MalaysiaMitsubishiNews

Federal Government Purchases 10 Mitsubishi Evo’s – For Police Cars?

2448_871505450465af854135a4This got us baffled, a report at MySinChew indicated that a fleet management company, Spanco, has signed a deal in June of this year to supply the government with 2,500 Proton Waja’s and 10 Mitsubishi Evolution’s. Why would they ever need such cars is beyond us, maybe they finally decided to sponsor Karamjit Singh, which we highly doubt so, or maybe the bad guys are getting away much easier these days, hence the raise in crime rates. Whatever it is, hopefully they thought about it long and hard before investing our money in cars we otherwise cant afford.

We don’t mind if they’re really going to use it to catch bad guys, we’ll even advise them on how and where to make it faster, just hope they don’t use it to ferry some politicians around together with police outriders.

Source: PaulTan

S
  • S
    sprinter
  • Jul 29, 2008
msia police use evo? i want to be a police oso like diz...
W
  • W
    wonderkid
  • Jul 29, 2008
if like tis, then cannot speed on the highway anymore... who know suddenly an evo with police siren already behind u
E
  • E
    Elmo_X
  • Jul 29, 2008
haha for me i think they use it for those grand escort
last timei passing sungai besi highway perdana escort ferrari F430
cant catch up haha and not fancy
M
  • M
    Mr eLL
  • Jul 29, 2008
what a waste buying evo for police.
Malaysia is too small no where to run for bad people sooner or later they will be catch.
If they want to catch speeding cars in the highway they can do at plaza tol no need to buy evo and waste fuel casing people just for RM300 summons per car.
X
  • X
    xand
  • Jul 29, 2008
Patrol police cars on highways (i.e. Satria GTi's and especially Perdana's are high in maintenance)... heheh, following Terengganu's footstep... so they apply sponsorship (Spanco) for Evo's...
By the way, don't know got any car-jackers dare to steal these Evo's anot... if they wanna steal it, think they need alots of courage and a nearby chop-shop/garage to settle it....
A
  • A
    aku_sangap
  • Jul 29, 2008
yep......police evo..wohooo...!!...
I
  • I
    imsuperstar
  • Jul 29, 2008
well, people will take the chance to race the evos i reckon?
L
  • L
    lol
  • Jul 29, 2008
LOL.. police drive Evo? That would be funny. There was a few times i saw police car, they wanted to avoid the jam.. You know how they do it? They cut to the left lane and try to go over the side walk for the pedestrian to walk.. lol.. So, meaning the left side of the car is on the pedestrian walk while the right side is on the road.. and they just drove off.. It was quite funny and i wanna take picture of it but i didn't.. shucks.. >.<
X
  • X
    xenith
  • Jul 29, 2008
Evo 10 right?
N
  • N
    na_power
  • Jul 29, 2008
looks like evo 10
N
  • N
    na_power
  • Jul 29, 2008
i mean evo 9
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Jul 29, 2008
wat a BS news!!
F
  • F
    Force
  • Jul 29, 2008
In future we will be seeing police cars in sepang doin the 1/4 mile run..hahaahha
B
  • B
    busy_walk
  • Jul 29, 2008
Whatever it is... I totally support this move by the government... They will have the ability to catch up with bad guys...
E
  • E
    egb18c
  • Jul 29, 2008
ive heard bout satria gti wit evo3 engine police car.
they said that d car park near bangi.
but dunno la wheter true or not.
K
  • K
    kenzo
  • Jul 29, 2008
habis lah me, kenot run away from police already, but this evo's are not just to catch those ppl speeding, sometimes ppl speed away soo fast, because got some other reason, maybe they have drugs or illegal guns and all...
T
  • T
    triple_c
  • Jul 29, 2008
great... the benz issue, now the evo issue...
no matter kembara or evo, also just want kopi duit, what's the point?
S
  • S
    saiyuke
  • Jul 29, 2008
haha.... Polis evo huh? i think there will be a Sepang track day for polis soon, just for them to sharpen their skills... ;p but make sure the 180km/h speed cut is remove, else will still lose to cheap car.. lol...
H
  • H
    huakenny
  • Jul 29, 2008
ouch...i wan be a traffic officer edi......
P
  • P
    pandaB
  • Jul 29, 2008
hehehe...lets those hiways speeders reaction on this...:)
S
  • S
    Stylites-x
  • Jul 29, 2008
police with waja or smtg common,
cant really predict the nex move of the barisan goverment .. its gettin lamer n ... speechless.
B
  • B
    bien335
  • Jul 30, 2008
Singapore police have WRX STi's as their highway patrol cars.
E
  • E
    eujin
  • Jul 30, 2008
hope tht evo police car got the speed limiter still on..thn can go beyond 180kph..u cant catch me....
N
  • N
    na_power
  • Jul 30, 2008
what wrong with the gov spending money on car? atleast we can see the product, not like on megaproject which half or more of the project cost goes to crony pockets
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Jul 30, 2008
Evo 10 or Evo 9...doesnt matter..wasting money still. car nowaday does faster..but to buy faster police car just not practical.

BUT...we'll see..
  • Jul 30, 2008
funny if the police dude driving got no balls to tekan or scared scratch the car and the bad guys escape anyway lol

i agree with na_power also at least if they invest in evo we can see it on the roads rather than they spend money to send a "passenger" to space.
K
  • K
    kenzo
  • Jul 30, 2008
yea guyz, wats wrong if the goverment spend on this kinda cars, i mean everybody so proud that singapore highway petrol cars using subaru wrx, why not if malaysia highway petrol cars uses evo's? well they are not really bothered about ppl speeding, but sometimes ppl who brings in illegal stuff from thailand or other country, they could at least chase those ppl rite?
F
  • F
    ftzone
  • Jul 30, 2008
for sure they have Subaru Impreza patrolling the highways now! (inside news)
  • Jul 30, 2008
then if catch by evo police car...duit kopi sure increase!!!
B
  • B
    Billy
  • Jul 30, 2008
its becoming like NFS hit 5 where the police come out with fancy sports car...face it, those ass cops r they even trained for driving as fast as we does?come on we don mind getting few scratches on our car, but for those cops who have to report every single thing?besides, i feel this is jz a scandal for those cops to earn extra. have scratches they can claim double for re-painting/repairing cost.half in goes to their pocket.i bet while purchasing the bloody car, those guys will submit the price double the real thing n ask for fixing this shit n that pee to the car for some wat reason n earn big bucks in to their pocket.scandal jz scandal.
M
  • M
    Mywira
  • Jul 30, 2008
erm...if government give Evo as police car,
then we have to modify our car faster than Evo's...xD
so that they cant catch us by using Original Evo...kakaka
W
  • W
    wans
  • Jul 31, 2008
once i saw polis waja cannot kejar kembara....it is not the car that matter but the driver.....i think they just want to fooling around like teens in evos...after this u will see some police dudes in the forum :D
K
  • K
    king_jamez
  • Jul 31, 2008
well...if they really put those evo to good use then it's really fine...if they ever gonna use those evo to patrol on the our street then it'll only be a waste...i've seen a waja trying so hard to chase a r34 at npe...it is almost impossible...r34 vs waja...wat a joke...but before that make sure the policemen have undergone some pro driving lessons....if not they'll end up crashing the car...LOL
R
  • R
    rusifiz
  • Aug 1, 2008
10 evos right.. not evo 10...
If they really do it, I hope they dont remove the speed limiter..
if that is the case, I can outrun them at top speed.. hehehehe....

they are using perdana and satria gti as highway patrol cars.. and gti top speed is around 240kmh which should be enough for high speed chase... not that many normal cars on the road that can reach well above 240kmh in my opinion...
E
  • E
    Eddiesan
  • Aug 2, 2008
i was wondering which workshop that modify those police Gti that can goes up to 240kmh with stock exhaust .....Malaysia Boleh...
L
  • L
    LMF
  • Aug 2, 2008
Waste money on EVO.Driving skill & GUTS + ENGINE is the most important.I think the police know only how to hit people's back when near our tail.Or maybe IF surpass a little,they can open their windows and throw paint or chicken egg to stop us.go go power VTEC~!!!!!
U
  • U
    Uncle9
  • Aug 2, 2008
I recommend gov buy F1.LOL
Y
  • Y
    yatt
  • Aug 5, 2008
everyone dreams to drive this supercar..i think may be they jealous when they see many RB,4G,Vtec or else on the road. so they want to drive that bullet also..come onla govt. dont waste at such spending.. unreasonable.only for 300 summons i guest..couples of thousands maintenance per year each..rather than preventing illegal race on the road, better they stop import supercar.....if they can,t,so just let the supercar push to the limit..the purposes of ppl bought the are what..to speed right..so funny la this fxxking govt.
    3g PRO
  • Sep 30, 2008
i think it good for a short therm, for a long term used evo & sti is expensive to mantinin, in brunei the police used vios, corrola diesel, the leatest is magna 3.8, bmw is used to escot vvip only
M
  • M
    mfj
  • Dec 29, 2008
how about 2500 evo and 10 f1 car for police dept. ???
wasting our money lol.
R
  • R
    riqy
  • Feb 24, 2009
waste tax payer money
R