Airtrek Parts Enquiry

yup... fun vs. practicality.. u have to decide. good luck and keep us updated on your decision.

For repairs and parts, you can still get it. Just contact Ah Wah. Contact info available at pinned topics.

My previous Atr averages around 5.8 to 6.5km/L. On highways, I get around 7+. Not the most fuel efficiency car but hey, you get plenty of space and fun. When I got the car, I raised the stock boost from 0.6 bar to 1 bar and used it for like over 2 years. Everything was stock and I did not face a single problem.

Then I dump all possible Evo mods, TD05, cams, injectors, block, pnp, full exhaust, fuel pump, dyno-tune, bla bla bla. Upped the boost to 1.6 bar getting around 270whp. I manage to clock 5.9 secs from 0-100km/h. It was fun but trade off with some turbo lag.

However I sold it in 2016 because it was an old car with aging problems, my wife drives it and we cannot afford to keep having problems like stalling out of sudden, bad starter, bad ICV, bad MAF, jam calipers, weird noise during cold start and many more. Even though I kept replacing the bad parts, new problems keep coming up. Remember, the car is at least 15 years now.

If you use this as a weekend car for some fun, then go ahead. Suprima S is no way near. However if you plan to use it as daily cow cart, unless the condition is superb, else it will not be practical due to reliability issues.
index.php
Ah! another sifu come in already, was waiting for him actually......hhahahhahha

You mod until 270whp, 6km/l ok loh, my VR stock 200bhp also around that mileage......lol

ah dang. if i buy this, my wife is gonna be using it as daily. need to really do a thorough check before buying then. another reason why i ask if the parts are easy to source. as in the handling and brakes parts. those are definitely need to be in good condition to be daily driven.
Do like me, wife gets newer stock car, more reliability, turbo car you drive mah......lol

Ah! another sifu come in already, was waiting for him actually......hhahahhahha

You mod until 270whp, 6km/l ok loh, my VR stock 200bhp also around that mileage......lol

Ya bro, long time no come here la... hehehe... how's life man? good to see u guys kicking.. hehe

Do like me, wife gets newer stock car, more reliability, turbo car you drive mah......lol

yup, that could work... I should have sold my RX-8 and keep the Airtrek instead but my family wanted the RX-8 so much... so majority wins.

like that i should just get the suprima s for her to drive and continue with my wira project. but airtrek seems like a better choice in terms of fun and spacious. :confused:
Just remember, u already have 1 project car. Having the Airtrek will makes it 2. Dont tell me u wont be gatal tangan to mod the Airtrek.....right?

U need space and fun....only suv/pickup/wagon can do all those quite well.

If u want fun but not much space and dont mind a Proton, get the 1.3 iriz. Damn these cute car is fun to throw around. FC is great too. Need more equipment, get the 1.6. Its much safer than any Perodua, trust me. The HPFFFF thingny is really doing its job.

bro.... if you want to save money and nagging from your wifey, then go with Suprima S. It's a newer car and reliability will be generally better. However don't put too much hope for performance.

I want to also make it clear that in stock, Airtrek is NOT a fast car. Like mentioned by the other brothers here, stock only churns out around 180'ish whp. Coupe with lazy INVECS II gearbox and ridiculously heavy chassis (over 1600kgs), the car is slow and heavy. The fun begins only when you start modding it.

I have heard some comments before that in stock, Airtrek hits 100kph sub 9 secs. That's far cry compared to what the catalog claimed - 6.5secs.

Just remember, u already have 1 project car. Having the Airtrek will makes it 2. Dont tell me u wont be gatal tangan to mod the Airtrek.....right?

If u want fun but not much space and dont mind a Proton, get the 1.3 iriz. Damn these cute car is fun to throw around. FC is great too. Need more equipment, get the 1.6. Its much safer than any Perodua, trust me. The HPFFFF thingny is really doing its job.

I think he should have 1 reliable daily car and 1 project car. Having 2 project cars scarifying reliability is not a wise decision. I have been in this situation before, Airtrek and RX-8. High maintenance, high fuel consumption and not meant to be stuck in jam for hours. I gave up.... just sharing my experience.

bro.... if you want to save money and nagging from your wifey, then go with Suprima S. It's a newer car and reliability will be generally better. However don't put too much hope for performance.

I want to also make it clear that in stock, Airtrek is NOT a fast car. Like mentioned by the other brothers here, stock only churns out around 180'ish whp. Coupe with lazy INVECS II gearbox and ridiculously heavy chassis (over 1600kgs), the car is slow and heavy. The fun begins only when you start modding it.

I have heard some comments before that in stock, Airtrek hits 100kph sub 9 secs. That's far cry compared to what the catalog claimed - 6.5secs.
for sure i will mod the airtrek. but just light mods. ahahaha. hmm. this will need another thought when i get the budget ready. :sweatsmile::sweatsmile:

I think he should have 1 reliable daily car and 1 project car. Having 2 project cars scarifying reliability is not a wise decision. I have been in this situation before, Airtrek and RX-8. High maintenance, high fuel consumption and not meant to be stuck in jam for hours. I gave up.... just sharing my experience.
No...no...we man never give...
We make sacrifice...hihihi

My sis own a Suprima and my bro own an Iriz 1.3. I prefer the Iriz as its the more refined car. However sanekit needs space so it has to be the suprima.

No...no...we man never give...
We make sacrifice...hihihi

My sis own a Suprima and my bro own an Iriz 1.3. I prefer the Iriz as its the more refined car. However sanekit needs space so it has to be the suprima.
yeah. iriz is a bit small. suprima price about same range as airtrek, used. hence the choice option. wife is not that picky, she's ok as long as it doesnt give serious issues or breakdowns. haha

Yah! that is why I kept VR since year 2000, and wife change her Wira for second hand Sonata III then new Chery SUV, then the Forester.....lol

dang. somehow i'm leaning towards airtrek more than suprima. ahahaha. still a long way to go. we'll see. :driver:

Like bro stutz said earlier, stock airtrek is not a fast car. but the potential is very high. we have so many tuned up fast airtrek on the street even got a manual trans swap. with so many evo performance parts to choose, its only a matter of budget and time. Or u can always let it mild tuned, but mod the external to look badass.. u know ur a mitsu blood brother rite? hehehe