Walkie Talkie Recommendation

Danny633

http://computertimes.asiaone.com.sg/mnt/media/image/launched/2004-10-06/revw01a_041006.jpg

Motorola Talkabout T6226

Looks and features: With its rubberised buttons and antenna, the T6226 looks like it is ready for a rough day out in the woods.

It has five channels and 38 interference codes to eliminate static, noise and unwanted messages from other radios not in your frequency group.

To enhance privacy, there is also an Eavesdrop Re-ducer code to scramble your transmission.

The T6226 transmits a call tone to alert others that you want to talk to them. There are five tones to choose from and you can assign different ones to different parties in your group.

There is also a vibration alert. But what's really neat is the talk confirmation tone. This is transmitted once you have finished talking and release the push to talk (PTT) button. This sure beats saying 'over' every time you're through.

The scanning function is handy when someone in your group has changed channels. Use the function to find the new channel that he is using and maintain communication.

Other notable features are hands-free use with an optional VOX headset, keypad lock and backlit display.

Usability: The T6226 is generally intuitive to use. One problem though was the location of PTT (press to talk) button in the middle of the unit, below the display.

I found that when trying to talk, I frequently covered the microphone accidentally with my thumb (when using my right hand).

Beware when adjusting the volume. At the maximum setting, the T6226 can get very loud, and in the case of the beep tones, they can be piercing.

The beep tones can, however, can be turned off.

Range: The T6226 is rated for transmissions up to a 3km radius. My tests showed that the usable range is just outside of 1km in modera-tely built-up areas.

Once I went beyond that, transmissions became very noisy with static and it was difficult to make out what the other party was saying. For highly built-up areas with many tall buildings, the range dropped drastically to about 300m.

not using the same model but the same brand.. they more or less has the same functions and are compatible with each other...

Please get a set of walkie talkie ... they comes in 2... so maybe you all can split the cost between the 2 of you.........

Very important in the upcoming Genting Convoy

Please get a set of walkie talkie ... they comes in 2... so maybe you all can split the cost between the 2 of you.........

Very important in the upcoming Genting Convoy

I wanted to say it de.:regular_smile:
How much will it cost?

nowadays easily get. But motorola is the choice to go for any model

300m if inside building, if alot of tall buildings obstruction... otherwise usually will get around 1km on open roads

I have been seeing quite a lot of handphone shop selling walkie talkie also but I bought mine in USA.

Ok.. Most likely I will be getting mine today.. A bit expensive but it's for 12 miles range and comes with earpiece

Guys,

From my past research (yeah, ive been trying to buy walkie talkie for some time..:_: ), the cheapest place to buy walkie talkie is at Sg. Wang. I'm still searching for the best talkie to buy. Most recomended is Motorola Talkabout T5720 (RM299), T5500, T5420 (range between 3 - 5km, price around RM240 - 500). The newer model, T9550 XLR has a range of 8km if im not mistaken, but price is 89.90 USD, so in malaysia im not so sure :) T6550 range 5Mile c/w ivox price ~ RM500, T5500 range 5Mile c/w ivox price = RM350. Can get it at Electronic Jengka, F132 (1st floor), Sg Wang Plaza tel: 03-21445052.

But if group buy i think we can get cheap, but first we try to find the best possible model :_:

So expensive meh? I found this in ClubHyundai Singapore but I think the seller has the last one or two sets.. I am getting one from him later.. It's for 12 miles range..

Price: S$188, Package include:

1. A pair of Walkie Talkie (2units) - Motorola SX700
2. 2 x Rechargeable Battery
3. Twin Charger with AC Adaptor
4. 2 x Handsfree Earpiece
5. 2 x faceplates
6. 1 x manaul
7. 6 months Warranty

Features of the SX700
# 7 GMRS(General Mobile Radio Service)/FRS (Family Radio Service)Channels
# 7 FRS Channels
# 8 GMRS Channels
# 121 Privacy Codes (thats over 2600 hundred channel combinations)
# Replaceable FacePlate (Black is included)
# 2W Transmit Power delivers up to 12 miles
# Compounding Feature miles
# 10 Call Tones
# Keypad Lock
# VibraCall Alert
# NOAA Weather Alert
# QT (Quiet Talk) filter
# LCD Meter
# Time Out Timer
# Battery Save Feature
# Audible Low Battery Alert
# Priority Scan

Please note: This post serves as reference for pricing only because I think the items are going to sold out very soon..

Malaysia mah..so the price is like that.Singapore is cheaper because malaysia got atleast 20% tax on the items. What to do..:confused_smile:
but the cheapest and best price is at sg.wang plaza. For those in kl maybe can jalan - jalan cari talkie:regular_smile:

Sim,

i'm not a tax officer la..if not sure i "kau tim" with customs to get duty free and tax free walkie talkie for HCC members..:regular_smile: Its just that i've been reading alot on taxes and import duties. Wanted to buy some things from oversea

I bought my walkie talkie set alrd.. So if anyone wants to borrow one pc, first come first serve lo.. Borrow only hor.. I am not selling..