wat the function of 20v ISCV?

alex_khoo

Apr 17, 2006
is posibble if no use ISCV on 20v? i try to unplug ISCV soket today,i found my idling ( 1200-1500rpm) my car got bad idling like wat i mention on here...tukar this that oso cant solve problem:banghead:
question is can car run without ISCV??

mh wong

Feb 14, 2012
iscv=air flow sensor, its?? if yes change wiring n ecu...problem soft.....last time when im drove silvertop....when back to hometown.....i dismantle the whole unit just want to clean the sensor.....Y....bcos my idling up n down....mech said bcos of this air flow sensor.....

---------- Post added at 09:29 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:13 PM ----------

oh.....lumpa to tell....by the same time buang iscv.....

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
ISCV = Idle Speed Control Valve

how do u control idle speed without a control valve? :biggrin:

if dirty, clean it using carb cleaner

if faulty, replace it

i don't know what will happen if u didn't use it

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
it's above ur gbox near ur intake plenum

it is like its name an idle speed control valve. the engine use this to suck air when idling.

here's a pic of it without its wiring

bera

Oct 27, 2007
iscv is an critical component to control the idle/engine speed...especially during or when there is engine load like when you turn on the aircond...

if you remove it...be prepare to control your engine speed with your right foot all the time every time...

mh wong

Feb 14, 2012
my engine bt 6speed, when morning after warmup, if din switch on aircon, idling just smove.....open aircon, sometime engine mati on the spot

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
my engine bt 6speed, when morning after warmup, if din switch on aircon, idling just smove.....open aircon, sometime engine mati on the spot
check ur FICD (some people call it VSV)

i've replace mine b4

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
BT don't have FICD. But some ppl like to add one to assist the idling when the A/C kick in.
However stock design is capable to handle the A/C load so if you have idling problem please look into the root cause.

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
BT don't have FICD. But some ppl like to add one to assist the idling when the A/C kick in.
However stock design is capable to handle the A/C load so if you have idling problem please look into the root cause.
Serious? I didn't notice :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 02:07 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:57 PM ----------

I think ISCV works more or less like the FICD

The only difference is ISCV sucks air all d way

& FICD like on/off the suction

Any1 can confirm this?

bera

Oct 27, 2007
how to know if ISCV is faulty or not functioning well.??.
if your iscv kaput...your engine idling will be all over the place...

when cold start...usually engine speed will be around 1k - 1.5k then drop to 900 - 1k a while...if it stay stay there at 1.5k then you need to inspect further...another thing that it also noticeable when there is engine load (aircond on) it will drop too much...worst case it will stall the engine...

there a guide how to check iscv operation in the service manual...but i'm to lazy to retype it here... :burnout:

ok...here how you do it...(this is not complete test/diagnostic but enough pinpoint whether your iscv function properly or just dirty/clogged)

1.warm up engine until normal operating temperature (have to set the idle speed correctly prior doing this and transmission is at neutral).
2.short te1 and e1 at the check connector and your engine idle will drop to 800 - 900 (depends on individual engine)
3.rev the engine 1k - 1.5k for 5 seconds and let go of the throttle...

if it drop down to 800 - 900 rpm...your iscv works just fine...
if it took a while before dropping down after throttle off...probably your iscv is clogged/gummed up/stuck...and might need some cleaning
if it does not drop and stay at 1.5k...then you should diagnose further...

reference bt service manual under "electronic fuel injection" subsection "iscv"...

hope this help...

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
if your iscv kaput...your engine idling will be all over the place...

when cold start...usually engine speed will be around 1k - 1.5k then drop to 900 - 1k a while...if it stay stay there at 1.5k then you need to inspect further...another thing that it also noticeable when there is engine load (aircond on) it will drop too much...worst case it will stall the engine...

there a guide how to check iscv operation in the service manual...but i'm to lazy to retype it here... :burnout:

ok...here how you do it...(this is not complete test/diagnostic but enough pinpoint whether your iscv function properly or just dirty/clogged)

1.warm up engine until normal operating temperature (have to set the idle speed correctly prior doing this and transmission is at neutral).
2.short te1 and e1 at the check connector and your engine idle will drop to 800 - 900 (depends on individual engine)
3.rev the engine 1k - 1.5k for 5 seconds and let go of the throttle...

if it drop down to 800 - 900 rpm...your iscv works just fine...
if it took a while before dropping down after throttle off...probably your iscv is clogged/gummed up/stuck...and might need some cleaning
if it does not drop and stay at 1.5k...then you should diagnose further...

reference bt service manual under "electronic fuel injection" subsection "iscv"...

hope this help...

can use for silvertop too? :confused:

bera

Oct 27, 2007
not sure about that man...you can try since it doesnt involve dismantling anything...just warm up the engine and short 2 point at the check connector (never see ST one,if it the same as BT one maybe its use the same procedure)... perhaps other expert can shed some light...paging sifu levin 818

ps://forgot to mention above to turn off anything electrical when doing the diagnostic...light, radio, aircond etc all needs to be turned off...

this car was park at kota dmnsara area
no tyre & rim,they just put batu bata
gsr engine
no interior
matt black colour

if your car/your fren missing this car call me 013 272 5534