VR4 or EVO? Race piston or rojak?

11000RPM

Feb 24, 2004
Hi all sifus,

After some thinking, i tot of changing my car piston. I'm using evo 1 engine now. Stock piston with big turbo setup. I'm afraid it might not last long.
My mech said use 1J or Fairlady piston, rebore it. My friend once adviced me to use back the same 85mm piston. Rebored block might not be able to rev high.
Lastly, i thout of using JE piston and rod. Any suggestion?
Thanks.

Sifus,

What's the difference between vr4 and evo head?
My mech ask me to use vr4 head, bigger valves?

jinkl

May 22, 2004
if evo, go change ur conrods , the pistons will stand , not the conrods
run it, break the pistons first , if pecah then only rebore and fit bigger pistons , u now how many ppl wish they never did a rebore and prefered to stay on stock bore :P

vr4 head bigger intake holes , thts all , bt remember u need vr4 intake manifold

11000RPM

Feb 24, 2004
Thanks Bro jinkl, if like that save some cost oh...
Any recommended conrod?

BTW, my setup:

Stock head n block.
HKS 264 in ex
1.5mm metal gasket
custom extractor and intake manifold
Garrett GT3076 turbo
Haltech E6X

My piston can withstand 1.5 bar or not? :adore:
Currently 1 bar only

jinkl

May 22, 2004
eagle or scat conrods are good , if u want cheaper go for duratech

Thanks Bro jinkl, if like that save some cost oh...
Any recommended conrod?

BTW, my setup:

Stock head n block.
HKS 264 in ex
1.5mm metal gasket
custom extractor and intake manifold
Garrett GT3076 turbo
Haltech E6X

My piston can withstand 1.5 bar or not? :adore:
Currently 1 bar only

jo1

Dec 8, 2004
boost don't break the engine... detonation and preignition does....

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
can afford GT turbo, haltech, what is 10k for a forged bulletproof engine build.

what u need: wiseco pistons, scat rods, acl bearings and arp bolts for everything and u will most likely have a strong bottom end that can maximise ur turbo or cam (whichever come first) hehehe

jo1

Dec 8, 2004
if the engine still in good condition, find a good tuner that really know what he is doing... the engine can safely withstand the 1.5bar with good cooling and fueling system...

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
yeah true. just whack the stock engine first. its a waste to build a healthy engine. unless ur going competitive racing of course.

11000RPM

Feb 24, 2004
True also, drive shiok shiok enough...
My car previous owner also say, boost 1.5bar no prob because of the setting but... Don over la.. kekeke...

flamefox850

Pasir Mas
www.geocities.com
aik ? same setup as my brother's old car. coincidence eh ? or...u r timothy ?

last time my bro's car with stock evo internal no problem boosting 1.5bar with that same setup as urs. but of coz already tune the haltech la...raja kamal tune it on the road. dun need race pistons or race conrod. but if u want more hp..more boost...u better prepare for that la of cos

flamefox850

Pasir Mas
www.geocities.com
haizzz...i'm not gonna say u kene chong...but...i'm not gonna believe that. at least my bro already tune at raja kamal in sunway with that injector at 1.5bar and it's still enough. no need the so-called methanol injector which is 1000cc and above la.

so, what about the engine ? can start already ah ? what's the problem ? change head still cannot start meh ? hehehe fishy la ur foremen

kroolada

Dec 7, 2005
haizzz...i'm not gonna say u kene chong...but...i'm not gonna believe that. at least my bro already tune at raja kamal in sunway with that injector at 1.5bar and it's still enough. no need the so-called methanol injector which is 1000cc and above la.
that true bro. before this i tuned my customer car, satria evo 1 engine with stock 510cc+walbro+afc neo can boost 1.5bar = 320hp no prob. the engine still stock internal only tomei metal gasket, bc 280 cams, tial 38mm wastegate.

hi guys,

both my 1.6 wira side mirrors not working. when i press the control button, it only move abit n cant move to the angle i want. is there anyways tat i can remove the mirror n grease the controls inside? pls help me here.. thx alot..