Turbo Vs Vtec

Trinityblood

Nov 10, 2007
alamak bro... i never said anything about vtec or turbo cars contributing 2 roadkills ler... i was just stating that tailgaiting is unwise...

no offence bro, but i can hardly understand what u're saying. but from the vague info u're giving, i'll put my money on the satria evo... if that's what u wanna know.
no wories la..as long as eu noe edi...:sleep:

proPIPING

Mar 23, 2006
if 2.2 inside the satria,by the time the vtec reach ending line the satria edi eat
nasi lemak liao...huahua,the vtec defenitly need BOT..:thefinger:
yeah...that time the turbo still have time to que and buy nasi lemak antarabangsa at kg baru...fuh ..best bro...

mivec_mivec

Oct 21, 2007
one nasi lemak never enough one laa...turbo can eat more while waiting the other party..then past to NZ to have some tandoori...hahahahahahahah..then join back the race while the latter still ...erm..i cant finish my words...hahahahahahaha..tis thread shouldnt be started..the winner already there...unless,pick one car for vtec,against selected turbo car..set the track,select the driver as well..a macik oso can blow the otaku away..the driver oso contributes..erm...

back to the track..how about if integra dc5 type R 220PS with 6 man trans VS satria evo td05 boost 1.5 bar 5 speed (evo 2.0 eng).given same driver,with 2 tracks.
1.sepang track (given 5 laps)
2.highway north south perlis-JB. (stop for petrol,tyre change or makan nasi lemak oso kira) no cops.
for both cars,all safety precautions applied oredi..means brakes and suspension are tiptop.tyre are slick with 'ok' weather.the battle is for vtec honda and kereta cacat (as per mentioned earlier).weight reduction is prohibited.

how bout it?

Angelz

Jan 5, 2004
I love turbo~! psstt psstt :love:

But im driving a N/A :hmmmm:

WiiR4

Oct 21, 2008
heard ppl always said that for long driving session NA got a chance of winning, but after a lot of car talk session with my fren' & fren' of my fren', TURBO also can, but the COOLING SYSTEM must be tiptop & excellent (BIG I/C, THICK RADIATOR, OIL COOLER, TRANS COOLER & ANY COOLING SYSTEM THAT AVAILABLE laa..):burnout: ...then the engine will perform for a long driving from Perlis to JB...:biggrin:

Still Voting For TURBO...Saass...SaaaaSS...Ka-Ching!!!:driver:

spyderslr

Mar 1, 2004
back to the track..how about if integra dc5 type R 220PS with 6 man trans VS satria evo td05 boost 1.5 bar 5 speed (evo 2.0 eng).given same driver,with 2 tracks.

for both cars,all safety precautions applied oredi..means brakes and suspension are tiptop.tyre are slick with 'ok' weather.the battle is for vtec honda and kereta cacat (as per mentioned earlier).weight reduction is prohibited.
how bout it?
Provided the Satria is still FF setup, DC5 hands down. In fact, DC5 is an overkill. Probably an EG or EK with B18CR will suffice. Sorry, no offence ya. Cheerz. :)

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008
turbo better !![/SIZE]

coz ... got the great sound !!

Go anyway still can show off !! PPSSHHHH!!!!!!!!!!

haha !! but...vtec muz only reach 3k or 4k only can heard the vtec sound !!

so...

TURBO IS THE BEST !!

CHEERS !!!!!!
:thefinger::thefinger::thefinger:

wenshen

Jul 24, 2004
PEEjay
driftneyland.blogspot.com
i seriously dont understand how can you compare turbo with vtec.. its not even under the same category of modifications..
firstly.. vtec is under valve control and turbo is under force induction compressing air into the engine..
if there was a comparison.. vtec should be compared with vvti and valvetronic whatsoever..
and vtec is among the finest for performance usage in japanese car range.. outstanding in the sound and enduring mechanism..

turbo on the other hand is a modification added to a car which attempts to achieve high end torque.. meaning top speed and high rpm racing style.. if the racer is interested in urban usage and pick up torque, he should go for a supercharger upgrade.. However, the turbocharger is more famous because of its unique blow off tune..

if there was a same car loaded with 2 engines with the same cc.. one has vtec only and the other one is a standard cam setup with add in with a turbocharger.. imho definitely the turbocharger will kill the vtec without question..

WiiR4

Oct 21, 2008
bro wishen, yup! I know it's 2 different categories, but...I dont know bout' U or the others ZTH members as well, but...in my life...after involving the car mod arena, I always heard that Vtec kill Turbo...Turbo tapau wit Vtec...& a lot more...even now I drive a so called "keta cacat" from my 2 officemates (Wira VR4), still heard the same word, I'm not 100% specialist in car mod, but since now it became my superbig interest, I did surf the internet for answer...yaa...it was just like as U were explain in ur thread...& my fren' also did mention that if Turbo tapau wit NA/Vtec it was a huge humilation for Turbo, if Ur a Samurai U better kill Urself, plus...it a forum where everyone can express theirself & share theirs point of view...for me it a rival that never end, aite! same to others categories...:driver: chill!!!

Still...voting for TURBO of coz'...he..he..he...Saass...Saaasss...:vroam:Ka-ching!!!

mivec_mivec

Oct 21, 2007
why cannot compare?price about the same...on the same track..can la..oso,we are talking about the tech that apply to the engine..is it valve timing or turbo injection?so,we should come up with the best tech that apply to the engine..dont care bout the body...even the tread title is VTEC AGAINST TURBO..IS ABOUT THE TECHNOLOGY..K..WHICH IS BETTER..

come on la vtec..

proPIPING

Mar 23, 2006
need turbocar to live....as i make intercooler piping for turbo car hahaha:rofl:TuRbO

WiiR4

Oct 21, 2008
yup! can't live without it...gov have to built new rehab for "TURBO ADDICT" he...he...:biggrin:

Bump!

Trinityblood

Nov 10, 2007
one nasi lemak never enough one laa...turbo can eat more while waiting the other party..then past to NZ to have some tandoori...hahahahahahahah..then join back the race while the latter still ...erm..i cant finish my words...hahahahahahaha..tis thread shouldnt be started..the winner already there...unless,pick one car for vtec,against selected turbo car..set the track,select the driver as well..a macik oso can blow the otaku away..the driver oso contributes..erm...

2.highway north south perlis-JB. (stop for petrol,tyre change or makan nasi lemak oso kira) no cops.

how bout it?
you are giving dc5 n satria not match car la bro...y not like this,
Dc5 type r and evo 7-9 rs...follow the tracks u suggest
i`ll bet the evo win...i`ll thing u
should be more natural when giving example...:driver:

i've had vtec before... it's memang very powderful... but my preference is... turbo all d way..............
both categories its good...vtec oso can produce a monster and the reliability
is superb....some how turbo is very special level so far in motorsport...fast
and if u driving the ori evo the reliability oso perfect...last but not least
turbo fast....vtec sound nice for me....:biggrin:

proPIPING

Mar 23, 2006
one of my neighbour drive dc5 but one day he try to chase one of my friend car iswara 4g61t rojak engine....guess what happen:hmmmm:

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
i can strongly stressed that not all turbo car owner are lan si as claimed...many good good guys are here with turbo cars and yet as low profiles as others......only those lan ci fella trying to show off on the street but not in here...so Vtec & turbo rules in here.

me personally think Vtec is a wonderful engine and well balanced performance and daily driven cars.....turbo is bit higher maintenance but the adrenalin flows when turbo kicks in....pros & cons...so it still leave to the eyes of beholders...cheerz

zerokool

Jul 11, 2004
wah wah so many opposing views...
having driven and owned both turbo and VTEC cars I would say there are miles of differences between the two but the goal is the same.. to juice out as many HP as possible from any given engine displacement.
Mine is a B16A with Toda 1.8 stroker and everything else Type R and 4.785FD. I have smoked a GSR wira, a Miraged Wira. Both are my friends'. And a turbo Satria has smoked me before on PLUS highway heading to JB. Sh%t, he was pulling very fast in 4th gear I can barely catch up..
but suddenly he slowed down.. and I wondered why until I reached home and found spots of engine oil on my EK's bumper and hood.. Apparently he upped the boost in anticipation of a sprint with me and at the end his engine/turbo got problem.
So, in short, both turbo and VTEC have each its own pros and cons. Take your pick. To those Turbo guys buy a Honda with a VTEC (don't simply pinjam your friend's ride) and you'll never regret it. And of cource B16A, be it big VTEC or small VTEC won't do any justice to VTEC. Go for B16B, B18C5R and you'll be smiling at 9000rpm. Of course VTEC is not cheap and for the most bang for the buck turbo is the only option.
but one thing for sure...
YOU CAN TURBO A VTEC BUT YOU CAN'T VTEC A TURBO....
PEACE!
p/s: I own a white 2Door EK9 replica.. but I never feel very handsome or lan si pun like some of you turbohead think.. hahaha

vtec proud for their 9000rpm rev,
Wat 9000RPM? mine can hit 9500rpm if I want to.. hehehe

Turbo is on its own level la...vtec has its own as well,
if to compare which 1 is damm fast my choice is still TURBO,
Vtec is to power and handling matter...But turbo cars
is damm FAST...and i love the G-FORCE when turbo kicks in.
YET it`s a Money matter la...to have fast cars.
But when people start saying those having convert turbo engine
is CACAT CARS its sound really lan ci then:mad:,juz becoz
we driving cars wif proton logo which is MALAYSIAN MADE,
and Mithsu engine to gain that title ar...Why not like tis
for those tat came out that words starts pakcs thier thing
and migrate to their car country manufacture..c how? can by
cars or ride bike?....:bawling:

MALAYSIA BOLEH
F*CK those who said turbo cars are CACAT cars.. I as a VTEC (and previously a turbo owner) won't simply accept this. Don't simply paint the town red just because one bad apple is calling you CACAT cars. This is an isolated case and don't use this as an excuse to hate VTEC owners.

maybe vtec sound very lauder than turbo.
'sound pollution'
some more most of them only make some noise but not fast enough
that why public hate vtec cars.
dont blame public because of your fault.
u make ur own vtec comunity dirty name.
ppprrrrrraaaaaaannnnnnngggggggggggg. buat anak menangis, shocking.

for turbo...
silent and power
just a little bit noise and consider ok maa
You are describing a handful of VTEC owners only.. My VTEC is damn loud but it's only a second car. I drive my two daughters around in a quiet car. So better qualify your statement regarding baby crying/shocking with the word "some" if you don't mind.

turbo better !![/SIZE]

coz ... got the great sound !!

Go anyway still can show off !! PPSSHHHH!!!!!!!!!!

haha !! but...vtec muz only reach 3k or 4k only can heard the vtec sound !!

so...

TURBO IS THE BEST !!

CHEERS !!!!!!
:thefinger::thefinger::thefinger:

Huh? VTEC sound at 3000rpm? In a 99spec EK9, VTEC switchover is at 6200rpm all the way to 8500 factory redline which can be raised to 9000rpm or 9500rpm depending on the combo of cams and valve springs/retainers used. A Skunk2 Pro 3 will still make healthy and usable power at 9500rpm without floating or dropping valves. it goes to shows you are but talk and knows nothing about VTEC. Do your research first before even starting to bash other people.

tecque

Jun 29, 2005
sbn
zerokool... 16B stock wit Skunk 2 Pro 3 cam can hit up to 9.5k rpm without harmful?? how much hp will it add on???
Woi... ur b16a got 1.8 toda stroker is dam interesting:adore: Do u have any idea to stroke up B16B to 1.8?...in not so expensive manner...thanks..

zerokool

Jul 11, 2004
zerokool.....
you are so cooollllllll
peace from turbos family..
Peace upon you too..
Some people think driving a Honda is a surefire way to get laid.. hahaha..
not very true there. Of course some do. But so do all other handsome boys in a CYBORG Satria and Proton Neo. Getting hot chicks and getting laid is actually a game of chance and luck, of course what you ride also plays some part.
I for sure love turbo but I think turbo has a limit of 300hp in a FF car. More than that is overkill coz it will start to handle like sh*t and launch like sh*t. 4WD and FR is the way to go for turbo and my dream car is the S15.
I bought the Honda just for one main reason: self satisfaction. It is lightweight and 200hp for a 1100kg car is very nimble when it comes to handling.
If you guys live in JB, be it VTEC killers or TURBO killers come join us for an occasional one hour track session at Pasir Gudang Circuit. Open almost daily not like Sepang and the rate is RM60 weekdays and RM70 weekend for a one hour session. One hour sounds like very short but trust me after 10 laps you or your front tyres will get very tired.
It's one hell of an experience there is not a single flat corner at PGC, all corners are sloped.
Remember, you add more power , you will be fast on the straight; you reduce the weight, you'll be fast around corners.

zerokool... 16B stock wit Skunk 2 Pro 3 cam can hit up to 9.5k rpm without harmful?? how much hp will it add on???
Woi... ur b16a got 1.8 toda stroker is dam interesting:adore: Do u have any idea to stroke up B16B to 1.8?...in not so expensive manner...thanks..
Sure can hit the 9500rpm but make sure you also use the pro3 valve springs and retainers.
Go to Skunk2 website. A B18CR block with Pro 1+ cams is good for 200WHP.

go to http://www.skunk2.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=DYN&Product_Code=305-05-5145

Never heard of 1.8stroker kit for B16b for one simple reason: B16B and B18CR share the same block and deck height and cylinder bore. So, to stroke your B16B to 1.8 just buy a B18CR engine kosong and take the piston, rod and crank and put into the B16B, ta da.. now you have a 1.8 B16B. However there is a 2.0L stroker kit for B16B and B18C.

Dear forumers,

I am going to upgrade my car current brake system. At the moment, i had bought the calipers for the front and front disc rotors.....

I had some questions though.....

- What else should i change ? (hose ?)

- After upgrading the brake system, what kind of brake fluid should i use ? Dot 3 / Dot 4 ??

- The new brake systems is used items la, so the calipers is now bleeding some brake oil la....can i wash it ?

Thanks for advices...