically its optional. and bonus (if only it flows with overall car design)[/B]

i kinda notice kinda majority of the member had the idea that crystyl is bling , bling is vipstyle/vip... which is wrong... the first vip company, junction produce, most/all of their car din build with with crystal or chrome. its the later DAD garson who started the trend of crystal/swaroski. from wut i read/see/know..

btw everyone still learning, it has no wrong on curiousity, its good to ask it rather than keep it and make own assumption, and worst, wrong assumption.