water temp shooting skyhigh

Noob

Mar 30, 2005
Klang/Subang
guys, my water temp on my wira seems to rise very fast passing the 1/2 line after a few mins of spirited drive.. is it normal or are there any solutions to that matter? kinda frustrated coz i've gotta stop by the nearest petrol station everytime the water temp moves to 3/4 of the meter waiting for it to go down..

once over heated the engine coz temp shot skyhigh passing the redline.. changed the old radiator fan + motor coz it was weak (according to mech) temp doesnt raise as fast but it still passes the 1/2 mark. Help please!

TiBuN

May 16, 2004
Penang / BM
I hate this kind of problem, so many things to check, and the worst case scenario is the head gone.... but unlikely la in your case.
Just make sure don't drive if it hits 75% coz it might cause bent head and u have a very long repair work to do....

Actually troubleshooting high-temp requires a systematic approach.
Your mech seem to simply change everything....
Anyway, those things to check are : service radiator (clean), water pump, thermostat, water hose / radiator cap / radiator head (if water got reduce), then the dreaded engine head.

Noob

Mar 30, 2005
Klang/Subang
yeap, my dad's mech.. did help but not much.. cleaning radiator can DIY? possible i'll try what i can do myself before sending it to other ppl again.. thanks by the way!

[s]UpErNoVa

Feb 8, 2006
hmm.. for detailed cleaning of the entire radiator tank i suggest u go to those speacialist shop n let them handle bro.. they will dismantle every part of the radiator, clean and unclog all the heat sinks then weld it back nicely.. did it to my car before chinese new year though.. :regular_smile:

phat7

May 21, 2004
i'm pretty sure your fan has died. or is intermitently cutting off. replace fan problems gone.

Noob

Mar 30, 2005
Klang/Subang
UpErNoVa: bro,where should i go to get the radiator cleaned? car aircond shop? how much to cost?

phat7: bro, changed fan d, problem still there but happens less frequently.

[s]UpErNoVa

Feb 8, 2006
hmm.. not very sure whether air-cond shop does provide the service or not bro.. i did mine back in ipoh.. it's a radiator + exhaust repair shop.. haf equipment specially designed to hold the heat sink in position n do the cleaning.. :regular_smile:

oh yeah.. concerning the water pump, did u see any water leakage from the engine bro? like rusty water marks beneath the timing belt part of the engine? if got then it's the water pump leaking oredi.. haf to change.. cost about rm 150 + workmanship. if dun haf then might be the thermostat not functioning porperly oredi.. :regular_smile:

waikiki

Mar 16, 2004
Damansara, PJ
hmmm .. well the last time i had this prob.. got it solved by sending it for cleaning... i did it in kuantan and it cost only 30 bucks..

after that i try to get it cleaned once every 2-3 months...
good to clear up the rust that creates clogs..

waikiki

Mar 16, 2004
Damansara, PJ
once ur sure that your radiators are clean/ hoses are rust free and not harden.. then u can maintain by yourself...

flush the radiator (DIY) this including the "saluran" that goes in to the engine part..
ps " water pressure must be a bit strong lor " to push the dirt out... :)

Noob

Mar 30, 2005
Klang/Subang
UpErNoVa : bro, checked the timing belt place.. no rusty water marks.

waikiki: i've found a small plug below the radiator.. used to flush the radiator water out through that hole.. not very sure bout the hoses n rust free stuff coz this car had just been handed down frm by my grandpa recently n it's badly maintained..

radiator seems to be losing water frequently.. will it be the radiator cap?

Noob

Mar 30, 2005
Klang/Subang
o btw guys, anyone knows where to clean the radiator around klang valley? preferably klang or subang area.. roughtly how much will it cost? 30 like waikiki said?

[s]UpErNoVa

Feb 8, 2006
hmm.. couldn't possibly be the radiator cap bro.. usually radiator cap will cause the pressure of the radiator to be unstable due to wear and tear of the rubber cap and therefore temperature shoots up high.. if your radiator water keeps decreasing then there should be leakage in one of the hoses liaw or perhaps the plug u mentioned.. rubber wear off oredi.. :regular_smile:

waikiki

Mar 16, 2004
Damansara, PJ
hi noob..

well as for the price , it depends la.. i did it back in ma hometown... if in kl maybe extra a bit lo...

look at your radiator cap, there is a piece of rubber right above the spring.. check if its cracked,harden, or thin already..

regarding the plug... yes thats the one to be taken out in order to flush your radiator but make sure its tight when u put it back other wise during spirited driving it will definately leak and could cause ur temperature to rise...

waikiki

Mar 16, 2004
Damansara, PJ
if u have saved up a bit ... try gettin some new hose mainly 2 hose that connects to the radiator... should be cheaper if u get it from sparepart shop... and then pasang sendiri lo..

Is your radiator fan full time on ? or works automaticlly when the temperature hits half.?

Opel

Dec 20, 2004
Malacca
well if your radiator losing water frequently....try check the head gasket as well if there is no leakage from the pipings.

head gasket leakage can be noticed easily as your exhaust emits white coloured smoke eventhough the weather is not cold (water sips into combustion chamber, and emits out as gas vapour)

several other reason for sky high overheating issue is faulty thermostat (remain closed and blocking the coolant flow even the temp reaches/exceeds operating tempreture.) or weak/faulty water pump...

some effort need to be done in dertermining the faulty part from your cooling system....

hope this helps

My car were stolen today inside the condo parking. Setapak Ria Condo, Genting Kelang Setapak.
Suspect got stolen in early morning. Please help me look around your area, if spotted pls call police asap.Black wira/converted turbo engine ,white rims. Car plate "BDY 1946".
hp num: 012-6293940 mike