Transplanting M50b25 into my E36

s1tl

Transplanting M50b25 into my E36 (engine just went in!)

Just wanna share my transplant experience here with all fellow ZTH member :biggrin:

How my engine died on me? :bawling:
Well I sent my car for a paint job into the famous Subaru Imprezza World Rally Blue (O2C)
Normally it takes 14 days for a full paint job to be done but I didnt rush the SIFU working on my car so it took 1 months for a perfect job to be done. This is how it looked like a day after the collection
http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/308987_10150864373835230_639215229_21329469_1032527890_n.jpg
http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/298694_10150864375860230_639215229_21329476_1375673863_n.jpg
The rims looked AWFUL! but this is because i was having breakfast and on the way to schedule a rim swap...

The problem started to arise after i set the appointment, on the night alone, i was going out for some food with a friend then suddenly! *Crank Crank Crank* engine started to gave out weird noise...

I presume it was carbon deposit stucked at the throttle body after a month of hibernation...so i revved it harder! 3-4000Rpm for 2minutes...then recovered. No more "weird" sounds... Then i continued the journey to the makan place...

Suddenly at the traffic light the engine just died at ilde....dang. it was 12am, pronounced dead.

Precaution of my own safety i pushed the car and parked it at some where safe to be inspected in the morning....

Next morning,
http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s720x720/320551_10150872887570230_639215229_21386523_1848139634_n.jpg
My engine decided to have some fun by spiking up the engine oil with some coolant :thefinger:

I presume gasket gave up but after much inspection at the workshop...the engine was a gonner...

Now, I am transplanting a new engine into this babe, a M50b25
the new engine looks something like this....
http://www.turnermotorsport.com/image/featured_bmw/featuredbmw_0999_engine_lg.jpg

Stage one, Engine Stripping
IMG_1796.jpg

Stage one, Section A (lol) Interior Stripping
IMG_1799.jpg

IMG_1797.jpg

i will update more when there is progress :biggrin: The sifu approximated the time of completion to be 2months from now. so i shall keep everybody updated ya ;)

*NOTE: NOT ASKING FOR DONATION WADSOEVER, THIS IS A FULLY SELF FUNDED PROJECT.
but p/s u may do so if u wan :rofl:

nope, too much hastle and worries...i did considered 1jzgte auto for a while but i didnt want to weld the parts onto the differential...so 325 it is!

keep posting....nice work on the paint

whats the output for M40b25?

sorry bro, it should be M50B25. the 4 and 5 side by side i terpress also didn't know hahaha.

the M50B25 output is 192 PS (141 kW; 189 hp) @5900 rpm and 245 N·m (181 lb·ft) @4700 rpm
zerotohundred in 8.0sec. that is stock la. but after so many years i think i would need a dyno to tell u specifically:biggrin:

Wah.. I like that shade of blue. So you waited a while to get the paint job done and now another 2 months to get that M3 engine in? Man, you have the patience of a monk.

Are you gonna use a manual with the new GB or the fangdangled newer autos with whatever tronic crap thingies? How's the roadtax increase gonna be like? JPJ no kacau since (I think) it's over 30% increase?

manual is the way to enjoy a M3 engine.....go Manual...go go

Wah.. I like that shade of blue. So you waited a while to get the paint job done and now another 2 months to get that M3 engine in? Man, you have the patience of a monk.

Are you gonna use a manual with the new GB or the fangdangled newer autos with whatever tronic crap thingies? How's the roadtax increase gonna be like? JPJ no kacau since (I think) it's over 30% increase?
Haha if there is a will there is a way. Not going manual la plus its a 325i. It's going to be a practicle car for day use

manual is the way to enjoy a M3 engine.....go Manual...go go

Not a m3 engine la joe. Auto 5 speed ;)

Sure will. I will be heading to the workshop later for some shots

Updates:
Interior and dashboard has been stripped nakid...
IMG_1803.jpg

Can even see a hole there edi
IMG_1804.jpg

This is the new engine
IMG_1805.jpg

What kinda mods you gonna throw on this baby? Daily drive is daily drive, but one doesn't just use a 325 only as a 'daily drive'. :biggrin: Sure to have some heavy footed days!

wow....good project...btw..mind asking where do find tht engine and where to transplant it...mine is e46..wana transplant too...

What kinda mods you gonna throw on this baby? Daily drive is daily drive, but one doesn't just use a 325 only as a 'daily drive'. :biggrin: Sure to have some heavy footed days!
haha duno maybe trumpets =D im using a 525 as a daily car for work also ma...not really heavy footed tho, i like to roll in style hahahaha xD

wow....good project...btw..mind asking where do find tht engine and where to transplant it...mine is e46..wana transplant too...
well, its located in Ipoh, Falim, a bmw specialist. i will take some photo of the shop and location if u want.

eujin are u the eujin that is driving the white GTT?

i think eugene GTT is Vspec
wah bro u got so many cars eh....

haha duno maybe trumpets =D im using a 525 as a daily car for work also ma...not really heavy footed tho, i like to roll in style hahahaha xD

well, its located in Ipoh, Falim, a bmw specialist. i will take some photo of the shop and location if u want.

eujin are u the eujin that is driving the white GTT?

Falim, oic..i know which shop..isit ultimate auto or new technics...

me driving white GTT??hhahah..how i wish...mine is light blue e46 done with m3 bodykit..if u c me around in ipoh...

ur project is my dream..how i wish to have money to convert ....