Tyre Size Definition and Meaning...

ahtiang

Nov 29, 2006
hello sifu sifu there...

i'm looking out for tyres and came across tyre definition of 185/60/14, 185/65/14, 195/55/15 and etc... hmm.. what on earth do they represent? hehehe i know i might ask a stupid question :emoticon_U: here but i can't find the definition on the web... hehehe... any help sifu sifu outside there... :_:

10 Q

ahtiang

Nov 29, 2006
thanks a lot darahhitam... hmm... but if i were to choose a tyre to change, apart from only know my rim is 16 inch, i dunno what is the difference between the rest of the numeric value leh... hmm... change back the same as my current ar?

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
if you are new to this, and you want to avoid trouble, stick with original.
maybe you can list your car make/model/year make and other zthian give you good suggestion.

PS: your rim is original factory fitted or after market?

ju onn

Aug 30, 2006
Even if u didnt know what all those numbers stand for, the tyre shop staff will always ready to assist u in choosing what type of rubber can fit in ur rims. However, Its always good thing to obtain as much knowledge as we can regarding motoring if we really want to be the real automotive enthusiast.:retarded:

ehaab

Jul 3, 2005
SERIOUSLY>>PLease use the SEarch button..or just google or wiki it..

gary

May 9, 2005
subang
ah tiang, when you ask for help, its always better to let everyone know what make and type of car you drive at least. the more info you can supply, the better the answers you will get.

prodigy

Besides, if you intend to change your rims, always go back to the equivalent or the next most similar tyre size. For instance, 185/65/14 is actually similar to195/55/15 in terms of overall wheel diameter. Therefore, your speedometer would give an actual speed reading. If you were to change to 195/50/15, your speedometer isn't accurate anymore.

e819

Dec 7, 2004
it doesnt matter wheter its a basic or complicated question.. evan all of us start from scratch sumwhere...

exp: 205 (wide of tyre) / 45 (tyre thickness) / 16 (s ur rim size)

same goes to other sizes...