To those who drive slow and hog the right lane

It is already after 24 hours. Happened on Monday during dusk. They are riding very slowly, in fact slower than normal bicycle cycling speed as witnessed by a friend of mine cycling behind me. I saw them already so I braked and was expecting them to continue moving on and remain on their lane. But they went further out to my lane and this whole thing happened. But should I really disclose that much info over here?
Main road? Nah, if you think you are right, should be fine. But I suggest to ignore them. Just another day light robbery. Just tell the cops you already take them for treatment at clinic and hospital.

Report just to protect yourself in case they die or what blame you pula. Also already pass 24 hours.
No need to reply their messages.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Main road? Nah, if you think you are right, should be fine. But I suggest to ignore them. Just another day light robbery. Just tell the cops you already take them for treatment at clinic and hospital.

Report just to protect yourself in case they die or what blame you pula. Also already pass 24 hours.
No need to reply their messages.
I got friend said the same also. Just in case they have any other injuries won't blame me. The thing is, I'd probably get the fine for maybe like RM300. But do I need to pay them back for their repair cost or not?

No need, you won't get summon la cuz what you langgar is not registered vehicle IINM.
Just say want to file a mild accident report involving a couple riding electric bike illegally on main road. Already taken them to clinic to get treatment. Just want to file report to protect yourself.

Police also won't bother about how you and the couple want to discuss on the repair. Cuz no insurance claim involve. Is just like destroying any other bicycle on the road.

Then just ignore them if they are actually the one in the wrong.

If you are kind enough, just tell them u r just a student. This is the only saving you have RM150 or so (up to u). If they refuse, forget it. Is a take it or leave it moment.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
No need, you won't get summon la cuz what you langgar is not registered vehicle IINM.
Just say want to file a mild accident report involving a couple riding electric bike illegally on main road. Already taken them to clinic to get treatment. Just want to file report to protect yourself.

Police also won't bother about how you and the couple want to discuss on the repair. Cuz no insurance claim involve. Is just like destroying any other bicycle on the road.

Then just ignore them if they are actually the one in the wrong.

If you are kind enough, just tell them u r just a student. This is the only saving you have RM150 or so (up to u). If they refuse, forget it. Is a take it or leave it moment.
Now I'm still rather unsure of what to do.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Dude, logically i see no wrong. Enlighten me, is this small road or housing area?
Can show me a pic? I don't think bicycles are allowed for normal roads.
So u have no wrong doing. Dont sadden yourself yet.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Dude, logically i see no wrong. Enlighten me, is this small road or housing area?
Can show me a pic? I don't think bicycles are allowed for normal roads.
So u have no wrong doing. Dont sadden yourself yet.
send to u via pm. the pic of the road

BuroQ

Sep 13, 2004
Border Town
Whatever it is, its best to make a police report. If you have the receipt of the medical bills keep it. RM920? Isn't it asking a bit too much? If it's on the main road, then it's their fault to begin with. Plus you have an eyewitness in your car.

Now I'm still rather unsure of what to do.
You can choose to reduce your amount that you wanted to pay them. RM200 or RM300 is more than enough actually since they are in the wrong for using it on the road.

Student where to find RM920. U ask her as student she got so much bo? And yet she is the one that cut out to your lane. If not I don't think you need to do emergency brake with so long tyre marks screeching.

Just ask them to take it or leave it.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Reported to police already. Just settled around one hour ago. Before going to the cops, I called my family to talk nicely with the victim but the victim started to be nasty and started threatening and scolding my mother. Then they called their family members later and they are no different with the young ones except they din't shout but from their tone and speech, can tell that they are very demanding and stubborn. Forcing me to pay for a whole new bike which cost RM1700. The damaged one will be given to me which I'll trade it in to get back some $. Since the discussion din't really worked out nicely, went to report police. Police said leave it to the insurance company. As for that bike, I don't know whether will my family pay it or not.

At first they tried to intimidate me by saying they want to make a report. My friend thought that I will be in trouble instead for hitting them so he told them not to report. After that, I brought them to 1msia clinic and they got treated over there. The next day they complained about fever and pain so me and my friend brought them to general hospital. Doctor say they are okay, so no permanent harm done I guess. Now the problem is, they want me to pay for all the repair cost for that bike. I thought it was cheap but actually is costs around RM920 to repair it. The girl (owner) wanted to replace those cracked plastic panel and even those with scratch also want to replace. Pedal, front light, side mirror, rear tray box also want to replace. Basically is like replacing every external part of that bike. A new one actually cost RM1700 but now they want it all repaired which is like RM920.
I got many friends who advice me to do so as well. But I consulted my family and they say it might be troublesome because the car is not under my name.
Ok here's the situation. An electric bike is illegal on the road and must be registered as a motorcycle. If not, then they are in the wrong. And how the hell did they fit TWO people on a bicycle?

Is your name registered in the insurance policy as the secondary driver? If yes you're covered by the insurance.

Lastly, you already have brought them to see a doctor and all, that's already courtesy enough. Show them no more weakness and tell them that you already sent them to the doctor as a courtesy. If they want to cause more trouble for you then settle in the station. Tell them up front that electric bikes are not allowed to be on public roads.

Next thing to do is make sure you have a damn loud horn and make sure you use it next time.

Reported to police already. Just settled around one hour ago. Before going to the cops, I called my family to talk nicely with the victim but the victim started to be nasty and started threatening and scolding my mother. Then they called their family members later and they are no different with the young ones except they din't shout but from their tone and speech, can tell that they are very demanding and stubborn. Forcing me to pay for a whole new bike which cost RM1700. The damaged one will be given to me which I'll trade it in to get back some $. Since the discussion din't really worked out nicely, went to report police. Police said leave it to the insurance company. As for that bike, I don't know whether will my family pay it or not.
Just follow Izso advise and just ignore them. Since they are that nasty, no need to talk to them anymore.

I don't think your family should pay a cent anymore. Since police also said leave it to the insurance company. By right, insurance company can't or won't do any compensation to an unregistered and yet an electric bicycle.

So forget about them, and ignore their calls. If they still threaten you, tell them, you have already reported to the police that they are riding an electric bicycle on a public main road. If they threaten you again, make sure you record down the conversation.

They are in the wrong for cutting out to your lane. Not your fault. So, tell your parents don't pay. Why pay when they don't even appreciate that you guys are helping them even they are wrong.

Now they think they are right. Don't pay la bro. Waste your money. Might as well give me. :hmmmm:

Ok here's the situation. An electric bike is illegal on the road and must be registered as a motorcycle. If not, then they are in the wrong. And how the hell did they fit TWO people on a bicycle?

Is your name registered in the insurance policy as the secondary driver? If yes you're covered by the insurance.

Lastly, you already have brought them to see a doctor and all, that's already courtesy enough. Show them no more weakness and tell them that you already sent them to the doctor as a courtesy. If they want to cause more trouble for you then settle in the station. Tell them up front that electric bikes are not allowed to be on public roads.

Next thing to do is make sure you have a damn loud horn and make sure you use it next time.
Yup, electric bike are illegal on main roads. I remember my friend tried to import as a business but have to give up as they cannot register them....

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
Besides ignoring them, you may want to brace for anot her eventuality : they will initiate civil action against you. This is possible.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012

My name is not on the 2nd driver list. Yesterday their family came and said all sorts of things. Say they haven't go back to specialist private hospital to do full body checkup, X-ray and all that. Still want to say they already showed some courtesy by not asking me to pay for those extra medical bill. They claim that 1msia clinic and general hospital services is not enough as they only do external checkup. And they keep insisting that I must pay back for the whole bike.

Just follow Izso advise and just ignore them. Since they are that nasty, no need to talk to them anymore.

I don't think your family should pay a cent anymore. Since police also said leave it to the insurance company. By right, insurance company can't or won't do any compensation to an unregistered and yet an electric bicycle.

So forget about them, and ignore their calls. If they still threaten you, tell them, you have already reported to the police that they are riding an electric bicycle on a public main road. If they threaten you again, make sure you record down the conversation.

They are in the wrong for cutting out to your lane. Not your fault. So, tell your parents don't pay. Why pay when they don't even appreciate that you guys are helping them even they are wrong.

Now they think they are right. Don't pay la bro. Waste your money. Might as well give me. :hmmmm:
I said to my family not to pay also but my mother said since these people are also living near my hostel, better don't provoke them just in case don't know what they will do to me. The discussion to settle during yesterday was chaotic. Besides, the police did said I am also to be blamed for hitting them on the back of their vehicle and according to the law, anyone who hits from the back is the offender.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
My name is not on the 2nd driver list. Yesterday their family came and said all sorts of things. Say they haven't go back to specialist private hospital to do full body checkup, X-ray and all that. Still want to say they already showed some courtesy by not asking me to pay for those extra medical bill. They claim that 1msia clinic and general hospital services is not enough as they only do external checkup. And they keep insisting that I must pay back for the whole bike.

I said to my family not to pay also but my mother said since these people are also living near my hostel, better don't provoke them just in case don't know what they will do to me. The discussion to settle during yesterday was chaotic. Besides, the police did said I am also to be blamed for hitting them on the back of their vehicle and according to the law, anyone who hits from the back is the offender.

Illogical. Just let the police do stuffs.

Bloody hell, crash abit complain x ray and shit.

Sent from my Lumia 925 using Tapatalk.

Dear Sifus,

I encounter burning smells whenever I accelerate above 130km++, brought my car to a few workshop and even Toyota Service they could not identify the problem.

Actually I did off my aircond and accelerate above 130km++ but the burning smells still come in. I'm not sure if the smells are from aircond or not?

Any Sifus can guide me on this problem? I took for servicing a few times and changes the filter but still the same problem encountered.

Please help. . TQ