Vios Trunk (water leak into spare tyre)

Kyusuke_FD3S

Aug 14, 2006
1st gen Vios Trunk (water leak into spare tyre)
Has anyone of you fix this issue?
Can share what is the thing to fix?

Thanks.

es2611

Jan 10, 2006
my car got that problem last time and only realized when i wanted to send it for painting.
went inside the boot and let another friend wit hose to simulate rain but no nothing!

i opted to change the entire boot rubber seal and extra sealant (cant remember the brand) applied by the painter and solved the problem.
cant really tell what went wrong but he believed the rubber "terkelepet" if the boot is closed. sorry cant find the english word for it.

ken yeang

the rubber moulding didnt seat properly....or accidentally folded when the boot is closed....would cause water leaking in.

if 1st gen VIos, maybe the rubber not so good anymore...check and see if it is hardened and not mounted properly.

my car got that problem last time and only realized when i wanted to send it for painting.
went inside the boot and let another friend wit hose to simulate rain but no nothing!

i opted to change the entire boot rubber seal and extra sealant (cant remember the brand) applied by the painter and solved the problem.
cant really tell what went wrong but he believed the rubber "terkelepet" if the boot is closed. sorry cant find the english word for it.
Bro. es2611, funny thing is when you use hose is not the same as rain woh!. I had issue of water leak before and going to mechanic use hose cannot trace. One time heavy raining remove internal panel and trace, and finally found it....:driver:

And at times the leak can be form another part and got led to another place.....:rolleyes:

es2611

Jan 10, 2006
Bro. es2611, funny thing is when you use hose is not the same as rain woh!. I had issue of water leak before and going to mechanic use hose cannot trace. One time heavy raining remove internal panel and trace, and finally found it....:driver:

And at times the leak can be form another part and got led to another place.....:rolleyes:
taikor vr2.. thats the best to simulate rain. otherwise i cant find the right time to be in the rain and in the boot to trace it. haha.

that being said.. solved it without knowing the real problem :confused:

taikor vr2.. thats the best to simulate rain. otherwise i cant find the right time to be in the rain and in the boot to trace it. haha.

Yah! true also. Got one time leak only when car is parked slightly sloping. Really difficult to check...:banghead::banghead:

driftkingII

Mar 2, 2005
Bandar Utama

If lucky, go and get some movie directors rain simulator n try it out :biggrin:

oh wait? How about those old school machine car wash?

I'm with Zane's advice.

Worst case : Use silicone and seal off your boot. :biggrin: (I'm just kididing)

wsonny

May 21, 2005
Ampang
I used to drive 1st gen also, due to water leaking into cabin problem i sold my car. At spare tires area mostly is from the rear light, when u take out the rear light from ur body u notice there is a foam gaskets it might be harden so cant really block water from leaking in.

I face another major leaking is the water all over my cabin. i tot is my aircond water leak. Then found out is when i do the water test at my foreman workshop he use the holes to test at the car roof and funny thing is water come out from the back seat beam totally no idea how the water from top go to the bottom beam. I think might be the original body welding break or something else. so at the end sell it

I'm not sure if this is the correct place to post this, but I urgently looking for some workshop at Johor to restore my Ford Escort MK1 back to daily driven. I bought this car like one and a half year ago and never once driven it. Engine already not able to start when I got this. I tow this car back to Johor from KL/Selangor area. Today my family told me that my old neighbor accidentally knocked on this car with a loud bang. And he just walk off like that. (Dafug?)

Any sifu know where...