The caveman's ... (Part 2: The Lost civilization)

zckid

Feb 28, 2012
Mauritius
hi everybody!

Before I even touched a polisher, I always thought that paint correction is a pretty straight-forward, mathematical science:
x number of passes @ y speed per section and you are done.

But in reality, this is exactly not true. The sifus have long talked about it. Each car is a new challenge, a new struggle and a new adventure.

A friend had this car for sale, zero % defect-free, so you understand what I mean!
A good paint job just adds value to your car; a bad one does just the contrary.
I only managed to correct a small part of it as the family had organized a camping trip at Belle Mare.
The car was almost sold when I returned.
Sharing with you one more detailing adventure, though it’s a small one this time!
« the lost civilization », the caveman’s chef d’oeuvre.

So this was it! (I posted some pics b4)

Nice looking car! Isn’t it?
You remember the crocodile peel. This time it’s different, orange peel, paint bulges and other defects in the worst of form.

Highlighted is the part I’ve corrected.

Car has been cleaned at this stage, and clayed.

To have more insight on the defects, let’s put technology to good usage: Zoom

4 x zoom

4 x zoom on previous pic : this is 16 x zoom

OMG, A whole civilization has been swallowed up. Is this Correctable?

Well with a little and a lot of prayers, patience, and passion!

Detailing turned archaeology!

We are exactly 14 36. I’ve gathered all my detailing friends and allies (makita, LC wool pad, Menz PG Old formula, towels…)

Excavation works begin to restore the lost civilization to its beauty, its splendor!

Sorry no in between pics. I wanted to work against time. But this one was tough, a lot of prep work.

Side by side. From14 36 to 15 53

4 x zoom

4 x zoom on previous pic : this is 16 x zoom

The lower section

@ 15 55

@ 16 38

Isn’t it magic?

Fortunately NO!
:Rofl:

There’s no such thing as magic in real life, all abt hard work.

Lessons learnt: Proper car care takes time, a lot of time really, patience and perseverance and passion. But in the end it pays.

The Lost Civilization restored to its splendor thanks to Almighty's help!

Hope you enjoyed reading my post. Your thoughts are welcome and most appreciated.

Best Regards :driver:

zaid

seech

Jan 21, 2007
Crocodile hunter....

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
holyshit u resurrected the crocodile hunter!! or are u the reborn of him!

zckid

Feb 28, 2012
Mauritius
Crocodile hunter....
holyshit u resurrected the crocodile hunter!! or are u the reborn of him!
Thanks bros!

Seech, me no hunter, never held a gun la! :biggrin: just a simple car-crazy guy, :driver: still learning!

I need to thank God that I met you guys.

---------- Post added at 09:08 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:03 PM ----------

i wont drive the car for the next few weeks if it's done to my ride. sayang oo..
Thanks for your thoughts bro! much appreciated.

:itsme:

---------- Post added at 09:25 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:08 PM ----------

Very nice work. Do u mind explaining how u did it and what equipments r needed for this type of job?
Thanks for ur encouraging words buddy!

Only the part highlighted that I polished.

So this is how i proceeded:

1. Washed and clayed
  2. Used 2000 grit paper to level the paint. (Could have gone coarser but the pros say "go leat aggressive")
  3. Used Menzerna Powergloss (old formula) with LC wool to remove sanding marks on the makita
  4. Used the zenith technique to make the polishing steps easier. but thanks God, it came out nice. The rotary swirls hardly visible, so i left it as it was.

i'm just a rookie la.
believe me, :listen: u r luckier, u got so many sifus there :driver: i've been learning from them from all the way my island of sea, sand, sun and swirls.

a little marketing :biggrin: of my island