Toyota vs FD2R

celica what year ar? eee... FD2 what year again? play on same par la tai lo..

better i put celica vs dc5 also diffrent year again. choi

FD2R is not over-hyped. It is one of the best creation after Megan Fox. :listen:

It's track-ready production car waiting for the driver to unleash its potential. The question is whether the driver's skill can fully utilised its potential?

For comparison of FD2R with toyota models, I believed it should be this way:

FD2R vs Altezza 3sge = FD2R won
FD2R vs Celica 3sgte = Celica won in drag; and FD2R won in track
FD2R vs Altis = no need to answer. I will leave it for my 5 yrs old son to reply later on.

Anyway, we could not find a truly comparison because they were created for different purpose to meet different target buyers.

And no, don't shoot me :biggrin: I'm not typical Honda driver, cos I am also the proud owner of 3SGTE as well. So far, both my cars served me excellently.

p/s: It's called "VTEC" and not "Vtech". Same goes to "I-VTEC" and not "I-Vtech" :biggrin:

SIC rule :

1) http://www.malaysiangp.com.my/files/u1/pdf/MME11-Regulation.pdf

2) http://www.malaysiangp.com.my/story/mss-overview-mss-2011

3) http://www.malaysiangp.com.my/story/sepang-1000km-overview-sepang-1000km-2011

FIA :

1) http://www.fia.com/sport/Regulations/Records/AppendixD/chapter01.html

---------- Post added at 08:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:54 PM ----------

FD2R is not over-hyped. It is one of the best creation after Megan Fox. :listen:

It's track-ready production car waiting for the driver to unleash its potential. The question is whether the driver's skill can fully utilised its potential?

FD2R vs Altis = no need to answer. I will leave it for my 5 yrs old son to reply later on.

Anyway, we could not find a truly comparison because they were created for different purpose to meet different target buyers.

And no, don't shoot me :biggrin: I'm not typical Honda driver, cos I am also the proud owner of 3SGTE as well. So far, both my cars served me excellently.

p/s: It's called "VTEC" and not "Vtech". Same goes to "I-VTEC" and not "I-Vtech" :biggrin:

hehe typo error:banghead: but then again my point toyota old tech

i own mr2 3SGTE also proud of it. but it is old new already.

---------- Post added at 09:04 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:57 PM ----------

Honda Integra (DC5)
Manufacturer Honda
Also called Acura RSX
Engine : 02-06 Base
2.0L 160 hp (119 kW) I4
K20A3

02-04 Type-S
2.0L 200 hp (150 kW) I4
K20A2

05-06 Type-S
2.0L 210 hp (160 kW) I4
K20Z1
Production 2001–2006

vs

toyota celica
Seventh generation / T230 series
Engine : 1.8 L 1ZZ-FE I4 140hp
1.8 L 2ZZ-GE I4 190hp

Production July 1999 - April 2006

ala kesian...

hehe typo error:banghead: but then again my point toyota old tech

i own mr2 3SGTE also proud of it. but it is old new already.

hehehe, i knew it's typo error bro...:love:
Just boring today at office waiting for breakfasting....

3sgte goes for open class so not equal fight FIA said old already. so i wont be the smart one to track race against porsche, skyline & above, to fight them with 3sgte.

---------- Post added at 09:09 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:08 PM ----------

to think of 3sgte again... im sad its age already :bawling: damn FIA said its old

true, it all boils down to the drivers skills...

btw, Celica GT4 3SGTE is not an equal comparison to a DC5 or Civic typeR...it was a rally car so compare it to EVO or WRX...

whats your source bro?? is it a GT4 or convert, Sepang??

my comparison was from personal experience bro! so dont shoot me:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 09:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:44 PM ----------

FD2 or DC5 Vs Toyota :

my comparison is between 2 auto manufacturer is based on same year production, similar capacity of displacement & technology advancement.

Honda have i-vtech in comparison to toyota vvti cam technology

i personally dont own DC2 or FD2 i-vtech nor Any Toyota within close to similar production date.

Honda started to produce V-tech technology : on the CBR400 in 1983 known as HYPER VTEC & in the 1989 Honda Integra

Toyota started to produce VVT : 4A-GE engine in 24 December 1991

Current Toyota contender to Honda DC5 or FD2 is no where similar in engine displacement capacity (CC) & production date. what toyota have is celica, mrs ( 1800cc )

you may question why not add in Altezza? altezza 3S-GE engine is an old engine dated since 1986 & came earlier production 1998 FR layout.

celica & mrs is a good & equal contender to dc5 or fd2 share same layout FF.

-------------------------------------------------

i personally tested both Honda dc5 & fd2, Toyota Celica & Mrs. previously own Mr2 twin entry 3sgte. Mrs is a big disappointment in-comparison to mr2. so mrs is out of this match & it is MR layout. so what other toyota in the same class, similar production date & engine displacement other then celica?

Altis?

honda definately has the power which compliment by its technology jewel V-tech family.

while toyota has nothing much of technology to fight against honda.

------------------------------------------------

i've purchased in 2007 honda elysion 2.4. before making purchase, i have tested toyota estima 2.4 & alphard 2.4 just to make my purchase worth it.

Estima 2.4 vvti vs Elysion 2.4 i-vtec : estima feel sluggish & engine is damn lazy to rev
Alphard 2.4 vvti vs Elision 2.4 i-vtec : Alphard felt worst then Estima.

The honda K24A engine is always willing & happy to rev ( accelerate on command )
full tank (RM120) travel with full load 8pax KL - kuala kangsar - penang - KL. fuel cost less then RM100. while averaging 110kmh cruising & speeding 180kmh. ( speed cut )

on my test on FD2 type r it hit 225kmh on limit, which there was still roughly 1k before redlining it. while on DC2 it reach 220kmh, i ran out of space & didnt notice the rev at that speed.

i did a test drive on celica top speed end only at 190kmh

this test drive was on standard, strictly no mods cars.

---------------------------------------------------

personally i take FD2 or DC5 anytime for its i-vtec performance. while previously own Mr2 that was the last good toyota ever in my opinion.

hope that other toyota owner dont take any grudge on me for this. i once love toyota, dont like their year 2000 & above production cars.

toyota good engine was 1jz, 2jz, 3T-GTEU, 3S-GTE & AE family engine. other then that toyota just lost it.

---------- Post added at 11:09 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:08 PM ----------

FD2 or DC5 Vs Toyota :

my comparison is between 2 auto manufacturer is based on same year production, similar capacity of displacement & technology advancement.

Honda have i-vtech in comparison to toyota vvti cam technology

i personally dont own DC2 or FD2 i-vtech nor Any Toyota within close to similar production date.

Honda started to produce V-tech technology : on the CBR400 in 1983 known as HYPER VTEC & in the 1989 Honda Integra

Toyota started to produce VVT : 4A-GE engine in 24 December 1991

Current Toyota contender to Honda DC5 or FD2 is no where similar in engine displacement capacity (CC) & production date. what toyota have is celica, mrs ( 1800cc )

you may question why not add in Altezza? altezza 3S-GE engine is an old engine dated since 1986 & came earlier production 1998 FR layout.

celica & mrs is a good & equal contender to dc5 or fd2 share same layout FF.

-------------------------------------------------

i personally tested both Honda dc5 & fd2, Toyota Celica & Mrs. previously own Mr2 twin entry 3sgte. Mrs is a big disappointment in-comparison to mr2. so mrs is out of this match & it is MR layout. so what other toyota in the same class, similar production date & engine displacement other then celica?

Altis?

honda definately has the power which compliment by its technology jewel V-tech family.

while toyota has nothing much of technology to fight against honda.

------------------------------------------------

i've purchased in 2007 honda elysion 2.4. before making purchase, i have tested toyota estima 2.4 & alphard 2.4 just to make my purchase worth it.

Estima 2.4 vvti vs Elysion 2.4 i-vtec : estima feel sluggish & engine is damn lazy to rev
Alphard 2.4 vvti vs Elision 2.4 i-vtec : Alphard felt worst then Estima.

The honda K24A engine is always willing & happy to rev ( accelerate on command )
full tank (RM120) travel with full load 8pax KL - kuala kangsar - penang - KL. fuel cost less then RM100. while averaging 110kmh cruising & speeding 180kmh. ( speed cut )

on my test on FD2 type r it hit 225kmh on limit, which there was still roughly 1k before redlining it. while on DC2 it reach 220kmh, i ran out of space & didnt notice the rev at that speed.

i did a test drive on celica top speed end only at 190kmh

this test drive was on standard, strictly no mods cars.

---------------------------------------------------

personally i take FD2 or DC5 anytime for its i-vtec performance. while previously own Mr2 that was the last good toyota ever in my opinion.

hope that other toyota owner dont take any grudge on me for this. i once love toyota, dont like their year 2000 & above production cars.

toyota good engine was 1jz, 2jz, 3T-GTEU, 3S-GTE & AE family engine. other then that toyota just lost it.

why are we comparing Toyota and Honda MPVs now???:banghead:

Guys, plz use the "Quote" properly...the post is a mess!!!:stupid::biggrin:

Come on guys, it's not about Honda vs Toyota in general mar. It's only about one (1) FD2R that didn't leave one (1) rusty Toyota bucket by 9 miles mar. I guess we're all guilty of being "typical" Honda or Toyota fans, that's why we spend time talking kok here.

FYI, E-CB3-666,

You left out the Toyota 3S-GE BEAMS which was manufactured in '97 with 200 ps wor...or maybe you didn't know about that ?

Haha..typical Toyota lover. Anyway, enjoy your ride and meet more encounters. :)

Hahaha. Thanks, don't worry, I will. You have a nice day too.:biggrin:

celica gt4 aint 3sgte power meh?

driver skill, karanjit wira evo smoke alex porsche at sepang is diffrent story bro.

put mr karanjit on both
put alex y on both
put jason plato on both
or
even tsuchiya to compare both

*( same year technology in prodcution )

then it be equal base ground, driver skill aside.

as per : moded vs stock & moded vs moded.

some moded mrs will smoke some moded s2000 & vise versa.

why? diffrent mods, track setting & driver.

For SIC race regulation is according to FIA international race governing body.

it wont be fair race to put aryton senna with f1 turbo from its day to race againts current f1 champion with current f1 car rite?

altis vs civic fd2 is truely not at playing field as both design on diffrent purpose, but thats the best toyota can currently make up with. ( Y2K Above Production )

DC5 fight should be celica 7th gen. but some might say its not equal ground since its 1.8L engine & its year of production.

celica 7th gen equal match is dc2. why? same engine displacement 1.8L, 190hp & FF layout coupe. ( both should weight in the same weight )

i love post Y2k toyota cars. after that toyota got nothing, with its el cheapo feel & old news tech.

Bro zeus83,

No source actually. In fact, I never saw it before. That's why I said "I believed..." :listen: hehehe.. I just imagined that stock FD2R and stock celica GT4 ST205 having a duel at SIC. I could be wrong on this, it's purely just my "believe"... Please pardon me :adore: Too tired fasting today meh...

Anyway, like I said, we cannot find a truly comparison because they were created for different purpose, to meet different target buyers.

Cheers bro :tee:

Come on guys, it's not about Honda vs Toyota in general mar. It's only about one (1) FD2R that didn't leave one (1) rusty Toyota bucket by 9 miles mar. I guess we're all guilty of being "typical" Honda or Toyota fans, that's why we spend time talking kok here.

FYI, E-CB3-666,

You left out the Toyota 3S-GE BEAMS which was manufactured in '97 with 200 ps wor...or maybe you didn't know about that ?

3S-GE BEAMS derive from 3sgte also. same block base tech la

find me fd2 & dc5 proper match. *( similar year of Production, layout & power output )

i was comparing its tech on similar year production vehicle la. LOL

based on my full test comparison to commitment purchase thus owner ship.

baik aku compare new inspira to kancil. hello???:hmmmm:

---------- Post added at 10:28 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:24 PM ----------

FYI, E-CB3-666,

BTW : 3S-GE

The Toyota 3S-GE is an in-line 4 cylinder engine in the S engine family, manufactured by Toyota and designed in conjunction with Yamaha. While the block is iron, the cylinder heads are made of aluminium alloy. The pent-roof combustion chambers are complemented by a cross-flow intake and exhaust layout.[6] The spark plug is located in the center of the combustion chamber. The firing order is 1-3-4-2, with cylinder number 1 adjacent to the timing belt. The 3S-GE was designed to be light, the first iteration 3S-GELU weighing in at a low 143 kg (315 lb).[5]

The crankshaft, located within the crankcase, rotates on five aluminium alloy bearings and is balanced by eight weights. Oil holes are located in the middle of the crankshaft to provide oil to the connecting rods, bearing, pistons and other moving components. The intake manifold has four independent ports and benefits from inertia build up to improve engine torque at low and medium speeds.

A single timing belt drives the intake and exhaust camshaft. The cam journals are supported on five points between the valve lifters of each cylinder and on the front of the cylinder head, and are lubricated by an oiler port located in the middle of the camshaft.

The pistons are made from an aluminium alloy, designed to withstand high temperatures. An indentation is incorporated into the piston head to prevent the pistons from hitting the valves, should the timing belt break (this is not true of the later BEAMS motors). This is commonly referred to as a "non-interference" engine. Piston pins holding the pistons in place are locked by snap rings. The "Outer Shim Type System" allows for the replacement of the shims without the need to remove the camshaft. To adjust the valve clearance, adjust the shims above the valve lifters.

The first compression ring and the oil ring are made of steel, the second compression ring is made of cast iron. Compression rings 1 and 2 prevent exhaust leakage from the combustion chamber while the oil ring works to clear oil off the cylinder walls, preventing excessive oil from entering the combustion chamber. An oil pan baffle is used to ensure that there is sufficient oil available in the oil pan.

There are four generations of the 3S-GE, which were used in the Toyota Celica, MR2, Caldina, and Altezza. All 3S-GE engines had a displacement of 2.0 L (1,998 cc). Additionally, the turbocharged 3S-GTE engines are based on the 3S-GE platform.

LOL

---------- Post added at 10:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:28 PM ----------

FYI : Honda K series engine production starts at 2001.

Toyota 3S-GE was produced from May 1984

old la...

fair ground meh? siow ar?

---------- Post added at 10:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:33 PM ----------

im not honda nor toyota fan. i love cars & its technology contribution for auto motoring.

wonder how designer mpv owner feel when some moron claim mpv got no relevant to car? hmmm??

did you talk cock aka kok or did i. it did mentioned toyota vs fd2. so go figure!

no motor bike creation = no car creation & vise versa. grow up & not be a LOL weh.

---------- Post added at 10:40 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:39 PM ----------

im not talking. im typing. LOL

---------- Post added at 10:50 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:40 PM ----------

I agree with that. Toyota seems not interested in producing performance car like Honda do. Maybe they want to concerntrate on producing daily driven economy/family car to stay as a no 1 car production company all over the world. You have to find old model of Toyota or other model like Clio to compare with FD2R or DC5...

as bro Katana quote is true. cant compare fd2 or dc5 vs toyota current prod

so compare apple with apple & orange with orange, vice versa la.

why compare apple to orange?

type fact, dont talk or type cock with chicken & egg story. get fact then state you case.

So tell me, what is the correct fact here, genius ?:biggrin:

All the things you typed, I assume ? MPV vs MPV ? Or you had a 3SGTE ? Sorry, or was it about your origin of cars theory; no motor bike creation = no car creation & vise versa ? Not talking but typing kok, perhaps ?

Ok la, ok la, end of talking, oops, sorry, typing kok session. Whatever makes you happy, is fine with me.

Don't forget to include the Darwin theory while you're at it bcoz No human = no motor bike also, right ? :biggrin:

Take care, I'm taking time off now; :listen:to grow up like you advised. Bye..:biggrin:

Well, FD2R with K20a stock does about 6.39s-6.5s from 0-100km/h. So based on that, I think FD2R is not that weak in terms of drag performance. FYI, despite having the same K20a engine, the FD2R has better 0-100km/h timing when compared to the DC5R. Yes, we all know that the K20a power plant from FD2R is improved and pumps out 225hp...so even a stock DC5R is no match for the FD2R.

IMO, the reason why sifu 2O2R drew against the FD2R in a rolling start from 50-180km/h is prolly because the FD2R has shorter gear ratio 6spd box... which means the guy in the FD2R is required to shift into more gears to hit 180km/h while 3SGE Beams with 5spd box could require less gear change to hit the same speed. IIRC, FD2R needs to shift into 5th to hit 180km/h while 3SGE Beams 5spd can do it on 4th gear itself.

So there you go... its all about the gearbox ;)

Well, FD2R with K20a stock does about 6.39s-6.5s from 0-100km/h. So based on that, I think FD2R is not that weak in terms of drag performance. FYI, despite having the same K20a engine, the FD2R has better 0-100km/h timing when compared to the DC5R. Yes, we all know that the K20a power plant from FD2R is improved and pumps out 225hp...so even a stock DC5R is no match for the FD2R.

IMO, the reason why sifu 2O2R drew against the FD2R in a rolling start from 50-180km/h is prolly because the FD2R has shorter gear ratio 6spd box... which means the guy in the FD2R is required to shift into more gears to hit 180km/h while 3SGE Beams with 5spd box could require less gear change to hit the same speed. IIRC, FD2R needs to shift into 5th to hit 180km/h while 3SGE Beams 5spd can do it on 4th gear itself.

So there you go... its all about the gearbox ;)

this makes a lot more sense :biggrin:

2 Old 2 Rusty need to self submission at nearest museum. no fact, sore loser. Kok like chicken, sure ricer.

Bro, this is a friendly forum...don't simply attack or lash at your fellow ZTHians simply because you're biased towards a brand or a product...

i have noticed that your posts are mostly destructive....plz have some self control..

Peace:driver:

Let's just say that ppl who only read the first post may find it offensive to the FD2R owners, I am one of em, I mean, to call a 200k car overrated, a bit harsh right? That is until the OP said that this is a TCSS topic, then yeah, I follow all.

So tell me, what is the correct fact here, genius ?:biggrin:

All the things you typed, I assume ? MPV vs MPV ? Or you had a 3SGTE ? Sorry, or was it about your origin of cars theory; no motor bike creation = no car creation & vise versa ? Not talking but typing kok, perhaps ?

Ok la, ok la, end of talking, oops, sorry, typing kok session. Whatever makes you happy, is fine with me.

Don't forget to include the Darwin theory while you're at it bcoz No human = no motor bike also, right ? :biggrin:

Take care, I'm taking time off now; :listen:to grow up like you advised. Bye..:biggrin:

Bro Yau...it's the best move..things aren't interesting anymore in this thread..more towards personal attack rather than a casual discussion..c'mon bro..you are taking this thread waaaaay out of topic..relaaax! u didn't own it (yet)..it's a proven great car, everyone in the whole wide world knew that..no need to cut paste here there to prove..fd2r wins overall..this rust bucket case is different, he's just curious and asked fellow toyota members if ever dragged a fd2r before..seem not many toyota owners have tried their luck with this monster, because we all know fd2r is a beast in family car clothing..then came in few fd2r and honda owners humbly discussing about their opinion which is good..then came you destroying everything..nice..keep it up..now shoot me.

Lets all forgive and forget, after we're all matured adults right? Satu ZTH.

yeah like that very much. dude.. ya i started it. ( rite ) it prove nothing thus justify nothing with very little fact write up. certainly comparison between toyota vs fd2 / dc5 prove to be generic. some take it emotional on subject, like hello...

seriously immature. blaming me prove your level of maturity. go ahead & live in lala land.