NewsVideos

Video: J’s Racing Honda S2000 vs WRC Mitsubishi Lancer EVO

mits-hondvidThe tuning scene is never short on comparisons and here’s one comparing a 2005 WRC Mitsubishi Lancer against a Honda S2000 tuned by J’s Racing (the same guys that took top honours at the 2008 MME race). Keiji Tsuchiya is at the wheel of the S2000 but I can’t make out who’s at the wheel of the Lancer. Now I actually didn’t think that these cars could be compared at all, it took me by suprise. Turn up those speakers and get rid of that gf, just for a bit.

Source: CarScoop

S
  • S
    sprinter
  • Oct 17, 2008
huuuhhh..damn fast s2k....
M
  • M
    mr eLL
  • Oct 17, 2008
wow its cool.....good job
M
  • M
    mattdc2
  • Oct 17, 2008
Lancer drive by japan top rally driver Fumio Nutahara, this video from best motoring vol.33
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Oct 17, 2008
Ok before that. Last time i mentioned i saw a S2000 play play with some Porsche 911 and a Modena on the streets before. I did say the S2000 can play catch up with those 2. But i don;t know how much mods the S2000 was packing but it was seriously fast also.

Now this Video 320hp S2000 is crazy. Presumely a stroked F22C 2.2 L unit from US. Secondly the WRC Evo driver is crazy la. I think the setup for the car is crappy. Did he have to drift at every corner? When you are against this S2000 that corners as flat as that, no matter how much horsepower or WRC spec you have, the opponent would still catch up! Its kind of stupid of the driver too. This driver seems to lack some skills, he locks up too often and powers off too early.

Another thing is this particular WRC car which is presume an Evo 7 or 8 is not competetive at all in WRC. For some reason of either bad driver selection or the car just doesn't cut out.

So it all boils down to driver too rather than car. If the Evo was in the hands of a capable WRC driver, i think it would have destroyed the S2000. But You look at how calm Keiichi is, you know the car is more than capable to take on a Lotus Exige.
M
The reason the WRC car lost to S2K is because the setup is not for this kind of road condition. Wrong tyre choice and the center gravity is just too high for the race.
M
  • M
    mattdc2
  • Oct 17, 2008
fumio nutahara is wrc oso but in production car class.. driver lancer spec=
4g63 inline 4 16v intercooled turbo
displacement 1996cc
bore x stroke 85.5x86.9mm
max power 300ps/5500rpm
max torque 55kgm/3500rpm
ecu magnetti marelli
turbo garrett
transmission ricardo 5 spd sequential
M
  • M
    mattdc2
  • Oct 17, 2008
yup agreed wrong tyre choice
B
  • B
    biz-da-tech
  • Oct 17, 2008
matthew i bet u are right :)

but ne ways. s2000 driver are fast haha :)
M
Because that fella is Mr. Tsuchiya....sure fast one...LOL
D
  • D
    deacon
  • Oct 17, 2008
I thought his name was Keiichi....?
K
  • K
    kentaki
  • Oct 17, 2008
yeah..keiichi is the correct one..kei-i-chi..thats how to pronounce it..
S
  • S
    savahn
  • Oct 17, 2008
The rally car is setup on dirt tires - you can see the pattern at the start of the clip. Its drifting around because those tires dont have enough grip to put down the power especially in the corners.

Its slow purely because of bad tire selection. If it were wearing semi-slicks or RE01s it should perform better.
  • Oct 17, 2008
wow...breath taking speed!!!
A
  • A
    abe81
  • Oct 17, 2008
Gigi Galli's Evo damn fast. Can't remember which route and race of the year, this car actually set the fastest time by Gigi(but unfortunately crashed out), some more purely manual, disadvantage compared other semi-auto transmission cars. If the correct tyres and wheel dynamics sure can beat S2000 easily.
I
  • I
    Ice Man
  • Oct 17, 2008
s2000 is one of the best in touge and it looks damn good...hands down
K
  • K
    kentaki
  • Oct 17, 2008
s2000 is manual..evo is semi auto..
N
  • N
    NeuroOne
  • Oct 17, 2008
i'm not talking down the ability of the S2000 but yes, the WRC Evo was not correctly set-up for this touge.
and the S2000's hp is more than the WRC Evo's.

anyway, nice vid..
i can only drool....
A
  • A
    abe81
  • Oct 17, 2008
This J's S no doubt is manual. The Evo seems to be manual, the driver's right hand has to release from steering to change gear, whereas semi-auto tranny is attached at the back of the steering, both hands must be completely hold the steering.
C
  • C
    Car God
  • Oct 17, 2008
Too too slow for the S2000 , i simply can overtake it using my wira.
E
  • E
    ehdrian
  • Oct 17, 2008
Car God, u mean u can over take the S2K at traffic lights?..LOL..
E
  • E
    ehdrian
  • Oct 17, 2008
Car God, u mean u can over take the S2K is stopping at the traffic lights?..LOL..
C
  • C
    Crazy Biscut
  • Oct 17, 2008
Thats the Fastest S2000 at the Gunsai Touge i think the only thing faster then that at the touge is the RX7 Amemiya.please correct me apalalu
J
  • J
    jeffbboyz
  • Oct 17, 2008
hahaha...ur right crazy biscut...im a fan of touge also...always watch those video on youtube...and this video quite long already...coz i watch it like early this year...

and RX7 Amemiya is the Touge champion...used to be the Red MCR Skyline R34 GT-R
A
  • A
    azlan87
  • Oct 17, 2008
it all goes down to the driver...
i think the evo WRC drifts too much.
i dont think that the setup is suitable for touge like these.

anyways, nice sounds by the s2k. fell in love with the lovely 'music' by that vtec.
B
  • B
    beatnik
  • Oct 17, 2008
blardy hell.. drift king almost lose control of the car near the finishing line.. but still managed to keep the car straight! very good doraiba!
A
  • A
    ah hock razing
  • Oct 18, 2008
The Evo looks under-tired for the race.. looks like gravel or dirt tires. No wonder it was a handful to control
A
  • A
    akatsuki
  • Oct 18, 2008
not an EVO WRC... its Lancer WRC.
btw i also think the setup of the Lancer is not for touge.
if u see the way the car behave then u will know.
S2K FTW!
S
  • S
    Sean
  • Oct 18, 2008
this track is Tsuchiya lover =,=
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Oct 19, 2008
tsuchiya sensei is the best for whatever lah... salute...
C
  • C
    Crazy Biscut
  • Oct 19, 2008
U guys should see the AE86 vs JWRC SUzuki Swift see hu won hehehe
P
  • P
    ProTiara
  • Oct 20, 2008
what a cheat for s2000.unfair...spec different!
I
  • I
    integrist
  • Oct 21, 2008
tsuchiya + J's Racing S2000... just damn fast
H
  • H
    HOndaGOD
  • Oct 24, 2008
what la u all stupid,honda S2k is not using Vtec la, it's using V12 compressor with twin turbo. Stupid
H
  • H
    HOndaGOD
  • Oct 24, 2008
i drive honda S2k before,everytime i drive the turbo sound so good la.
H
  • H
    HOndaGOD
  • Oct 24, 2008
the WRC evo is using Vtec,i drift evo before,the Vtec sound like motorccycle.
H
  • H
    HOndaGOD
  • Oct 24, 2008
u all can call me car idiot,coz i driven so many cars before.
H
  • H
    HOndaGOD
  • Oct 24, 2008
actually,dont know whether u guys believe or not,wira can overtake honda S2k during corners at batu ferringi.
H