McLarenMercedes-BenzNews

Mercedes Mclaren SLR Stirling Moss To Be Revealed Next Month

main1

The world of exotic supercars is about to be shaken up like it has never been before. Come January, Mercedes-Benz will officially unveil the 2009 Mclaren SLR Stirling Moss at the Detroit Auto Show.

mercslrstirlingmoss_01

The Mclaren SLR features various special editions with well known tuners shipping out most of the hardcore SLR’s around today. But this, direct from the factory SLR Stirling Moss will be the final chapter to the SLR heritage. It will also be the last vehicle built under the partnership with Mclaren.

mercslrstirlingmoss_04

Even when priced at steep €750,000, sources say that Mercedes should have no problems finding buyers for the 75-car allotment. Each car will feature full carbon fiber bodywork wrapped over the standard car. Powering it will be a 650hp supercharged 5.5-liter V8 mated to a five-speed (!!) automatic gearbox transplanted from the SLR 722.

mercslrstirlingmoss_11

Other than being able to reach 100km/h in 3.5seconds without a roof or a windscreen – the other unique feature is the “swing-wing” doors, retractable air brake that can be operated manually (away from the passenger hopefully) and a two piece tonneau cover (stored in the booth) that can cover the entire cockpit or just the passenger seat, Lotus 2-11 style.

mercslrstirlingmoss_12

There is a bittersweet thing of having a car that lacks any sort of roof or a proper windscreen. The sweet thing is that you get to feel the hurricane in your face when you are doing 350km/h (that’s before you crash from the blindness it causes) and the bitter thing is that we will have to see Jeremy Clarkson’s face warp again when he tests it. Check out the gallery below for more pics on the SLR Stirling Moss.

mercslrstirlingmoss_10
mercslrstirlingmoss_01mercslrstirlingmoss_12mercslrstirlingmoss_08mercslrstirlingmoss_09mercslrstirlingmoss_10mercslrstirlingmoss_02mercslrstirlingmoss_11mercslrstirlingmoss_03mercslrstirlingmoss_06mercslrstirlingmoss_04mercslrstirlingmoss_05mercslrstirlingmoss_07

Source: AutoBlog

S
  • S
    starr
  • Dec 19, 2008
lol.. recession.. what recession???!
H
  • H
    hornydrifter
  • Dec 19, 2008
god DAMN..to drive this car...u need a google...
M
  • M
    mickeysew814
  • Dec 19, 2008
n umbrella
I
  • I
    iann
  • Dec 19, 2008
can i have mine with a WINDSHIELD?
T
  • T
    tim
  • Dec 20, 2008
what the..
M
in malaysia we need to use a payung to drive this fellow.. what if it rains?
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Dec 20, 2008
I think this car is more of a track car. The competition should be from Ariel Atom, Caterham & X-Bow. I cannot see another open top 2 seater to compare with it. It is the future. If you catched the last episode of OverHaulin in TV3 last Friday, it was a T-Bird with an open top. Not convertible. And Chip Foose says, its a 4 wheel motorcycle! Good logic!

Looking back, who wants such a flashy car with a roof? hahaha.
V
  • V
    vincent
  • Dec 21, 2008
Seriously this is one of the best looking SLR.
V
  • V
    Voxism
  • Dec 21, 2008
do u guys think that the rims is abit normal and common for this cool merz?
C
  • C
    chiewwl
  • Dec 22, 2008
realy not suitable in bolehland...
C