planning to buy savvy..need suggestion..

Bro Hypermount,
Thanks for the good info...
It means pro and cons of Savvy is better than owning other proton...
Especially the FC I can only said that the FC can cover the timing belt and the spareparts money already...somemore the spareparts not so expensive also coz it is original...

rm70 for 4pcs?wah...so expensive..

If you the longer service interval for savvy, it already offset the expensive price due to the odd sized plugs...other cars needs to change at 20k, savvy's 40k and price is twce expensive so not much difference...I haven't changed my spark plugs since day 1, now mileage 32k km, they still look fine not black and Fc still good.

Bro Hypermount,
Thanks for the good info...
It means pro and cons of Savvy is better than owning other proton...
Especially the FC I can only said that the FC can cover the timing belt and the spareparts money already...somemore the spareparts not so expensive also coz it is original...

no prob bro..

rest assured the D4F reliability can rival the 4g series engine..since day 1, I start up my savvy like 6-10 tmes everyday, went for long distance trips, went up to genting, cameron many times; the alternator, starter motor and battery still working fine and it never break down on me...

One thing I dun like about the engine is the ignition coil that comes together with spark plug cables...you can't change the cables..if you have leakage you need to change the whole set including the coil even the coil is still fine..expensive RM400..

but thank god there's an owner when he's having leakage problem at the spark plug connector, he changed the connector using iswara cable plug conenctor...cost only few ringgit not need to change the whole set as advised by Proton SC, of course they only want to earn money from you.

-Other engine related problems are dirty throttle body and TDC sensor causing jerking and hard to start at low RPM - can be solved easily DIY.

-Ignition coil or cable faulty like I mentioned before - that could cause engine misfiring and jerking all the time.

So far my savvy since Dec 2005, I did not have any engine related problems...now using apexi open pod filter bought from a seller here ftzone..surprice as it seems to give better FC for similar route to cameron highlands...

The only problems: At about 10k km mileage, changed my abosrbers due to hitting potholes, changed rear drum brake hubs due to recall.

Due 20k service inspection, SC found out my washer tank leaking and they got their own initiative to change it.. but later on next trip to SC, found out later my original tank was not leaking...changed the faulty side windows rubber moulding that was out of shape since day 1...it was easy to claim from that EON sc branch where I sent my car to..I would say above par after sales service.

mileage now 32k km.. car still working great :regular_smile: ..so far my ownership of a Proton is not nightmarish like I heard from verywhere... the car didn't fail to start since day 1..scare the battery will fail only hehe

Forgot to add one thing.. Savvy's rear suspension can use Wira's rear absorbers. 100% similar..but fronts are not.

mmm...coil problem...just like my Kancil now coz using L5 turbo that engine similar as Kelisa..
For your info..even nowdayz, Kembara, Myvi, and kelisa also using independent coil...

Using wira absorber at the back?? good news what..very cheap only...
It is easy to take out the TB and the TDC sensor?? heard u mention there DIY the cleaning by urself..hehe..

TB always dirty due to the clean environment at here thus open pod air filter will dirty the TB faster..hehe..

Thanks for the info here and I am safe now coz always proton got a lot of problem even my wira also gave me a lot of problem somemore the FC is sucks...

mmm...coil problem...just like my Kancil now coz using L5 turbo that engine similar as Kelisa..
For your info..even nowdayz, Kembara, Myvi, and kelisa also using independent coil...

Using wira absorber at the back?? good news what..very cheap only...
It is easy to take out the TB and the TDC sensor?? heard u mention there DIY the cleaning by urself..hehe..

TB always dirty due to the clean environment at here thus open pod air filter will dirty the TB faster..hehe..

Thanks for the info here and I am safe now coz always proton got a lot of problem even my wira also gave me a lot of problem somemore the FC is sucks...

yea I know about the wira's having this problem dirty throttle body...it's very easy to take out savvy's TB and clean it...and I did some OCT on my savvy using Iswara petrol filter...copied some ideas from wira DIY king you know who haha a melakan guy also.... TDC sensor is kinda hard to take out cos it's embeded bemeath the hoses..

OIC...not as hard as what i aspected...
Anyway thanks for the effort...
Need to scratch my head and calculate properly for this new thing...
calculate wrong..die lol...hehe...

i just went to see savvy also yesterday,,,
planning to grab 1 for my wife,,
now comparing aveo, myvi, neo, and savvy,,
just wondering the spare part only now,,:(
and now they not giving any free services already right?
any1 can advise me?

i just went to see savvy also yesterday,,,
planning to grab 1 for my wife,,
now comparing aveo, myvi, neo, and savvy,,
just wondering the spare part only now,,:(
and now they not giving any free services already right?
any1 can advise me?

All Proton cars now come with 5 years/175 000 km warranty..you should at least get first 2 free service ( misleading actually only free labour charge not including consumable parts like oil, filter) but some owners got free consumable parts ass well..need to check out the freebies offered by dealers yourself.. one thing about Proton like say you bought a car from EON, you stil can service your car at any PE SCs.. and if you bought a car from PE you still can service your car any EON service but need to show the grant la..try to find the best SC that suits ur need and provide good service, for example in Melaka the main PE SC in bachang is sux compare to the EOM main branch in peringgit..I've got a great service from this EON branch, parts were quick to arrive and easy to claim but then the labour is DAMN expensive RM100 for even just a minor service...maybe for me sending my beloved savvy to that EON branch for multi point inspection and claim might be worth it..minor service I'll just send my car to smaller authorised SC...be a smart customer :regular_smile:

Just heard at workshop...
Savvy changing timing belt at PSC need 1k++ damn expensive man...
wanna to change but bank not allow me to change...can not trade in wira..need to topup back 8k to bank...sucks...

Just heard at workshop...
Savvy changing timing belt at PSC need 1k++ damn expensive man...
wanna to change but bank not allow me to change...can not trade in wira..need to topup back 8k to bank...sucks...

which workshop? I thik that workshop people should be shot dead for causing so much misunderstanding.

most around RM500 to change the whole set, outside is even cheaper.