The land of Oils, A step into Miri and Brunei..

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
Miri is a city in northern Sarawak, Malaysia, on the island of Borneo. It has a population of 239,600 people (year 2000 census) and is thus the second largest city in Sarawak. It serves as the capital of Miri District (4,707.1 square kilometers) in Miri Division of Sarawak. Miri was controversially elevated to city status on May 20, 2005 and it is the 10th municipality to receive city designation in Malaysia.
Miri is the birthplace of Sarawak's petroleum industry, which remains the major industry of the city. The first oil well was drilled by Shell in 1910, and is now a state monument and one of Miri's tourist attractions. Shell also built Malaysia's first oil refinery in Lutong, a suburb of Miri in 1914. Recently, vast oil reserves was discovered just offshore northeast of the city. The city has grown phenomenally since oil was first discovered in the early 1900s, burgeoning into the modern and dynamic business, commercial and educational centre it is today.
#1 - 7.30 AM in Flight to Miri from LCCT, Sepang.

#3 - the sun rise was delightfil, lighten my day right away.

#6- strech out wide into the sky.

#7-a glimps of miri blocks

#10 - the grand old lady on top of Canada Hill,Miri

#14 - Lambir Hill National Park,Trails Gate.

*it was closed for renovation so i had to turn back to miri town.
#15 - little life

#18 - texture of Sands

#25 - sun setting at about 6pm

#26 - timed at 6.30pm

#28 - Niah's national Park -120km from Miri.

#30 - Trails to Gua Niah -approx 4.1km from HQ

#32 - Gift shop sellings handicraft by The Iban's at 2.5km from HQ

#35 - The Great Cave Opening

#39 - a little trail to the long house .

#42 - Split trails...to the long house and great caves

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
Negara Brunei Darussalam, more commonly referred to as the Sultanate of Brunei or simply Brunei, is a country located on the island of Borneo, in Southeast Asia. Apart from its coastline with the South China Sea, it is completely surrounded by East Malaysia. The Petroleum and gas-rich Brunei is a member of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) and the Commonwealth of Nations.
#44 - 20 minutes away from Miri City is the Sungai Tujoh Imegresen.

#46 - Bandar Seri Begawan

#51 - The Empire Resort,Brunei

#55 - Back to Marriot Hotel, Miri...before bedtime.

#56 - Bekenu Village - about 45 minutes from Miri.

#58 - Zoom Effect

#60- Miri Handicraft Center

please comment ..
photographed by Alan Tan...Pentax * IST DL 18-55mm/Polarizer/UV
Thank you.

superz

Mar 21, 2005
nice shot.i may not be a pro photographer, but i have to say...nice shot especially on the beaches...

good!:shades_smile:

16V

Dec 10, 2005
1 word can i say. nice..!!!!
really pro..y don't have leng lui pic?
haha..must forgot put rite?

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
ping,

i went there for holiday as well as taking photogrpahs ma...

i posted so many photogrpahs also becausei want to exposed more of miri in my angle to show others.

miri was indeed a great place, just abit teh too quiet as compared to kl ...especially dinner time in miri....so quiet..hehehehhe

i forgot to take pictures of miri fan, pustaka there..sobs

16v,
thanks for teh compliment..i'm no pro la..just mitchi meow photogrpaher ...
leng lui ah....shhh~dun have la...kl betta

ping5828

Jul 13, 2005
Miri,Malaysia
Haha.... of coz la... Miri is juz a small city compared to KL.. if u wana relax come here lo... yeah.. miri city fan is quite nice..
16V not that alan dun wana put but to be honest... not much leng lui... wakaka....

willie_hwl

Apr 9, 2006
Great & nice pics, a pro photographer i should say, can shoot for my car also? :)

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
not a pro la....

shoot car..?..hmm i need sum practise first..hehehe

thanks for teh compliment anyway

satria_95

Jan 2, 2004
alantan,
I heard the "girls" there are cheap. So... did you go and find confirmation for that? hehehe Nice shots, anyway. :)

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
satria,
hahaha..cheap ah..that i'm not sure la..i only saw 2 preety girls while paying toll coming back from brunei...that is all...

sonictheory,
photography isn;t about learning because leraning i spart of our life...it's about how you want to see things only. Observation is very important and getting inspiration out of your observation is lagi important.

so juz take any camera and start looking at the viewfinder...

adyzul

Oct 6, 2005
Wow....nice pics....love the silouhettes (err....sorry wrong spelling) pics.