why no powerful wrx in sepang drag

pathfinder

Mar 6, 2005
fellow subaru guysjust wondering why no fast wrx in drag event....
is it complicated to mods&tune boxer engine?

in uk....wrxs are hot. in one event....a wrx reach top speed of 190mph in top speed test!
many running 10 & 11 secs for 400meter.

wish to see boxer in action in sepang

Andy Ng

Mar 1, 2004
Puchong
drag is all about money...the more money you can spend, the faster the car...

personally, for myself, buying a AWD "rally inspired car" be it a Subaru or a Mitsubishi or any other make, is to enjoy and appreciate the total aspects of spirited driving...cornering, braking, accelerating, handling, power, speed, traction/grip, reliability, comfort (if any), chassis strength, drifting, tarmac, loose surface...

i think many who buy an AWD turbo car...wanna feel most of the above...

Drag if just 2 aspects of driving...power and acceleration and both governed very much by money...

just not my cup of tea...

Drag itself is a sport by itself...special in its own way...for certain enthusiast...just like drift is usually for FR enthusiast...

of course there are few monster WRX in town because there are too few experts here that can tune a subaru properly...mitsu experts a plenty...lucky for mitsu owners...

pathfinder

Mar 6, 2005
thank u andy for reply.

1st....i never meant to downgrade wrxs. i know they are great cars.

i do understand also the true purpose and nature of these such cars being produced....for motorsport oriented drivers who enjoys to drive. awd machine is great to drive with all weather capabilities,for track, rally,drag, or just as rocket commuter.

the purpose i send this thread is just curious about wrxs mods scene in malaysia. i just want to know whether wrxs are difficult to mods & tune for drag purpose.

as for rally ....no doubt wrxs are excellent machines.

as for drag....no significant fast car meant for drag in malaysia yet. im glad if there any wrx in sepang for drag.

as my supporting & encouraging to wrxs drivers in m'sia........in uk they proved already that wrxs are very capable machine for drag. what surprising me...a wrx with stroker kit beats skyline gtr34 for max speed competition. the wrx manage to clock 190mph...that's 304 km/h. it's real fast. as for drag...many can clocked 10 sec...fast also.

i love wrx...the engine sound is great.wish to see wrx in drag event.

good luck guys.

Boink Boink

Me also dont wanna degreade WRXs la... but would it be true that in Stock form, Evos have better pick up in almost all gears?
for example at 80km/h and at 120km/h?

Anyone done any comparisons arr?
This is what I read for the Ver 7s fitted with TD04s against Evo dunno whats.... at that time la.

Also me looking for a WRX la.... Ver 8 would be nice. Anyone?

sabelt

Dec 7, 2003
Having a quickest 1/4 mile time doesnt mean you're the king in motorsports. If you know the right people to tune for you, it shouldnt be a problem to drive it happily and safely. As for me, reliability comes first, no point spending RM100k++ without proper hardware and equipment, not just subaru, even other cars. Cheers.

wetsprocket

May 12, 2005
bolehland
Boink Boink said:
Me also dont wanna degreade WRXs la... but would it be true that in Stock form, Evos have better pick up in almost all gears?
for example at 80km/h and at 120km/h?

Anyone done any comparisons arr?
This is what I read for the Ver 7s fitted with TD04s against Evo dunno whats.... at that time la.

Also me looking for a WRX la.... Ver 8 would be nice. Anyone?
You should compare the Evo with the STi, not the lower spec WRX. The JDM stock STi and the stock Evo have virtually the same acceleration figures, in all gears.

BTW, v.7 WRX uses TD04, while v.7 STi uses VF30.

Andy Ng

Mar 1, 2004
Puchong
umm...i never though anyone here degrading the subaru...

anyway, my opinion is most subaru owners here buy the car not for drag potential reasons...that is probably why there are no drag subarus around...

i think one of the reason is the lack of mod potential within the Malaysian market, not the car itself...Malaysia has very few subaru specialists...

mitsu owners are lucky...conventional configuration engine...almost any mechanic can at least repair...

my own subaru...mechanics have turn me down before when i send for a check...

Boink Boink

ya ya. No la... I like to read, and this one came from a good book.

Thanks for confirming that Ver 7s come with TD04s.

That said, I think in drags like 0 - 100km/h is quite a poor test of a cars true potential la. but its one of those things people talk about, so its worth mentioning.
That said, if you noticed I mentioned not drag starts but more like 80km/h and 120km/h rolling accelration tests.

Good point on the WRX vs EVOs and not STI vs EVOs. I still must go find out which EVO version.

That said, before the Version 7, was it the GC Series? I am pretty much a newbie. WhichWRX uses the TD05?

Regards

V8_nutter

pathfinder said:
fellow subaru guysjust wondering why no fast wrx in drag event....
is it complicated to mods&tune boxer engine?

in uk....wrxs are hot. in one event....a wrx reach top speed of 190mph in top speed test!
many running 10 & 11 secs for 400meter.

wish to see boxer in action in sepang
Rex no performance parts, car is heavy (not suitable for drag) and turbo lag is unavoidable.

Boink Boink

Ver 3 and above all IHI turbos?

hmmm well this book caome from soneone based in Aussie Land, and his notes were MY97 came with TD04s, one step smaller than its predecessor. Gear ratios were extended to improve driveability.

So is the My97 in aussie land - Version 7?

Also, it basically was a discussion on TD04 turbos, and how when you get a car with a small turbo the upgrade potential is somewhat restricted, in this case the My97. After intake and non legal exhaust mods with ECU mapping the output was good, but not great. Basically there were illustrating that a small turbo sometimes limits the mod potential of the car.

but this is going off topic, know? :) my appologies.

wetsprocket

May 12, 2005
bolehland
Boink Boink said:
Ver 3 and above all IHI turbos?

hmmm well this book caome from soneone based in Aussie Land, and his notes were MY97 came with TD04s, one step smaller than its predecessor. Gear ratios were extended to improve driveability.

So is the My97 in aussie land - Version 7?
One more time -

Version 4,5,6,7,8 WRX = TD04

Version 7 STi = VF30 (which is IHI turbo)

The WRX and the STi are 2 different cars, using 2 different turbos. Your Aussie article was talking about a MY97 WRX (version 4/5), not STi.

I repeat - Version 7 STi has IHI turbo. Version 7 WRX has TD04.

faisal

Oct 20, 2004
The Valley
ignition.my
I think most Subaru WRX/STI owners sayang their car too much to thrash them in a POWER RULEZ drag race.

I've gone out with drives to some mountain roads with a group of STI/WRX owners before and only a black MY03, Feekey (blue MY03) and of course, Ivan Khong really know how to drive these beasts.

I don't own one but having driven a MY03 I'd say the car is best for circuit use or mountain roads.

hi all,
can any one tell me how to mod the sentra N16 1.5CC?
i want to mod it but dont know how? coz there really less ppl mod sentra N16.
want suspention is nice for the N16?
if 1.5 manual N16 can also put turbo or not? want is the price?
can introl some workshop that can mod the sentra N16 in KL or PJ?
:regular_smile: :regular_smile: :regular_smile: