I still prefer to inlet and outlet have 2 stage cams, high rev engine with close ratio gear box.
Atleast 150whp or power to weight with 1: 5.5kg.
Boyzone, thanks for your kind reply... you still prefer a more straight forward technology...rather than the quasiturbine... but Quasiturbine will be more efficient than Rotary engine. Shouldn't have any power lag since the engine design provides a continuous response and feedback.
I still prefer to inlet and outlet have 2 stage cams, high rev engine with close ratio gear box.
Atleast 150whp or power to weight with 1: 5.5kg.
em... you mean 2 stage cams is scatted cam or 2nd stage cams...
Vtec = 2 camshaft profile & lift.. 1 for low rpm.. the other 1 for high rpm..
Mivec = 1 camshaft profile & 2 camshaft lift..
VVTi = automatically adjust cam timing for power
VVTLi = ALL OF THE ABOVE.. hehe.. it's true..
iVTEC = ALL OF THE ABOVE.. too
CPS = can't find anything on this.. mayb just a marketing scam.. sorry Proton
which one is the most powerful???? depends on the tuner..
VTEC
![]()
MIVEC
http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com/corporate/about_us/technology/performance/e/images/mivec_ilst02.gif
VVTi
http://www.powerenterpriseusa.net/products/electric/camcon/vvti.gif
VVTLi
![]()
iVTEC
![]()
Vtec = 2 camshaft profile & lift.. 1 for low rpm.. the other 1 for high rpm..
Mivec = 1 camshaft profile & 2 camshaft lift..
VVTi = automatically adjust cam timing for power
VVTLi = ALL OF THE ABOVE.. hehe.. it's true..
iVTEC = ALL OF THE ABOVE.. too
CPS = can't find anything on this.. mayb just a marketing scam.. sorry Proton
which one is the most powerful???? depends on the tuner..
VTEC
![]()
MIVEC
http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com/corporate/about_us/technology/performance/e/images/mivec_ilst02.gif
VVTi
http://www.powerenterpriseusa.net/products/electric/camcon/vvti.gif
VVTLi
![]()
iVTEC
![]()
some say it will suffer when climbing hill,but from my experience after skimmed the flywheel the low end torque is better,a lil responsive lah when climbing hill.
And ive read an article somewhere that saying the cons of lighten flywheel is the rev will not hold when u are press the clutch.in other word momentum is lost after releasing the fuel pedal.but u can always release the clutch on free gear,let the car roll by itself.hehe
cps = 2 profile n lift, 23Xdeg for low rpm n 28Xdeg high rpm n not sure about the lift hight for profile in R3 NEO however on intake cam only n not exhaust cam, cuz they want to meet with EURO engine
for normal cps the profile is below then that ...
cps = 2 profile n lift, 23Xdeg for low rpm n 28Xdeg high rpm n not sure about the lift hight for profile in R3 NEO however on intake cam only n not exhaust cam, cuz they want to meet with EURO engine
for normal cps the profile is below then that ...
---------- Post added at 07:30 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:10 PM ----------
really, iVTEC = ALL OF THE ABOVE.. too![]()
Zul,
Thanks for the comments and it's a good sharing though.
iVTEC = VTEC in terms of performance?
---------- Post added at 09:22 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:19 PM ----------
Is there a difference between skimmed flywheel and lighten flywheel or it actually means the same? My mechanic told me that lighten flywheel is not recommended for turbocharged engine as the performance will suffer during hill climbing. I haven't tested it personally...not sure others have experience on lighten flywheel on turbocharged or supercharged engine.
Oh.. ya lor..
looking at the cam.. the intake cam has 2 profile & lift.. juz like the vtec..
i've edited my last post..
---------- Post added at 09:50 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:48 AM ----------
yup.. really..
VVTLi & iVTEC using 2 camshaft profile & lift plus automatically adjust cam timing for power
---------- Post added at 10:26 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:50 AM ----------
usually, people skim flywheel to make it lighter..
better get lighten flywheel from manufacturer.. because if u skim urself it will be out of balance..
-------------
ok.. since i'm bored & have nothing to do.. i will tell u guyz a story about this 'variable cam profile & timing'...
the car manufacturer like Honda, Toyota, etc have a dilemma...
The director say, "If we put a big cam for high rpm power, the car will not be drivable everyday.. because the low rpm power will be lost.."
"But if we put a small cam for low rpm power, the car will not be powerful at high rpm thus the horsepower rating is low.. so, how???"
Then, a wise man from the engineering dept says, "Why dont we put both cam into the engine?"..
The director agrees.. and the rest is history..
The end..
* based on true story 'BUT' Skrip cerita ini adalah rekaan semata2.. tiada kena mengena dgn yg hidup ataupun yg sudah meninggal dunia..
peace.. out..![]()
Big cam, small cam...there is another one i.e. High cam...For High cam, what is the reason for the rpm to be set at 1.5k or is this fact wrong? Higher rpm at idling means faster acceleration ka when you floor the pedal to the metal...something like F1 technology?
from my research (yes, i do like to research online)
high cam will loose power at low rpm.. meaning if u idle at 1k, it feels like ur engine is jerking.. mayb 'mati engine' jugak.. so, u need to set at 1.5k or above..
need people with hands on experience to confirm this
![]()
em... big cam lobe and small cam lobe are still stock factory...
high cam = high duration and high lift cam aka race cam, pergghhh....
but low end rpm = suffer la...![]()
however the low end may counter by close ratio with higher final drive (6 speed close ratio gbox)![]()
I thought for high cam, the rpm should not fluctuate so much and it might be related to throttle body faulty or something like that. Maybe, the 1.5k RPM setting for high cam is due to the adjustable cam pulley that is set at certain angle...need some experts to confirm this point as well la...any sifu can help to confirm this point or not...any engine type can be tuned to be high cam right?
---------- Post added at 07:56 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:54 PM ----------
Normally car only has 5 gears...I learnt that high cam is only syiok during highway drive and not city drive...and certainly, the FC will be sky high too.
I thought for high cam, the rpm should not fluctuate so much and it might be related to throttle body faulty or something like that. Maybe, the 1.5k RPM setting for high cam is due to the adjustable cam pulley that is set at certain angle...need some experts to confirm this point as well la...any sifu can help to confirm this point or not...any engine type can be tuned to be high cam right?
---------- Post added at 07:56 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:54 PM ----------
Normally car only has 5 gears...I learnt that high cam is only syiok during highway drive and not city drive...and certainly, the FC will be sky high too.