What Standalone ECU is better?

j_l200s

Dec 16, 2004
is it ok for me to get used standalone? i have heard someone said want to sold freedom ecu for 2.5k.. dyno for 500 doesnt enough? how much actually for tuning and installed? which ecu were the best? because i think, after having some cash, i prefer to upgrade the cam+piston+trd clutch(because for road used).. hehehe.. by the way, mine is blacktop..

i heard emanage can only set 16++ but ultimate 36++? is it true?
how about the ignition & injector harness?? did i have to installed it too if i get standalone??
how about fpr? what is that? because i read somewhere and he told that 'fpr'.. thanks guys..
FPR = Fuel Pressure Regulator. u already have it (-fuel regulator RJ type)

im getting standalone because i think standlaone is just fine to tune because it make for one car only, not universal like emanage and safc...=)
Not ALL standalones are for specific cars except for Apexi's Power FC. Popular brands like motec, haltech, microtech and adaptronic for standalones for universal engines. i personally like adaptronic tho. they from australia, they are cheaper than most standalones and we got few good tuners in sunway/KL.

i agree with sy_omar, ryzzal and nappx. mod your engine first with parts that can provide u real HP/torque figures. For eg. extractors, cams, pulleys, valves and valve springs, port-polish head, 6 speed gearbox. OR EVEN BOLT-ON-TURBO!!! 17" wheels won't give u HP tho :p
After that only install piggybacks or standalones. u don't wanna re-tune each time u made some mods. if u got the time and money then i got nothing to say la.

i think piggybacks still be able to accomodate the i mentioned mods above. unichip is obviously better compared to emanage blue but not sure about ultimate tho. they still work nicely for daily street driving and playing around once in a while.

don't be disappointed if u get 5-10 HP by spending 4-5k on standalone with your current setup. u can actually get more than that HP by using ur budget on your engine mods first :rofl: noticibly on JASMA extractor, pnp head and oversized pistons. they are proven :smokin:

glanza

Nov 2, 2005
kl/kelate
agreed with they all..frecoz, i think u shud improve your parts first..do your head first, with 5k spend to your head, yam..yam..speechless huhu:evil:

frecoz

Sep 10, 2006
www.tagged.com
thanks guys... looks like everybody want me to spend on head first, then the head will it be.. =) for now i think i just want to put emanage.. ^_^

n0th1n

Feb 7, 2005
japan
junk-dealer.blogspot.com
hehehe.
"? or live with sucks performance?"
oit, im using freedom now weh!!!!

let me give different opinion.
toyota restrict our engine's performance about 10-15%. how? they downtune it using the ecu. u want to unleash the 10% performance? want 100% performance, go for management, whether it is piggyback or standalone. 165hp at flywheel at factory, 10% is 180hp at flywheel, 130hp at the wheel, will increase till 143 hp at wheel.
in order to get that so called 10%, tuning is another "pecah kepala" issue. mechanical tuning, and electrical tuning is related but different specialist. cam setting, timing adjustments are some example of mechanical tuning that sometimes, one person will say setting A, other person will say setting B, but both are just adjusting the distributor only.

durability is the issue after that.

good, u are doing ur homework. dont buy stuff that u dont know the functionality, cost involved and the after effect (like me lah!)

frecoz

Sep 10, 2006
www.tagged.com
hehehe.
"? or live with sucks performance?"
oit, im using freedom now weh!!!!

let me give different opinion.
toyota restrict our engine's performance about 10-15%. how? they downtune it using the ecu. u want to unleash the 10% performance? want 100% performance, go for management, whether it is piggyback or standalone. 165hp at flywheel at factory, 10% is 180hp at flywheel, 130hp at the wheel, will increase till 143 hp at wheel.
in order to get that so called 10%, tuning is another "pecah kepala" issue. mechanical tuning, and electrical tuning is related but different specialist. cam setting, timing adjustments are some example of mechanical tuning that sometimes, one person will say setting A, other person will say setting B, but both are just adjusting the distributor only.

durability is the issue after that.

good, u are doing ur homework. dont buy stuff that u dont know the functionality, cost involved and the after effect (like me lah!)
so u r using freedom? any different from emanage?
actually i want to put standalone because i want to save my standard 6speed ecu.. if anything short circuit or whatsoever, i still have a standard backup ecu.. thats the main purpose actually..

r u agreed with me by 1.5k to spend on emanage and other 1.5k spend on my engine?
or just go for standalone?(which means expensive for nothing?) hehe.. thanks..

glanza

Nov 2, 2005
kl/kelate
so u r using freedom? any different from emanage?
actually i want to put standalone because i want to save my standard 6speed ecu.. if anything short circuit or whatsoever, i still have a standard backup ecu.. thats the main purpose actually..

r u agreed with me by 1.5k to spend on emanage and other 1.5k spend on my engine?
or just go for standalone?(which means expensive for nothing?) hehe.. thanks..
i agreed! hehe

frecoz

Sep 10, 2006
www.tagged.com
haihzz.. what im gonna do with 1.5 for my engine?? urghhh.. in my mind, i just can change to trd clutch for that money.. LOLZ.. still doesnt increase my hp lor.. kuikuikui..

oversize piston (.5mm) = $1200(i have to bore the block too? or just put in on just like that?)
toda cam+spring+pulley = $5800
acl racing bearing = $600
ANYONE WANT TO SELL CHEAP2?? USED ONE?? =P

j_l200s

Dec 16, 2004
1.5k for engine? i think oversized 81.25/81.50mm piston+rings is rm680 only la... and yes, u have to re-bore your block. conrod and main bearings i dunno the price. try use trd 0.8mm metal head gasket too, i think around 300+ per piece. u can get these stuffs above from wira_tak_laju. previously i bought from him. the balance of the 1.5k u can pay for labour and block re-bore charges :D

if so headache, just go pnp your head.

refer to this post. http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...d-new-ori-toyota-supercharger-piston-art.html

km_chew

Aug 10, 2004
wah, 20v fit in 16v low compression piston? Didn't know this can work ..

frecoz,
There is many ways to go around without touching the ECU unit. 140whp can be done with stock engine (internals untouch) and stock ECU (without piggyback) .. Tweaks and treats only .. Have you dyno your car ?

j_l200s

Dec 16, 2004
km_chew, wah!! 20v fit in 16v low comp can work............................ if u wanna turbo charged it.

try scrolling down a bit more of that thread and u'll see more info of what i'm trying to say.

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
There is many ways to go around without touching the ECU unit. 140whp can be done with stock engine (internals untouch) and stock ECU (without piggyback) ..
Boss.... this I want to hear. Time to reveal your secrets! :adore:

I want to modify my Kenari to MOVE or YRV engine(turbo charge).I want to know how much is the halfcut.Because i don't want feel cheated if i buy too expensive halfcut.If u have any recommend where to buy half cut engine tell me.
Thank You