[WTA] Max boost of C20B Turbo

zeus83

Oct 29, 2006
KL-Damansara
Just curious,

what is the highest boost level you guys have tried with the stock C20b:hmmmm:? which is found on the 3rd revision of the infamous 3SGTE engine.

Reason: planning to get boost controller:biggrin:

ericgtmythos

Jan 6, 2010
Kedah
ya ya.. I also want to know!

Bro Zeus, I have use boost controller set at 1.0bar, condition OK.:top:
But dun no how about 1.2bar. Coz I have view some info from net 3rd gen 3S-GTE
can affort 1.3 bar as max with ori C20B turbine...so wat do ur think?? ..:hmmmm2:

zeus83

Oct 29, 2006
KL-Damansara
some say factory boost for C20b is 1.4Bar....which in reality will not apply due to age factor....im aiming at 1.1Bar...not sure if can tahan:hmmmm:

now stock boost is 0.9 MAX

this thread is open to any C20B user (and not necessarily 3SGTE) :)

tom's

subang
1.4bar max......my mr2 i did 1.4bar twice......more than that, say bye bye to ur fins....hahaha....my mr2 used to set low boost 1bar...high boost 1.2bar

ericgtmythos

Jan 6, 2010
Kedah
1.4bar max......my mr2 i did 1.4bar twice......more than that, say bye bye to ur fins....hahaha....my mr2 used to set low boost 1bar...high boost 1.2bar
:itsme:Sifu Tom's, is that any boost cut for ur MR2 or ur ST205? only using boost controller can fix the high boost 1.2bar d?? I would like to boost up too for my Celica, any advice plssss...:adore:

zeus83

Oct 29, 2006
KL-Damansara
:itsme:Sifu Tom's, is that any boost cut for ur MR2 or ur ST205? only using boost controller can fix the high boost 1.2bar d?? I would like to boost up too for my Celica, any advice plssss...:adore:
Tom's was using boost controller.....

Tom's,

which one u recommend for our turbo's:

HKS EVC
Blitz SBC
Greddy PRofec
?

Thx

zeus83

Oct 29, 2006
KL-Damansara
Bro Zeus, im using APEXi AVCR to controll my boost, dun no Tom's using wat type??
yeah....forgot abt the Apexi...;)

wats ur boost cut now? try setting the AVCR to 1.1 and c.....:driver:

ericgtmythos

Jan 6, 2010
Kedah
Yup... I will try since already plan. Is because I hear that Tom's have set his MR2 high boost in 1.2bar d, if get his advice will easy the trouble shooting during setting...hi hi hi..:biggrin:

zeus83

Oct 29, 2006
KL-Damansara
Yup... I will try since already plan. Is because I hear that Tom's have set his MR2 high boost in 1.2bar d, if get his advice will easy the trouble shooting during setting...hi hi hi..:biggrin:
Try since u have it bro! n lets us know the results:burnout:

tom's

subang
i'm using hks evc 3 on both celica n st205.......if 185 or mr2 225 ecu boost cut at 1 or 1.1bar....for 205 n mr2 245 no boost cut.......1 thing good about hks evc it comes with scramble boost function & can download the manual & quite easy to set.....makes sure u change fuel pump n add fuel regulator 1st.....both my mr2 & gt4 running aftermarket ecu.......

zeus83

Oct 29, 2006
KL-Damansara
ic....so stock fuel pump cant tahan the 1.1/2 boost right?

btw i just dyno n got 245PS~240whp @ 0.8 Bar...not sure if thats ok....:hmmmm:

tom's

subang
245hp is quite high.......but na & turbo gearbox will give diff hp rating coz of diff gear ratio & final drive......

ericgtmythos

Jan 6, 2010
Kedah
i'm using hks evc 3 on both celica n st205.......if 185 or mr2 225 ecu boost cut at 1 or 1.1bar....for 205 n mr2 245 no boost cut.......1 thing good about hks evc it comes with scramble boost function & can download the manual & quite easy to set.....makes sure u change fuel pump n add fuel regulator 1st.....both my mr2 & gt4 running aftermarket ecu.......
Ohh...IC... is that means even stock ECU ST205 also without boost cut right? only we have to make sure the fuel pump & fuel regulator to support it. Am i right? :rolleyes:

zeus83

Oct 29, 2006
KL-Damansara
245hp is quite high.......but na & turbo gearbox will give diff hp rating coz of diff gear ratio & final drive......
correction: 245wPS not HP so ~240whp:biggrin:, how do think will be the power o/p when getting the E153 G/B??

---------- Post added at 09:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:33 PM ----------

Ohh...IC... is that means even stock ECU ST205 also without boost cut right? only we have to make sure the fuel pump & fuel regulator to support it. Am i right? :rolleyes:
still wondering abt the same thing....

Did anyone know what happened to the magazine? I was buying it for almost every month but it seems that recently I can't find it on sale anymore since January. Is it discontinued?