News

New Petrol and Diesel Prices

1dc34401534f91e62f8e474b73d42632

The time has come much earlier than we first thought. You might have heard it through rumors and smses sent by friends and family. There’ll be new petrol and diesel prices from midnight tonight!

The new price for petrol is RM2.70 a litre. It will be increased by 78sen and diesel by RM1. The price of diesel goes up to RM2.58 from RM1.58.

The 40% increase in petrol price is part of the new fuel subsidy plan by the government in response to the increasing crude oil price worldwide. Under this revamped subsidy plan, drivers of smaller vehicles will receive a cash payment to offset the rising costs which will be reimbursed when you renew your road tax.

Domestic Trade Minister Shahrir Samad said that the new price of RM2.70 did not reflect the full market value, which could be as high as RM3 to RM4 when the price controls are completely removed in August.

I guess we all have to think twice before mashing the throttle from now on.

ATTENTION : PLEASE REFRAIN FROM MAKING ACCUSATIONS AND SLANDEROUS COMMENTS. ALL IP’S ARE LOGGED AND YOU ARE LEGALLY LIABLE FOR YOUR COMMENTS

Y
  • Y
    Yong_5290
  • Jun 4, 2008
this is like OMG WTF ROFL F@XK
M
  • M
    mokomoko
  • Jun 4, 2008
oh well....it is inevitable anyway.
just accept the fact and check your wallet before you start revving!

drive safely guys!
L
  • L
    LANE
  • Jun 4, 2008
WTF la ..
X
  • X
    xenith
  • Jun 4, 2008
Just got back from petrol station. Waited bout 10 mins to get petrol….
P
  • P
    Power_Hong
  • Jun 4, 2008
Its not the price increament of petrol that would hurt if you full the throttle. Imagine the chain reaction from the 40% increase. The sudden change. Food prices goes up, standard of living goes up. But its not possible to business management to raise your pay by 40% overnight. Even a 10% pay rise seems impossible for most companies at this point of time, as survival becomes a priority. The long term effect is unimaginable. We could foresee companies going bust as cost + overhead goes up (TNB gonna raise the rates).

I just cannot imagine my little Wira (4wd fuel tank) going to require Rm130 to top up full tank over the next 2 months and possibly Rm180 per full tank in August. Tonight's massive fuel grab at the petrol stations is the biggest I have seen, with myself having to wait about 45mins to get fuel (I really needed them as my tank is empty)

Anyway, as a badly AFFECTED Malaysian, I would really have to forgo many stuff in order to continue living my daily life....
W
  • W
    wongth7
  • Jun 4, 2008
haha..i would like to see more ah beng rev their car on the street..next thing they do is cry in the petrol station......now even how cheap proton is also no one will gonna buy car..LOL
T
  • T
    team_pirates
  • Jun 4, 2008
Hmmm ... I guess we better keep our car and used it in weekend only then and change to motorbike ... And better start dieting too as the price of food should increse ... Teh tarik for RM 3 per glass i guess ...
M
  • M
    munky
  • Jun 4, 2008
thank goodness i get 1000 liter free every month :P
E
  • E
    eujin
  • Jun 4, 2008
time to get my bicycle out frm my store room...
N
  • N
    najima69
  • Jun 4, 2008
i agree with u broo... power_hong...
i feel very pity to our fellas who is salary below rm 1500. hope the government come with the good incentive to them...

hope malaysian people change like people from nigeria always have tunjuk perasaan hehhehehe....

love u malaysia....
B
  • B
    bien335
  • Jun 4, 2008
Bus ticket also went up! WTF???

Just bought a ticket, and it cost me an extra RM10! Dammit!
W
  • W
    what?
  • Jun 4, 2008
wandering will the car price drop?
we're a petrol producing country and so proudly boast off about as well through Petronas and it's involvement in F1 and etc etc while people like you.. me.. and the guy seated next to me.. the "rakyat".. have to deal with imported fuel.. what a shame..
A
  • A
  • Jun 4, 2008
apparently majority of our oil is sold overseas, mainly Japan and Europe at a premium due to higher quality, lower sulphur content, etc.. ie we import for local consumption.. thats why the diesel available is not as good as what u can get overseas. imagine our petrol.. gulp..

anyways, this is what i heard/being told.. i stand to be corrected.. :D
E
  • E
    east
  • Jun 4, 2008
I can say alittle too high for a country wt car prices on the high side, tolls everywhere, bad road condition and jams everywhere... Did the government consider this??? i dont think so... In oversea they pay higher fuel price but the car price are cheap, toll are not everywhere, roads are wide and salaries are reasonable to compensate with the car payment. They get better quality car compare to ours. sigh... dissapointed
C
  • C
    cik_yat
  • Jun 4, 2008
electricity rate also increase leh...
K
  • K
    king_jamez
  • Jun 4, 2008
read that the G will sudsidies RM625 for car below 2000cc every year when u renew ur road tax...how if for those who just renewed the road tax rite before they implement all these? and this is only temporary...in august petrol will be sold according to market price which is around RM3 to RM4...how the heck are we gonna survive thru this? the G always compare our price to other country but y not compare their price of cars over there and the taxes? fine if u wanna stop the subsidy but stop the taxes and tolls as well...this is nothing but a heavy burden to us rakyat...wait till other stuffs hike up the prices as well...we'll end up begging at the sidewalk for meals...everything increases but not the salary...after this no one wants to work as SA anymore...since they are the ppl who uses the most petrol for travelling...such a disappoinment to us rakyat...=(
U
  • U
    Ultimate Cefiro
  • Jun 4, 2008
Every year Petronas earns billions of Ringgit, earn EVEN more while the crude oil price raise, but still have to cut RAKYAT's subsidy for petrol???? cash rebate of RM625 is for anually. But we have to pay more than RM625 for petrol surplus cost!! Especially for those who is running sales!! i.e. a vios for RM90 full tank, now raise 40%, full tank is RM90 + 36 = RM126 per tank!! if let say filling once per 4 days, every year we r filling 91 times of petrol, if my maths is good, how much is 91 x 36?? IT IS ALMOST RM3300 we have to pay EXTRA!!!!!!! after deducting RM625, we still have to bear RM2575!!!!! OMG fainting~~~~ I'd chosen my new bicycle in red, howabout u??
J
  • J
    jmohdazmi
  • Jun 5, 2008
The G said that they will safe around rm28b and that money will be channel to development and infrastructure. Do we see any development in our public transport? Did we see any improvement in our quality of life??? I DON"T THINK SO!!!
N
  • N
    naszal
  • Jun 5, 2008
damn....i'm sure its going to trigger chain-effects...everything else will go up soon.....
D
  • D
    Doink
  • Jun 5, 2008
this is going insane for t he prices...what will happen to the price of food later on?
and what about those running sales business???
S
  • S
    Stan
  • Jun 5, 2008
Sigh...I still remember when my mom brought me to school back in 80s...a Pajero full tank only cost not more than RM50...imagine RM206 today... Totally agree with all of the buddies who posted above us... I've just got married few days ago and wonder how I gonna "feed" my kids (if I do have any)... Imagine all the chain reactions...SIGH...
W
  • W
    wira putih
  • Jun 5, 2008
I agree with all you guys.....
These another thing I want to talk about. subsidy?...... for your guys outhere, actually there is no such things as the goverment paying subsidies... but in fact, petronas are paying royalty to the goverment. For last year, petronas earn 80bil but actually, they earn more 150bil. the rest paying the goverment royalty. You guys want to know one thing, when ever price of fuel in malaysia rise, the bonus for each staff for petronas get higher and higher.. my fren work there, he said last year, petronas staff gets 5 to 6 month bonus. that only for the lower grade, but for the manager grade, up to 20 month. But of course, thats their luck.

Adding more, our nation is oil exporter country, why we compare the price of fuel with singapore or thailand, these country aren't oil exporter. Try comparing with indonesia, Sudan, nigeria, or myanmar. The gov try to blur people eyes with ensentif, RM625 per year, about RM52 per month.. are you kidding. RM52 just enough only 19 liters. how far u can go with 19 liter per month. Currently I'm driving to work n back around 90km/day n around $30/day including jem, n almost $900/month. after fuel rise, from my calculation, it will be RM43/day n $1290/month. 1/3 of my salary.. So what are we going to eat, pay our bills, children...

The conclusion is, the gov is not at the best judgement to sort this matter. When Dr. M was PM, the price rise only from 70cents to $1.20 for 17 years.. So just tell us the truth, gov, why you want so much money from your people. We are suffering, but u up there are fiiling your banks in millions... just my 2 cents.
A
  • A
    andrew27
  • Jun 5, 2008
true true i'm only studying but now even wanna go college also i think we can hardly afford 2 carpool also,just start our bicyle forum and c how it goes la =D....arrghhh i waited for 1 whole hour and just as i was about 2 fill up the petrol station just hang a board saying 'petrol habis' ....*smack forehead* aduiii....
D
  • D
    detomaso_runna
  • Jun 5, 2008
yea....am the unlucky guy, last minute wana put fuel the price change to 2.704..... so sad..... susah payah que panjang.....sob sob
H
  • H
    hondavtec
  • Jun 5, 2008
Well I personally think that a sudden raise of RM0.78 is a very stupid move indeed. The government should have increased it slowly, maybe 10cent then 10cent, instead of a sudden jump off 78cent.

Oh, anyone found out the price of Shell V-power? If you have any clue please do post it up, I'm sure many zerotohundred fellow members would like to know as well. Thanks!
O
  • O
    Opt-ion
  • Jun 5, 2008
The price fuel raised in so sudden high, which is so difficult for so many of us to adjust to our tight budget. I can't imagine the chain of price raise of petrol, even anything that needs to be transported will it raise.

Even electric price is raised... I will now online frequent in the office onwards, and offline at home. :(
E
  • E
    E30YGC
  • Jun 5, 2008
guys, i can relate to you all..this is really a crap piece of news. Take it positively, work hard, get the necessary credentials and migrate to a country with more 'transparent' and capable government.

Thats what I am doing.

Things are really getting silly here.
H
  • H
    hondavtec
  • Jun 5, 2008
Shell V-Power prices, anyone?
A
  • A
  • Jun 5, 2008
v-power = 3.20 i think!
M
  • M
    m3 power
  • Jun 5, 2008
<em>Admin: Removed due to unnecessary comments</em>
S
  • S
    spikyz
  • Jun 5, 2008
lets vote for better life, lets vote for other-party-than-bn. hahah i even willing to support independent party. charade from empty-full = rm60 , now rm81. per week usually, damn laaa, rm625 is not enuff
X
  • X
    xand
  • Jun 5, 2008
FUEL PRICE WILL UP AGAIN IN AUGUST, MOST PROBABLY PRICED AROUND RM3 - RM4 ... So prepare la. Rest in peace!
S
  • S
    serigala
  • Jun 5, 2008
R
  • R
    rossifumie
  • Jun 5, 2008
hi E30YGC...

i am agree with u...

as eujin said,time to get my bicycle out frm store room…

what the h3ll,everything is happening like ppl in malaysia earning 10k/per mth?!!

petrol,food,TNB,life cost n then water, bla bla n it goes..

its becoming live myanmar ,only super rich ppl can buy car n afford to buy petrol to drive it n most of them cant do that.

we are doing gd so far,even petrol price goes up but nt until to a extend of 0.78cent per liter!!!! at one time...

i saw a massive jam at petrol pump in JOHOR yday.1st in my life,n still there are foreign car there pumping our petrol...if goverment wants to make foreign ppl stop buying it,they should stop them ,nt by raise the price n give MALAYSIAN peanut ..i mean that amout that they wanne give really sound childish...

n if its really sound like goverment wanne save cost,dont cut subsidy on thing that ppl NEED to use everyday..if yes also pls correct PUBLIC transport first..everything are undone,yet they still rushing.

what gonna happen to ppl who earn below 2k/mth...wif kid,car,hse..god pls save us....

really wish to be MALAYSIAN once upon time ago...

NOW!!!!!!!!!!!

wish to migrate bfore things get uncontrol...

sorry if my words hurts ane1...
T
  • T
    toin_toin_toin
  • Jun 5, 2008
<em>"Datuk Shahrir Samad baru-baru ini mengatakan subsidi minyak adalah sebanyak RM56 billion manakala semalam Tan Sri Nor Mohamad Yakcop mengatakan subsidi minyak sekadar RM28 billion.

"Apatah lagi menurut Laporan Kewangan Kerajaan 2007, anggaran keseluruhan subsidi 2007 adalah RM12.0 billion, justeru itu kami menganggarkan bahawa jumlah subsidi petrol adalah hanya sekitar RM8-10 billion," katanya.

Gabungan Persatuan Pengguna Malaysia (Fomca) pula menggesa duit sebanyak RM13.7 bilion hasil penjimatan bagi mengurangkan beban kos sara hidup pengguna. </em>

Admin: Removed due to unnecessary comments<em></em>
T
  • T
    toin_toin_toin
  • Jun 5, 2008
emiriah arab bersatu RM 1.19 cent per litter
mesir RM 1.03 cent per litter
bahrain RM 0.83 cent per litter
Qatar RM 0.68 cent per litter
kuwait RM 0.67 cent per litter
arab saudi RM 0.38 cent per litter
iran RM 0.35 cent per litter
nigeria RM 0.32 cent per litter
turkmenistan RM 0.25 cent per litter
venezuela RM 0.16 cent per litter

S
  • S
    satria baja merah
  • Jun 5, 2008
N
  • N
    nakata86
  • Jun 6, 2008
looks like i'm opting to stay and grow my roots here in australia after graduation after all. though i have always wanted to come home to msia after so many years studying abroad but it looks like my return is no longer indirectly welcomed haha. sad case.
M
  • M
    machaina
  • Jun 6, 2008
ksian rakyat..
takpe,thanx pak lah...
Malaysiaku gemilang,terbilang,cemerlang..duitku pun dah mula hilang
J
  • J
    juhari eg6
  • Jun 6, 2008
A
  • A
    Avanzato X4
  • Jun 6, 2008
Yes! demolish all the toll and we willing to pay rm4 perlitre petrol! haha!
take the subsidized money to build more road! more road! that won't cause JAM!!!
M
  • M
    mygnie
  • Jun 10, 2008
hello Malaysia Govt~!..don compare us with others country...when u earn Singapore money example,----&gt; $s1000,u can buy an nike at this price $s100,means we only use 10% of our income to buy a nike.....at Malaysia,u earn rm1000....u take rm500 to buy a nike...50% of our income to buy an outdated nike in Malaysia....poor thing to me as Sabahan oso...living expenser at Sabah is high like KL, but the salary here is Poor like indon....how we going to live?????maybe eat ubi kayu ...like what Goverment said,we should change our life style...maybe i should cut my streamxy, cut my astro,cut my insurance and cut hse phone using prepaid one...coz we r running at a tight budget every month...gdnite~!!!!!!!!!!!!!
M