Toyota SEG 4AFE (M) 97

powermac

Aug 13, 2006
Hi SEG sifu's,

I'm getting a SEG 4AFE (M) year 97, the car should be out by this week since bank is proccessing the loan now.
What is the difference between 4A-FE & 4A-GE engines ? Is it the transmission, manual or auto difference ?
Which engine is better in terms of power, FC & have better chance to mod ?
Trying to search it in de net, but can't really find the difference.

Also, what is recommended service since the car has already gone around 250km.
Need you guys expertise since this is my first car.
Pls recommend me things like engine oil, gear oil & things like dat.

Thanks alot guys,cheers.

bOi-R

Apr 19, 2006
4AGE more power than 4AFE's :) you sure u searched the internet? :P soooo many info on 4age's and 4afe's

start here ==> Toyota A Engine

250km as in 250,000 km? Thats really old. Has the engine been rebuilt before? been taken cared of by previous owner? no funny noises or runs smoke or weird feeling when driving?

ie does t feel "healthy"?

I generally would ge the engine overhauled or rebuilt. If you are intending on keeping the engine.. if not, go put a younger 4AGE in it :P

powermac

Aug 13, 2006
Hi bOi-R,

Thanks for ur link...
Now i see where 4afe & 4age stands.
Brought my frens car formen to check the car & he said the engine is perfect & it's a gud buy.
Hopefully it doesn't smoke when i use it.
Any recommendation on what to service & so on ?
Not sure if i need to rebuild the engine,but there is no any sound from the engine...it's so smooth when driving as well.
Any suggestion on what to check when i'm collecting the car ?
Thanks bro, cheers.

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
if your fren's car mech already give a green light.. then u shudn't worry much....
used 2nd car, what to expect.. maybe check undercarriage see any leaking or not.pull up a bit the car carpet see if car kena flooded or not.. kekeke

bOi-R

Apr 19, 2006
oh yeah sorry din realise, Welcome to the forum powermac.. wheres my manners :P

bOi-R

Apr 19, 2006
i guess its sounds all good then. if it doesn't smoke for that kind of mileage, i guess the car has been taken cared well. :) internals all good.

What you can check, is signs of wear and tear around the car.. maybe check if the car has been in any accidents before.. like check the panels.. and look for "ketuk" signs or paint miss match.. welding corrosions or rust. etc :)

But sounds like a good deal to me if it drives well :)

katopunk

May 18, 2006
oh ya, try to take out the rubber lining along the behind boot and see the edge. got cacat or not. if got bang behind before, you should be able to tell.

powermac

Aug 13, 2006

I have a big doubt now.
Since my bro & my formen oni check the engine, i dun know if it's 4A-FE or 4A-GE.
I made an assumption it's an 4A-FE coz after checking in the net,i thought 4A-FE is manual & 4A-GE is auto. (sorry guys, first car ;) )
Does 4A-GE comes in manual also ?
Really confusing....can only know when i'm collecting the car...hopefully by this week...
I need to find out what engine oil & all the other oil,plug & the service parts is good for this car...gonna use the car without any mod till i fully change the wear & tear parts.
Later oni will think of any mods coz dun hav $$$... ;)
Appreciate ur input guys, cheers.

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
bro..

4afe got auto n manual also

4age got auto, manual 5spd and manual 6spd tim.. ahahha

very easy to c 1.. c ur engine is 20V or 16V or 12V .. hahah

powermac

Aug 13, 2006
Mine is 16v EFI bro...dats all i remember..
Neva check the exect engine number & model also...
is it 4A-GE ar ?

Arghh.....can't wait to c de car & check the engine model...

kayy

Dec 7, 2005
if the car std w/o thats 4afe..
16v for year 1997 engine code for domestic toyota model is 4afe

Adeen

Apr 28, 2006
yup....think it's a 4afe as well...
seg's are nice without a doubt...

powermac

Aug 13, 2006
Do anyone know where i can get the original tech sheet for the 97model corolla SEG.
Just wanna know what come standard in the car like the audio/speaker setup & so on.
It will be nice to compare what is still standard in the car...
tired of lookin in the net, can't seem to find it lor...

Thanks guys

The Aussies done it again! Marty and MOOG builds the cheapest DIY stereo (perhaps in the world too) with only 50 Aussie dollars, equilavent to about RM150 in Malaysia. Check out how this is accomplished and this is no shody job either!

YouTube - ‪Worlds Cheapest DIY Car Stereo (SE03 EP09)‬‏